We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort with nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cadillac Motel

Cadillac Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cadillac Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saint Albans
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfort with nice staff”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Standard roadside motel room which was very clean. The small fridge was handy to keep the evening cocktails chilled. We traveled with another couple and had room side by side so we were able to sit outside in the evening and get takeout from the adjoining restaurant. The food was wonderful. Staff were pleasant on check in and allowed us to gather up a patio table and chairs for the front of the room. We enjoyed our stay and will return if passing through again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annualcarribeantrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    26
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
16
28
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I chose the Cadillac based on reviews here, plus the fact that the La Quinta, where we've stayed before on our way to Montreal, was charging $150 with the AAA discount (and it really is not worth that amount) because I was booking less than 2 weeks in advance for a place to stay on our way home from Quebec City. When I reserved the room at the Cadillac, I asked for a renovated room, based on other reviews, and was told we'd be put in one. The woman I spoke to on the phone sounded very pleasant.

We got a late start in leaving Quebec City, so we didn't get to the US border until 9 pm. I had told the very pleasant receptionist we wouldn't arrive until 7 or 8 pm, so once we crossed the border, I called to say we were on our way but running late. (Our cell coverage wasn't working in rural Quebec.) The office was already closed, but there was a message about where to check in. We arrived about 9:45 and had to rouse the woman in charge of the office, who wasn't the person I'd spoken to.

Once we were in the room, we found that it was very large, which was nice, and had nice beds, but it had a lingering odor of mustiness and cigarette smoke, even though there were notices everywhere about no smoking in the rooms. I tried turning on the a/c, which was a very old unit, but it also let out a musty odor. I tried opening the window, but there was a line of dead bugs (moths, etc.) behind the blind when I pulled it up, and the latch was hard to open -- plus I had seen someone smoking outside a room down the row (there are buckets of sand outside each door, so people DO smoke outside the rooms), so I didn't want to let in any new smoke. Fortunately it was a coolish night, so we slept without the a/c or an open window, and the bed linens didn't smell.

The beds and pillows were comfortable, but the other furniture looked as if it had been picked up at a yard sale a few decades ago. The room was nicely painted. (It's possible this and the new beds are what the "renovation" consisted of?)

The bathroom floor had some cracked tiles and the tub had a faucet that was very hard to control, so the water flowed either too hot or too cold.

All in all, the main problem was the smell. To really clear a place of the smell of smoke, the furniture, carpeting, and a/c heating unit need to be replaced. Also, having the lobby open later in the evening would help.

(We ate breakfast at the cafe, which was inexpensive and fine.)

Room Tip: If you're allergic to smoke or musty odors, pay the extra money for the La Quinta. Or arrive as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Albans hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel has been recently remodeled. The staff is extremely friendly and personable. We came up from Waterbury on our way to Montreal, and the receptionist was glad to help us find things to do in Montreal, as well as recommend some places for dinner in St Albans. The rooms were clean and large, the beds comfortable, and the wifi was fast and reliable. This is better than your average motel, and for a great price! However, the one negative for some people would be the hotel pool is currently being remodeled and is filled with dirt...

Room Tip: 260 is good, but you have to go to the side of the main reception up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This motel was a pleasing surprise. We drove by it first as the sign made the property look old so we checked out the Econo Lodge. It was too expensive for an economy hotel so we went back to the Cadillac and it was $30 cheaper and very clean with nice towels, good mattress and friendly staff. We were expecting a pool, but it was no longer in use. The air conditioning was rather loud, but it did not effect out sleep. Great room for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway Beach, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Hey, place isn't bad. Room was clean, people who worked there were nice. The little restaurant on the grounds (Green Mountain Cafe?) was no frills but made a tasty meal and very affordable. Also a very nice staff. Located just off the interstate 2 minutes from the town center, the room was clean and I felt, worth, the price. Big king bed. Not bothered by any sketchy types, but maybe that;s because where I live normally. Anything you could need (food, booze, newspaper, etc) is only minutes away. And cows! Them too! I love those things. Seriously I do. got up early just to drive around and see them.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockawayBeachRayDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a wedding to go to in St. Albans and I checked into hotels in the area, And found and checked prices. The Cadillac Motel web site was easy to use and the price got my interest as it was well under the chain in the area. We called to see if we could check in early as we wanted to dress there before the wedding it was not a problem the desk clerk was very accommodating ( the chain didn't let our friends check in early) we had time for lunch at their restaraunt which was wonderful and at a great price. Our room was a very nice surprise . You can tell they are working on updating and our opinion is there doing a great job. Thanks so much for the great room. We will pass this little gem on.

Room Tip: We had the king 138
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Ossipee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I have to admit when we pulled into the parking lot (some construction happening) my expectations were low.... When we went in to register, it was truly a pleasure... The lady in the office was beyond polite/courteous/helpful!!! When we checked out our room it was SPOTLESS!!! Smelled cleaned, just tip top!!! Construction (man putting up a railing) was stopped, so not to disturb us... I would def recommend this motel, very quiet (thankfully)... Thanks again for the restful night of sleep!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyAndymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Albans
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
23.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
571 reviews
23.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,442 reviews
23.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
428 reviews
24.0 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Motel

Property: Cadillac Motel
Address: 213 S Main St, Saint Albans, VT 05478-1821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Saint Albans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saint Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cadillac Motel, we have everything you need to enjoy comfortable lodging while you're traveling through Vermont. Our motel and inn provides 4.75 acres of beautiful, plush greenery and nature that you won't soon forget. Whether you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and enjoy a peaceful retreat into our resort or you like to come to Saint Albans, Vermont, for our many local attractions, we guarantee you'll have a rewarding experience. During the fall, many come in to view the foliage. There is a film festival and also plenty of walking trails to see the beautiful leaves. Also, our first-rate amenities keep you in luxury for your entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Cadillac Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing