We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Queen Anne Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Queen Anne Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful home for 2 days (Sept 25-26) towards then end of our 3 week vacation touring Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine. Of all 5 B&Bs this one was the most beautiful. Our host has been restoring this grand home since 1998 and decided to open as a bed and breakfast the last few years. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor and shared a bathrooom. This the first time we had to share a bathroom but was no problem. This home is located the end of Main Street by a fountain in a small triangular park. This is Bed and Breakfast is very quiet so choosing any room would be fine. The bed was very comfortable. The host is very friendly and knowledgeable about St. Johnsbury and the surrounding area. She has sample menus of the local restuarants. The breakfast was very good. We enjoyed walking Main street viewing all the spectular large homes constructed in the late 1800's. Must see is the library with attached art museum featuring Hudson Bay painters.

Room Tip: all rooms in this property will be good choices as they will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

The charming owner of this house went out of her way to make us feel welcome in her authentically renovated home.
The house is beautiful, and the rooms are thoughtfully decorated, in keeping with the age and style of the house itself. As a consequence, not all rooms have private bathrooms, but we had robes provided and a wash-basin in our room, and in practice there was no problem with availability.
The beds were good, with comfortable bedding. Although there was no air-conditioning in the bedrooms, and we were there in record-breaking high temperatures, we slept well.
A residents' lounge is available, with good, high-speed wifi and a great assortment of games, DVDs etc. There is a shady porch, with comfortable chairs.
Breakfast was excellent. Good ingredients, carefully cooked.
We also enjoyed meeting the other guests - and interesting mixture of Americans and people from much further afield.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireGenealogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Recently stayed here for the first time. The place is hard to find. There is no sign and we actually had to look it up on our iphone to get a picture of it. Proprietor is very nice. It is a lovely old Victorian home. Our room was quite comfortable and we had a private bath. The furnishings are not in keeping with the Victorian period but they were clean, comfortable and well maintained. We were however disappointed with the breakfast. It was filling and tasty but nothing out of the ordinary. Yogurt and granola, scrambled eggs and sausage. I had expected a little more from it after all the great reviews.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enthusiastofbnbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Relax. You can expect a memorable visit at this B & B. You will be happy to have stayed here.

My friend and I arrived by Bike from Boston, on our way to Montreal. We had a grueling day in the saddle, in near 100 degree temperatures and couldn't imagine another climb, whether on the hills, or dealing with complications of any kind. All I can say is that I felt relieved the moment I stepped through the door, welcomed and we were, by Maurine. It was a pleasure to stay in the Estabrook House B & B.

Maurine, the owner / proprietor, is a down-to-earth professional who has taken a stunning architectural gem and polished it more highly. The wooden details throughout the house are stunning, particularly in the great foyer. The bedrooms are clean, bright and welcoming. The beds are very comfortable, and the breakfast is extraordinary. You will be well cared for and well rested when ready to move on.

Be sure to take Maurine's advice on the many fine and reasonably priced nearby restaurants. Several are within easy walking distance.

You will want to book another stay before saying good bye. Kudos to you, Maurine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite nice. If you are concerned about morning sun, the front of the house faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Norman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have stayed at the Estabrook House on multiple occasions, and it gets better each time! The innkeeper is so friendly and makes us feel right at home. We have slept in several different rooms, and all have been very clean and confortable with great beds and crisp, cotton sheets! Having an upstairs common TV room / den / library is a wonderful feature, particularly when we visited there with friends. However, the highlight is truly the large homemade breakfast!! Everything is local, fresh, incredibly delicious, and served on fine china! Maurine has a wide variety of menus and is very attentive to special dietary needs and/or requests. She will also make a special "afternoon tea" for a very nominal charge if requested, with delightful homemade finger foods. Coffee, many different types of speciality teas, and filtered alkaline water are available at all times, which adds a nice touch. In good weather, we especially enjoyed happy hour on the front porch, overlooking the small park across the street, which often hosts local musicians. This is truly a special place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeNormanLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had an interesting stay at The Estabrook. The accommodations are fine and the breakfasts are quite good, with a very friendly and attentive innkeeper hosting a B& B in the process of renovation. The property isn’t in pristine condition, but it’s located in a comfortable neighborhood above the very walk-able town of St. Johnsbury. Where else but in the northeast kingdom of Vermont could you meet a tenured Canadian professor and a family from Moscow(?)
The area around here is unmatched for its natural beauty!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blue7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stopped there on my way back to Montreal by bike. My bedroom was great, the living room is perfect and the breakfast was delightful. Location is good, as it is walking distance from the center of the city. And the host is very friendly.

Perfect spot if you bike around the region! With a good quality breakfast to give you energy for the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillaumeL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
14.5 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Johnsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1596 Main St, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-1845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing