We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth for dogs !”
Review of Dog Mountain

Dog Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are encouraged to bring their dogs to this 150-acre park and reserve in Vermont's scenic Northeast Kingdom, which offers hiking trails, dog sculptures and trout-filled ponds.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth for dogs !”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

All dogs can roam off leash and play. Very hard to find in most places.
Lots of free parking, the gallery of Stephen Huneck is right door.
Make a day of it !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Special Place for Animal Lovers”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The dog chapel is a must see for animal lovers...the craftsmanship that went into it alone is breathtaking but the very moving part of the experience is seeing all of the notes from families posted in honor of the pets they have loved and lost.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Bunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVE Dog Mountain!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

As the proud mother of 4 dogs I knew I wanted to visit this place.

When you get there you can feel the energy change and feel the spirit of all the dogs that have been there. I am not even kidding you need to go there and experience it for yourself.

If you are a dog lover this is like your trip to Mecca you must come. The gift shop has the cutest gifts and you will not want to leave here without taking a little piece of it back home.

I really hope that whoever reads this review has a chance to come and experience this amazing place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank snobiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
758 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“A definite "Must SEE" if you are a dog lover.”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Dog Mountain is a very special place. If you have a dog or love dogs this is a place that you must come see. The Dog Chapel is one of a kind. The gift shop has many things to purchase that will make your life with your dog a much happier life. Words cannot express the beauty and serenity of this wonderful place. Go on line and check it out. Donate to the friends of Dog Mountain to preserve this piece of heaven on earth.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What A Truly Special Place”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Being a dog lover I couldn't visit Vermont without seeing Dog Mountain. I loved Huneck's art and it comes to life in this special place dedicated to man's best friend. The chapel is very touching and we were sure to leave a memorial there to those canines we have loved and lost. I truly hope they can keep it up and running.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank goodgrief1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dog Mountain also viewed

Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
East Burke, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to Dog Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing