We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and Relaxing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
Round Lake, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Relaxing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I spent Memorial Day weekend with Maureen at her beautiful Bed and Breakfast. She has done a fantastic job of restoring this old Queen Anne home and does an even BETTER job of immediately making you feel at home. Our room had a comfortable queen sized bed with a clean and quaint bathroom. Across the hall was a lounge with a tv/vcr/dvd, a big comfy couch, a printer, books, games, a guitar... Breakfast was delicious each morning, served in a dining room where tea, coffee, and hot cocoa are left out for your use via a Keurig machine. There's also filtered water dispenser available for your use as well. The home has a lovely porch where we sat and watched the Memorial Day Parade Monday morning.

Maureen was happy to offer suggestions for dinner and activities and her home proved to be well located as our base for exploring Vermont's North East Kingdom. We were able to visit sugar houses, cheese dairies, and breweries all within easy driving distance.

We will be back again. Soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank y498yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight in this lovely old home turned inn. Very comfortable room, nice shower (I love those "rain" shower heads), delicious breakfast, gracious host. A bit tricky to find as it is in an historic district that doesn't allow signs. Look for the green house with pink and cream trim, big porch on the front, the number 1596 to the upper right of the door, facing the little park with a statue in it. So enjoyed staying in a beautiful house with character, rather than another non-descript chain hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvonalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

It took a couple passes to find it without a sign, but what a neat place! It was a comfortable room (the Juliet) with a nice modern bathroom. We didn't get a chance to use the lounge/sitting room across the hall, but it was a nice touch that it was there.

Maurine's recommendation of Bailiwick's for dinner was a great one - it's close and wonderful food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Authentic Charm is the essence of the Estabrook House B & B in St. Johnsbury Vermont. From the original mail slot in the tri color victorian door, to the magnificent stairway bannister leading to the second floor guest rooms, you will discover period charm. The owner, Maureen, orchestrated the restoration of this beautiful home and chose to preserve the quality detail including hardware, light fixtures, flooring and woodwork.
Each guest room reveals special features such as a turret in the Rose room, a cozy stained glass bay window seat in the Parkside room and a step out porch in the Juliet room. Having slept in each of these three of the five available rooms, I can attest that the beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious. Located in a sleepy, historic neighborhood the Estabrook House is quiet and nestled into a period setting and you can stroll on the sidewalks and admire the architecture of the neighborhood homes.
After having spent two nights in the Estabrook Home B & B, we traveled to other areas of Vermont. We returned to celebrate our anniversary and it felt as if we were coming home. That is the overall experience while residing at the B & B as there is comfortable furniture that makes it easy to relax on the classic victorian porch, in the parlor and in the spacious family room on the second floor.
Breakfast is a treat and the large dining room table is the perfect space to gather and meet fellow guests. There is a natural “family feel”throughout the experience.
Visiting the Estabrook House B & B should have been on my bucket list!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Our stayThe Estabrook House was a B&B experience as it should be.We loved the fact that was situated in both a charming and covenient in town location with the sights of Main St a 5 minute stroll away.(We HIGHLY recommend the Fairbanks Museum-one of the best little museums we have ever been to.) The Queen Ann stick architecture of Estabrook House is delightful to behold. Our nicely proportioned, pleasantly appointed room did not have its own bathroom, but it was not a real hardship. It was right down the hall. Anyway, trying to retrofit in room baths in these older homes .tends to degrade both the size and the architectural integrity of the interior. There is an enclosed porch on the second floor with views of the surrounding homes-a quiet serene refuge in which we spent much time. We could only wish that the owner's two cats, who are banished to the third floor, could have been allowed to mingle with the guests. (However ,I'm sure that both the felinophobic and the allergic would object).The ample and delicious hot breakfast was prepared, presented and served by the owner herself-a nice personal touch. If passing through St.Johnbury, it would be hard to imagine a better lodging choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful home for 2 days (Sept 25-26) towards then end of our 3 week vacation touring Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine. Of all 5 B&Bs this one was the most beautiful. Our host has been restoring this grand home since 1998 and decided to open as a bed and breakfast the last few years. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor and shared a bathrooom. This the first time we had to share a bathroom but was no problem. This home is located the end of Main Street by a fountain in a small triangular park. This is Bed and Breakfast is very quiet so choosing any room would be fine. The bed was very comfortable. The host is very friendly and knowledgeable about St. Johnsbury and the surrounding area. She has sample menus of the local restuarants. The breakfast was very good. We enjoyed walking Main street viewing all the spectular large homes constructed in the late 1800's. Must see is the library with attached art museum featuring Hudson Bay painters.

Room Tip: all rooms in this property will be good choices as they will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

The charming owner of this house went out of her way to make us feel welcome in her authentically renovated home.
The house is beautiful, and the rooms are thoughtfully decorated, in keeping with the age and style of the house itself. As a consequence, not all rooms have private bathrooms, but we had robes provided and a wash-basin in our room, and in practice there was no problem with availability.
The beds were good, with comfortable bedding. Although there was no air-conditioning in the bedrooms, and we were there in record-breaking high temperatures, we slept well.
A residents' lounge is available, with good, high-speed wifi and a great assortment of games, DVDs etc. There is a shady porch, with comfortable chairs.
Breakfast was excellent. Good ingredients, carefully cooked.
We also enjoyed meeting the other guests - and interesting mixture of Americans and people from much further afield.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireGenealogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsbury
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
14.5 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
12.5 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1596 Main St, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819-1845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing