We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I expected more based on the reviews.”
Review of Jia Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Jia Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
443 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“I expected more based on the reviews.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This food was decent, but not anything special. We tried Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag with potatoes. The chicken was the better dish. However, the lamb samosas were delicious! The vegetable samosa was a bit lacking. We love Indian food and, fortunately, we live in NY so we get the great stuff all the time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milliegordon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian food in Rutland”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Jia is delicious. Don't be fooled, even though the food is sold through a gas station, the menu items are still top notch. The owners should open a restaurant downtown with the same items. I know they'd have a lot of business.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stecroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack, NY
Level Contributor
176 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“this is not really a restaurant”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is a gas station. It provides take-out Indian food from a steam table. The bread appears to be made elsewhere, but I can't state that I am sure of this. The food is OK. I wish I could be more charitable in my review, but I can't.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusMacTavish0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This good food comes out of a convenience store?”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We love Indian food, and when we travel we tend to look for Indian restaurants. We saw Jia listed in TripAdvisor, and had to give it a try. Placed the order coming back from Saratoga, food was ready just as we were getting there, and brought it back to our hotel. The food was excellent for each of the four dishes we selected. Everything was very fresh, and tasted exceptional. The only reason we gave it a 4 was because we asked for the Vindaloo to be spicy, and it was moderate at best. Perhaps for the area, that is as spicy as it gets. Bottom line, if you don't mind take-out, this is definitely worth a visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joysinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Indian food for a great price”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great authentic Indian food and friendly service, despite the weird location in a gas station!
Wish they would open a sit down restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ingridH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jia Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing