We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leaf Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Restaurant

The Palms Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Price range: US$10 - US$12
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leaf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Quaint restaurant with exceptional food. Had a wonderful meal. Quite enjoyable evening while visiting.




Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Recently my husband and I ate at The Palms Restaurant twice for retirement parties and both times we were pleased with the delicious food, service and atmosphere. Our drinks were refreshed constantly and the food was served with grace and pleasantness that made everyone comfortable at all the tables. Before dinner we were able to mingle and walk around our side room and enjoy a nice cocktail hour, which added to our enjoyment. My husband's retirement party was the second party and it was the best!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We went into here with some trepidation. As a pair of lost and hungry Englishmen in a small town in vermont, this place wasn't inviting from the roadside ,but we were tired and needed to eat.

Inside, our spirits were raised. The service was outstanding. The waitress who showed us to the table took the time to explain some of the unfamiliar local beers and the young waiter was charming, friendly and chatty.

The pasta was beautiful....but so much of it. They kindly offered a take home box and it made for a great picnic on the following day

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food and plenty of it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just come back from a trip to VT and NY this stop was on the first night of our trip. one can not say enough praise for the service and the food. I had the pasta with meatballs and another member of out party had the fettuccine Alfredo neither one of us could finish. while the others shared a large pizza, which was a thin crust and just great even the next day cold as we were driving a long

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathymickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
165 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Must be doing something right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were told that this restaurant has been in the same family for many years. To do that, you have to be doing something right. We decided it was the service and food. We didn't have reservations but they were nice enough to find a table for us.

My husband had the spaghetti with meatballs and a sausage link. He prefers hot sausage but their sweet wasn't bad. I had the linguine and clams with red sauce which was very good. The only thing is that one dish of pasta would be enough to feed the two of us for two nights at home. The bread was served warm with chopped garlic. I took some of the oil on the table and mixed it with the garlic and we had a dipping sauce which was great. We didn't eat that much of the pasta because we wanted dessert. We shared a piece of the chocolate morsel pie with ice cream and it was delicious.

Our server did a great job. Attentive but didn't hover over us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowbirdAkron_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palms Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Palms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing