We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty stinky place”
Review of Cadillac Motel

Cadillac Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cadillac Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saint Albans
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Rooms smell bad like mold. The porch on the hill is falling down...and has holes in it! I thought i was gonna fall through. Felt very unsafe!! The rooms are not cleaned very well and the housekeepers complain about any trash left in the room! Overall a terrible place to stay.....unless you just dont care about safety an cleanliness i wouldnt recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Btar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

I experienced some of the same issues as others have reported. a) Though the website shows a lovely pool, a dip in which would have been appreciated on this hot week-end, it was empty and partially covered with a tired looking tarp and b) Though I was gone for 9 hours my room was not made up when I returned.
However, on a more positive note: I am empathetic to the struggles of a small, non-chain motel and I think these folks are trying. I had a renovated room. It was clean, odour free, a new bed and quality linens. My only complaint is the poor use of space. The edge of the toilet and the rim of the bath tub are only seven inches apart meaning that you have to sit on the toilet sideways! I am an average sized woman, 5'7", 160 lbs. To fuirther demonstate the poor design, adjecent to the bathroom is an unused space large enough to park an ATV!
I also thought it was a little over priced.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tekohanane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

After researching many motels, we were impressed with the Cadillacs website and the newly renovated rooms. Unfortunately the room assigned to us was not even remotely close to pictures displayed in the website, and in fact we thought we had arrived at the "Bates Motel". The smell of mold was overwhelming, and the bed was uncomfortable. The entire facility is in dire need of some TLC!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. Website is completely deceiving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Familyof4Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stopped here to check it out and because we were tired after a long day, we elected to stay. We shall not do so again. It is a tired, sad property, which was once very nice, but it has fallen into disrepair. That said, the room was tolerable and showed signs of some updating, but the basic fixtures were old and tired. The pool was closed and looked like it had not seen use in years. There were many sketchy looking characters coming and going in the 2 apartments that flank the place. We would neither recommend this place nor encourage tired travellers to part with almost $100 for this location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Despite how it looks on the outside, the rooms here were actually not bad. The foreclosed restaurant next door and the leaf covered pool may be off-putting but the room itself seemed pretty modern. We had a king size bed, clean, crisp linens (with mints on our pillow!), mini-frig., coffee maker. We sat on the table/chairs outside our room and drank a beer while getting ready for dinner. Though the motel faces the road, they're far enough back that you can't hear the traffic. And the're pet friendly!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldin124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

Best place we've stayed at in ST. Albans so far. We've stayed at 3 other place around ST. Albans and this is the cleanest one so far. Nice and clean, up to data rooms. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitcomb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was thinking about staying here, so I dropped by and asked if I could inspect a room. The desk handed me a key and when I opened the door, mold was very evident. This would be very hard on my allergies and people with asthma. I realize that it may not be in every part of the hotel, but that's all I need to make a decision about a place.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank rgtsc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Albans
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Albans
Hampton Inn St. Albans
#1 of 5 in Saint Albans
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Albans
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Inn At Buck Hollow Farm
Inn At Buck Hollow Farm
#1 of 2 in Fairfax
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Back Inn Time
Back Inn Time
#1 of 1 in Saint Albans
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Motel

Address: 213 S Main St, Saint Albans, VT 05478-1821
Region: United States > Vermont > Saint Albans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saint Albans
Price Range: £90 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cadillac Motel, we have everything you need to enjoy comfortable lodging while you're traveling through Vermont. Our motel and inn provides 4.75 acres of beautiful, plush greenery and nature that you won't soon forget. Whether you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and enjoy a peaceful retreat into our resort or you like to come to Saint Albans, Vermont, for our many local attractions, we guarantee you'll have a rewarding experience. During the fall, many come in to view the foliage. There is a film festival and also plenty of walking trails to see the beautiful leaves. Also, our first-rate amenities keep you in luxury for your entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cadillac Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing