We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Governor's Rock Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shaftsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cute and clean!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This place is a little gem amongst so many hotels and motels in the southern Vt area. The price was very good, they let us bring our pets for a nominal fee, and the room was so cozy, clean, and comfortable! I loved the bed and bedding, the decor was tasteful and welcoming, and the shower while small, had some of the most excellent water pressure I've ever experienced. Loved it! I would definitely recommend this motel to others. The only minor complaint that I have is there was no Do Not Disturb sign for the door which I like to have because I sleep late :) Otherwise, excellent all around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missamanda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
32
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA 22304
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and daughter arrived in Bennington, VT well after dark and were unable to find accommodations in the city. We headed north on Route 7A and came upon Governor's Rock Motel. The owner's husband explained that his wife handles all the reservations but was not available until morning. He was not totally familiar with all the checking in procedures, but put us in a room that was more than adequate to our needs. Owner was available in the morning, straightened out all the details, and gave us a rate much cheaper that the Expedia one that we checked out previously. Room was clean, comfortable, and with all the amenities. I can highly recommend this motel, but one should contact the motel direct for a rate and compare it with Expedia or other booking service.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms here, 10 I think. So, if you want to stay here make your reservation well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSO66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just a nice place to stay. Nothing too fancy, but its clear that the caretakers do care lovingly for this motel. Great landscaping with flowers and shrubs, nice view of the Vermont countryside right outside the door (and chairs to relax in, if so inclined.) Beds are brand new and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elecuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife and daughter for two nights in May. The room was clean, quiet and just what we needed. The owners were friendly and very helpful during our stay. A nice break from the chain experience. The best part - A wonderful view of the Vermont countryside right outside our door. We will stay here again the next time we are in Vermont.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night but we could have easily stayed for more. The owner was very welcoming and showed us to our room. The room was beautiful, clean, and cozy. It truly felt like a home away from home. The view was peaceful with chairs you could sit upon to enjoy the sunrise. I would stay here again without a thought.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SiksikD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Nice country Vermont experience. The rooms were decorated with care and were lovely. A little small and a tiny bathroom, but clean, comfortable and not a cookie cutter chain experience. We would come back again. The owner was very nice and they had two kinds of coffee brewed in the lobby to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelleranddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When we arrived the owner, Sophia, had a warm smile as she greeted us, and walked with us to show us our room. She said it feels a bit chilly and turned on the heat for us.

We immediately felt at home with the charming room, stenciled with morning glories and with paintings of leaves and a flower on the dresser. The room was cheerful and decorated with
country prints and fabrics. And in the corner was a cozy armchair.

While it had a charming rural atmosphere all modern amenities were provided; a generous sized flat screen TV with lots of HD channels, a refrigerator and microwave and plenty
of lamps. It was immaculate and whatever time it was we had plenty of good hot water.

Outside there were flowers and little tables and chairs by each room. It was marvelously quiet
and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

We look forward to returning there whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connecticutosprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftsbury
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
16.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
6.7 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#4 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Bennington
Best Western Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Rock Motel

Property: Governor's Rock Motel
Address: 4325 Historic Rte 7A, Shaftsbury, VT 05262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Shaftsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shaftsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Rock Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Rock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor's Rock Motel Shaftsbury, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing