We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASANT SURPRISE/GREAT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PLEASANT SURPRISE/GREAT STAFF”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

On Wednesday night August 20, 2014 my wife and I were up in the Killington area to view some ski houses for Thanksgiving weekend. We didn't realize how late it was getting and we wanted to find a hotel for the night. Well, we have been up in this area for many visited and vacations over the years (since 1972) and never stayed at this hotel till Wednesday night. Let me tell you this place was awesome, I don't know why my wife and I never found or stayed here before. We were tired that day and when I walked into the lobby to speak to the front desk manager about vacancy he couldn't been any nicer or pleasant. We also had our little cocker spaniel with us and this place was pet friendly. The front desk manager, Eli was great to me that night, I was a little grumpy due to all the driving I did that day but he quickly changed my attitude and booked me a suite for the night. The hotel was extremely clean and my room was real quiet. The hotel itself looked full. Eli treated me great that night and what an asset to the hotel, I have stayed in many hotels over the years but never have I came across a young man like Eli that was so pleasant, friendly and helpful upon check in. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are ever staying in the Killington-Rutland area. We will be returning to this area again in the fall and we will definitely stay here again. Eli, thank you for you kindness and pleasant personality that night on a somewhat grumpy and tired traveler. We will recommend your hotel to all of our friends, co-workers and relatives. Awesome hotel.

Room Tip: suite was very large, clean and quiet. We stayed in building 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RONDO813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Your response couldn't have come at a better time! Management - including Eli is meeting with our management company tomorrow and I am thrilled to share your review with them. It helps that it's also Eli's birthday and this will make his day for sure! Keep in mind that all of our staff is just like Eli. Everyone prides themselves with providing outstanding customer service! Please do come again for a weekend or even for that Thanksgiving vacation - we are just 8 miles to Killington. Thanks again, I will share this with the entire team! Coleen Lio, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    159
    54
    15
    6
See reviews for
212
150
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northford, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The positive: nice setting, very clean room, quiet location, comfortable accommodations. And the front desk staff? A Phenomenal Customer Centric Staff!! Eli is just a gem. He was so pleasant and he really takes his job to heart. In the morning, I spoke with this nice lady at the front desk as well (she was just making the area smell like raspberry cream when I arrived) and she was also really nice. We tried to go to the complimentary Wednesday cook out but unfortunately, my son does not eat beef and there were no other options so we went out (but found a tasty restaurant as a result - Vermont Tap House).

The so-so: our King size bed was right under the window so even with the curtains shut we had light shining down on us and the pool (which I thought was supposed to be heated) was icy to me.

But overall, a really good experience and I would recommend the hotel to others it the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Wow! Another great review for our front office manager. I will be happy to share with him and the entire team. We are happy that you found everything to your liking! Except for the location of the king bed under the window - we should really get blinds I think that might help! The weather has been so nice lately we turned the pool temperature down a bit. Thank you for your comment as we will look into that so it is warm and inviting for our next guests. Hope you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future! Coleen Lio, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. Also enjoyed the continental breakfast. They had Canadian bacon for the meat which was a nice change from the usual sausage. There was only 1 suitcase holder in the room (which unfortunately is pretty common) and no easy chair in the room. I would recommend this hotel to any one in the Rutland area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review as we will use as a tool to help us to continue to provide the ultimate in guest satisfaction! I wish the team at the front desk had asked you more questions about what type of room you were looking for as our King rooms have an over sized chair in them as do our suites! I would love the opportunity to provide you with one of those room types on your next visit! Keep us in mind when you return to Rutland for your next visit! Coleen Lio, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We love this place! Nice staff and accomodations. A NICE COUNTRY SETTING! BREAKFAST IS good - plain yogurt, Canadian bacon, biscuits, fresh fruit and good coffee! Very large tv. Very clean! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us recently. We really love your feedback and wonderful comments. Be assured I will share with the team. We like hearing about how clean you found the property and how you enjoyed breakfast. We hope that you helped yourself to one of our wonderful waffles from the bar! If not, please try on your next visit with us. Glad you enjoyed VT! Coleen Lio, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hero VT, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is wonderfully located near ski trails, hiking trails, historic sites, theatre and much, much more. The check in staff is excellent and was able to answer our many questions. I enjoyed a weekend stay but found the breakfast area literally too full of hotel guests and there was excessive waiting to select breakfast items and waiting for seating space to become available in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerfromVT, General Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Wow! You have provided us with some great feedback. Believe it or not, we increased the size of our breakfast seating to be able to accomodate more folks.. We even tried to rearrange the flow of the bar to make it easier. We just have not found the right solution yet. If you have any suggestions or ideas we would love to hear them! The problem is that we offer so many items on our bar from the waffles to juices and everything in between - it's hard to to have back up when we are busy! I look forward to hearing your suggestions! Coleen Lio, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked this hotel mainly due to the favourable reviews of others. Was very disappointed with our stay. During check-in, asked if there was any available suites and if there was whether we could be upgraded. Was informed that there was, but we would have to pay more. I don't understand why others have been upgraded, but not us. The room was very old and in need of renovation. You could not open the door when the sofa bed was fully extended. There was some really nasty stains on the furniture. The WIFI reception was poor. There was no hot water in the bathroom ( cold showers ). The lighting in the room was bad. The climate control did not work ( uncomfortably hot in the room ). There were other issues with the room. Beware of what you are getting into before you book at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna S, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Bill J, Thank you so much for the feedback of the hotel. We are so sorry that suite upgrades were not available during your stay. We also sincerely apologize for the issues with the guestroom. Did you speak with a manager? Your input is very important to us, as it helps us improve the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouffville
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Its not your typical hotel. Its more of a chalet style but done quite well. The rooms were clean and beds comfy. They were a little cramped but still workable. The breakfast was excellent with lots of sitting and selections.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna S, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Grant K, Thank you so much for the kind review of the hotel. We are happy to see that you found the guestroom to be clean and the beds "comfy". In addition, you thought that the breakfast was excellent and we could not agree more! Did you try the Green Mountain Coffee? Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutland
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
244 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington

Property: Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Address: 5 Best Western Pl, Rutland, VT 05701-9801 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland/Killington)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Killington Ski Resort near our Rutland hotel is a big reason why many guests stay with us, but there's much more to discover. For guests who want a Rutland, VT hotel that offers the best service, quality and amenities, look no further than our spacious property. With the friendliest service in town and a prime location close to legendary ski resorts, guests feel instantly at home when staying with us. Enjoy suite accommodations for larger groups or simply for those looking for a little more luxury, and a daily complimentary breakfast to get you started on the right note. Piping hot waffles, fresh fruits, sweet pastries and a selection of yogurt and cereal finished with bottomless Green Mountain coffee is the perfect start to your day. Whether you're heading to Killington Ski Resort for skiing and the fall foliage or you're here to take care of business, staying at a comfortable and affordable Rutland hotel is key. General Electric employees count on us to provide great hospitality, and the Rutland Regional Medical Center brings many to the area year-round for meetings and training. Are you heading this way to climb Pico Mountain? Or is it a meeting at Green Mountain Power & VELCO that has you coming this way? No matter why you're in town, stay with us and feel like you're staying with family. At our Killington hotel, the College of Saint Joseph is a short drive away and always has something exciting happening, from a lecture to a special event. Okemo Mountain is another top attraction, full of trails and great views. Killington Resort is the biggest attraction in the winter, with activities like skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling and charming horse-drawn sleigh rides a must for holiday lovers. The ultimate family or romantic getaway, take advantage of everything there is to do near our Green Mountain hotel. Reserve a relaxing stay at the BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn And Suites Rutland/Killington
Best Western Plus Inn & Suites Rutland/Killington Hotel Rutland
Best Western Hotel Rutland
Best Western Rutland
Rutland Best Western
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing