We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a typical Comfort Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a typical Comfort Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

As a business traveler, traveling weekly, I don't typically think of staying at a Comfort Inn. This was anything but your typical Comfort Inn; it's in a league of its own. It far exceeded my expectations.

The front desk people were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet. There was a complimentary, hot breakfast. The gift shop was neat, and included local syrup.

As I was walking out the door to head to dinner, there was another guest getting his instructions on how to operate a snow mobile. I have to admit I was jealous he was enjoying the area for more than just a buiness trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We really appreciate you staying with us while traveling on business and then taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and my team members. We would LOVE to host your next vacation. While snowmobiling is a wildly fun experience, we have an amazing list of outdoor experiences available starting in late spring. We offer world class mountain biking, hiking, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, family oriented amusement parks, etc. If you get a minute look for our independent website and check out all the amazingly fun things there are to do. In the short term, for the next few weeks only, we will be immersed in "sugaring season". When daytime temps exceed freezing and they dip below overnight, the maple sap starts flowing. If you have never experienced a "Sugar on Snow" party...you need to. I'll just leave it at that.

We'll hope to see you soon. Until then...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    146
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
226
155
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Beautiful hotel with very clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was actually pretty good for being free the waffles especially. The staff there was very friendly and helpful with any questions about the area. The pool and the game room were a plus for the kids at night. And the game room is more like an actual arcade.

Green Features: I like that there was a recycling bin in the room. There should be one in every hotel room.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaB1984mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
I'm so glad that you and your family enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor and for all the positive feedback. As you mentioned, we are extremely family friendly. We host thousands of vacationing familes all year long. Vermont's Northeast Kingdom is the ideal location to reconnect with your spouse and children.

We will look forward to seeing you in the future. Until next time...safe travels!!!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The staff was pleasant, the rooms were large and well-equipped and for sure clean, the pool was great and the breakfast was delicious. We got the ski and stay package and it was a great deal with the two adult lift tickets, the breakfast for four of us and the hotel accommidations - we stayed for four night and will increase that to more next year when we go again. There was a fridge and microwave in the room which was a bonus.

Green Features: Recylcing bin in the bathroom was good. I appreciated that they took the care and had this available to us.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the opportunity to serve you. Thank you for allowing us to host your winter vacation. I'm really pleased to hear you will be back and for even longer next season. We would love to see you this coming summer. We are an amazing location for summer family vacations. We are 20 minutes from some of NH's best attractions. Even closed to Vermont's best outdoor activities.

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We will look forward to seeing you again. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimac, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My family had a GREAT experience at this hotel. Perfect location, right off highway and 20 minutes from Burke and 1 hour from Jay. Everything was clean and new. Had two pillow options, soft and medium/firm, which was HUGE in comfort/sleep satisfaction. Beds were very comfortable. Pool clean and lots of chairs/tables poolside to lounge while watching kids. Great arcade, no frills, just enough for kids and .50 per game!.. not bad with a good selection. Breakfast was also excellent with very friendly/helpful staff. I would go back no problem!! Loved it! lastly... my 9 year old daughter wrote in her critique of room/hotel that she wrote and left... "and it even had a gift shop"!!

Room Tip: I picked top floor and away from elevator.... I always like it quiet or as much as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for allowing us to host your vacation. We appreciate you staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all the positive feedback on our facility. Please let your daughter know that we are "reinventing" our gift shop. We will be carrying several new lines of products that I think she will enjoy.

Thanks again for staying with us. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Everything was absolutely perfect. The staff was so nice and extremely helpful when we had questions. The bed was amazing. We stayed in the Presidential Suite and Oh my goodness! I felt like a queen! It was so perfect, we waited until the very last minute to check out. We will most definitely stay here again when we go back to Vermont in the summer.

Room Tip: For a couple, pick the presidential suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meredith0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your first review on TripAdvisor. We love all the feedback we get, but I'm always extra pleased when we inspire a person to write their first TripAdvisor review. Be forewarned...its addicting. I'm glad you enjoyed our Presidential Suite. The suite was just completely remodeled. It was always a beautiful room, but now it is breathtaking.

We will look forward to seeing you again. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was a great place to stay. The beds were so comfortable, the lobby was very inviting.our room was clean too!The staff was very friendly, and helpful.The only area that could be improved is breakfast, although it was not bad the cereal was a little on the stale side. I would highly recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammiefletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We really appreciate you staying with us and then taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Since installing our new bedding package, I am asked no less than five times a week for information on "what our secret is". I have a standard email that I send out to inquiring guests. Don't hesitate to reach out to me if you are interested in the information. I really appreciate all the positive feedback and will look into your observation on the cereal. We are in the final month of our busiest winter season ever. We may have received an older case of cereal, but there is no chance that it hasn't been being consumed fast enough or was overstocked. We've had to locate additional storage just to keep up with the demand on our breakfast. Certainly is a great problem to have!

Thanks again for staying with us. We will look forward to next time.

Until then...safe travels.

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
909 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed in four different hotels on this trip in VT and NH, and this is the one I was the most concerned about despite the glowing reviews. Not all Comfort Inn's are that great. But this facility ended up being the best hotel I stayed in on the trip.
First of all, the oatmeal raisin cookies alone would be a reason to come back. Really. I took one at check in but did not try it until I was ready for bed and I almost considered getting dressed to go back for another. I am allergic to chocolate, as are many people, but most hotels only have chocolate chip cookies.
Room was incredibly large and immaculate. This was not always the case at the other brands.
Staff charming and helpful. I bought a postcard and they even had postage for it. I did not partake of the breakfast besides snagging some bananas. Looked like a decent spread.
I want to come back and bring my family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. There is both positive and negative that goes along with any franchise affiliation. No matter what...customers come with a certain set of expectations. We have spent 14 years "breaking the mold". We pride ourselves on exceeding our guests expectations. I'm thrilled you enjoyed our cookies. Fortunately (for my waistline), our baker cooks a lot of chocolate chip cookies. I LOVE THE OATMEAL COOKIES!!! I was very pleased to read your reviews on our accommodations and team members. Please know that ALL reviews are shared internally.

I'm really glad you are considering a return visit with your family. We would really love to host your next vacation. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
VermontTajMahal@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#4 of 5 in Littleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
14.5 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
8.1 mi away
Colonnade Inn
Colonnade Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyndonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Address: 703 US Route 5, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-8937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Choice Hotels Gold Award-winning hotel is located in the heart of Vermont's majestic Northeast Kingdom. The Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain is Northern New England's best year-round vacation destination. Your stay with us includes over-sized guestrooms with a spacious living area, in-room microwave & refrigerators, and free Wi-Fi! A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served each morning with a widespread array of hot & cold options from eggs, to make your own Belgium waffles with Vermont maple syrup, to warm yogurt, cereal, and much more! The hotel's guests also enjoy the large fitness center, whirlpool, sauna, heated indoor saltwater pool, arcade room, guest laundry and 24-hour business center. Vacation packages with Burke Mountain, Cannon Mountain, Bretton Woods, Jay Peak, Kingdom Trails, Santa's Village and the Mount Washington Cog Railway are available throughout the year. Ask us about our family fun packages, we'd love to fill you in! We are conveniently located within 1-5 miles of excellent local restaurants and local shopping featuring many items you will only find here in Vermont. We look forward to having you with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain and wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Comfort Inn Saint Johnsbury
Saint Johnsbury Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing