We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stay here over & over!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We stay here over & over!”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Best Western in Rutalnd is not elegant but it is roomy, clean, friendly and close to Rutalnd, killington & Pico ski areas. We stay here several times a year and always enjoy the suite with 2 beds in the bedroom and a pull out couch in the living area. There are full kitchens for cooking in after a long day of skiing. in the summer, enjoy the outdoor pool and the tennis courts.

Room Tip: Suites are big enough for a family of 5, add the connecting bedroom and get 2 more beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. We treasure compliments especially when they are from repeat guests such as yourself. We'll keep that room ready for you during ski season! Thank you very much for the repeat business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    155
    52
    14
    6
See reviews for
204
147
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Clean, nice presentation, pleasant location, nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownsteindl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
We try to surprise our guests with a complimentary BBQ during the summer months. We find that it takes the pressure off trying to unwind and relax without having to worry about dinner. Thank you so much for the great compliments. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Clean hotel, comfortable rooms, adequate breakfast, and on the night we stayed free burgers and franks. Front desk staff was polite and helpful. Friendly atmosphere. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrails91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed at this Best Western in July, while on a trip to Canada. I was amazed at how well kept the property was. Traveling on a motorcycle, the hotel made you feel at home. The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant and accomodating. The "FREE" breakfast in the morning was more than you could ask for. I would stay at this hotel anytime. Thank you, for an awesome experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerguy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
You are welcome! We love to see motorcyclists arrive at our hotel and get to use our motor cycle friendly amenities - not all hotels have a wash station especially meant for you! Thank you so much for your business and we certainly hope to see ou again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Booked four rooms through the BW website for a family gathering in the Rutland area. Rates were very fair; rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious; check-in was a breeze with friendly and well trained staff; breakfast was very good. If I had a complaint I would tell you, but I don't.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Just exactly what we love to hear - no complaints! That means we are doing our jobs with providing you with a great experience during your travels. Please keep us in mind when traveling through Rutland again! Thanks you for your business, your comments are awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March. My son had a ski championship at Okemo. This hotel was just on the outskirts of Rutland and close (30 minutes-ish) from the ski area. It had a complete kitchen, a beautiful living/dining room with a pull out couch & TV, a large bathroom and a seperate bedroom with a TV. It had vaulted ceilings which made the large space even bigger. It was clean and comfortable. A better than home away from home! Can't wait to go back. Many of the families that stayed near the mountain were paying more for below standard accommodations. This is the place for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mew6160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
We are thrilled that you found your new "home away from home!" We try to tell everyone about what we have to offer and what you can get with our "off mountain prices", but couldn't have said it any better than you just did. Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The comments about the friendly staff and spacious suites are accurate. But I generally stay at Best Westerns, and the "Plus" designation often means outstanding. I think the rating is not quite deserved, for many reasons:

(1) Our room was very poorly lit, had a noisy air conditioner between the two beds, and was not large enough to provide a table or an easy chair in any useful location (ours was right next to the door, where it was of no use at all. Probably before remodelling it was a king room which would have had more floor space.

(2) One of the beds was right underneath a window, and outside the window were lights to allow safe access to the stairs. The curtains did not reach the end of the sill and the result was bright lights shining in your face and reflecting off the white linen. After a miserable night we figured out how to push the curtains onto the sill, but this is not a problem guests should be expected to solve.

(3) The breakfast was ... good. Holiday Inn's is just a bit better. But the selections of items were fewer than I've seen elsewhere, and unlike the Best Western we stay at most often, there were no ceramic coffee cups. Makes a huge difference to me, at least, not to have to use a paper cup. The coffee was average at best (by motel standards) with a huge difference depending on how recently it got refilled.

(4) There's a nice swimming pool but no facility for changing into your swimsuit, and most of the units are a *long* way from the pool, so changing in your room isn't as convenient as it might be elsewhere.

(5) There are ice machines in only 4 of the seven units, and one of those was broken. And, they are upstairs!

(6) There appears to be only one handicapped room, and it was unavailable. They had a workaround that worked OK for my wife, but it made the bathroom much harder for me to use.

(7) There are two free computers for guest use, but the one attached to the printer would not log in to some popular sites, it would just hang. The other worked fine, so this should be an easy fix.

(8) The beds all have heavy duvets, probably a good thing in the winter, but in the summer a blanket would be preferable for me, at least. They promise blankets but there was not a blanket for every bed.

Now for the good part: The layout, with separate buildings and I assume a suite in each one with adjoining rooms, is just about perfect for a family or other group. We definitely enjoyed getting together in the spacious living room of the suite, which has a large table and a well-equipped kitchen. There is a guest area near the pool with two barbecues and a table that we were able to use (two tables would have been more useful, though).

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't have a window right over one of the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Seems that you found an awful lot that upset you. We try our best to please all of our guests. Everyone has different likes and dislikes. Such as our coffee, we serve Green Mountain Breakfast blend coffee - one of the best in New England. We have found that 99% of our guests appreciate this extra touch and name branded coffee. I would love to speak with you about your other concerns. Please feel free to contact me direct and I would be most happy to discuss with you. You are welcome here at any time and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutland
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington

Property: Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Address: 5 Best Western Pl, Rutland, VT 05701-9801 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland/Killington)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Killington Ski Resort near our Rutland hotel is a big reason why many guests stay with us, but there's much more to discover. For guests who want a Rutland, VT hotel that offers the best service, quality and amenities, look no further than our spacious property. With the friendliest service in town and a prime location close to legendary ski resorts, guests feel instantly at home when staying with us. Enjoy suite accommodations for larger groups or simply for those looking for a little more luxury, and a daily complimentary breakfast to get you started on the right note. Piping hot waffles, fresh fruits, sweet pastries and a selection of yogurt and cereal finished with bottomless Green Mountain coffee is the perfect start to your day. Whether you're heading to Killington Ski Resort for skiing and the fall foliage or you're here to take care of business, staying at a comfortable and affordable Rutland hotel is key. General Electric employees count on us to provide great hospitality, and the Rutland Regional Medical Center brings many to the area year-round for meetings and training. Are you heading this way to climb Pico Mountain? Or is it a meeting at Green Mountain Power & VELCO that has you coming this way? No matter why you're in town, stay with us and feel like you're staying with family. At our Killington hotel, the College of Saint Joseph is a short drive away and always has something exciting happening, from a lecture to a special event. Okemo Mountain is another top attraction, full of trails and great views. Killington Resort is the biggest attraction in the winter, with activities like skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling and charming horse-drawn sleigh rides a must for holiday lovers. The ultimate family or romantic getaway, take advantage of everything there is to do near our Green Mountain hotel. Reserve a relaxing stay at the BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn And Suites Rutland/Killington
Best Western Plus Inn & Suites Rutland/Killington Hotel Rutland
Best Western Hotel Rutland
Best Western Rutland
Rutland Best Western
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing