We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-stars for being more than what their prices suggest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governor's Rock Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shaftsbury
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Yup. 5 stars. Not because they're a 5-star place. Because they are most definitely not. But they give you much more than you should expect for the price. I was very surprised and happy with the room. I have stayed at a number of cheap places up in VT, and most made me think you get what you pay for. But these rooms were a step above what I expected, and I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doxastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Governor's Rock Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2010

Loved my room - it was more like a cozy studio apartment - nice queen size bed, plus a big comfy easy chair and big rocking chair. Bathroom very clean with nice hot water. Did not use the coffeemaker but fridge was twice the size of a "college cube" zand kept everything good and cold. Room nicely decorated with lovely rug over brand new carpeting. Made good use of the satellite TV and I was on my iPad a good amount of the time. The WIFI kicked in immediately with nice strong signal. It was a bit cool outside But there all all kinds of benches and chairs all around the motel property that you can kick back and take in the scenery. You were about 10 minutes from Manchester in one direction and Bennington in the other. All in all it was very quiet and peaceful. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in Vermont.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevkayakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Went there for the fall colors and Vermont is so beautiful, didnt want to come back.
This place is located in a small village that is so wonderful.
It is a small motel with nice rooms, the rooms are more like B&B rooms
I would definitely recommend this place :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

I had a wide choice of rooms and booked three for family members attending a local wedding. The rooms and the service were first class, and everybody was pleased. This motel is really cute, and some rooms had an outside patio with table and chairs, which our family really enjoyed. The motel also had wireless internet that worked very well and made it easier
to keep in touch while we were away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ok_muc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Staying at this place is almost like staying at a B&B, except you're staying at a hotel, and breakfast is just homemade cakes instead of a whole meal. That is, it's very personable. The owner is very nice, talkative, and interested in you enjoying your stay. She seems willing to do just about anything you ask her, and sometimes she will offer things up just based on what she knows you are doing. For instance, I arrived to hike the Appalachian Trail, and she offered to drive me there (with the caveat that she might have trouble finding the trail head). I'm sure that would also involve a fee, but for a hiker traveling alone, that would be a great service to have. I stayed at this hotel because I couldn't decide on which hikes to do, and this place was smack in the middle of Bennington and Manchester. The exterior of this hotel looks a lot like all of the other motels up and down route 7a. One might not stick out from another, but I'd stay here again if I came to the area because I am now comfortable with the owner (stick to what I know). The motel is nestled at the foot of one mountain, and has a view of Glastenbury Mountain. Life is quiet in this area. The hotel is often used by workers, all of whom were gone before I even woke up in the morning. Thus, the owner is basically waiting for me to arrive for breakfast. The interior of the room has everything you would want for your stay, but nothing fancy. It does have a grill in the backyard though, which is cute. Wifi is also available.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kalalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

My husband I stayed for one week, The room was cozy, clean and quiet, The grounds were lovely with a beautiful mountain view across the highway. Quick commute to Bennington or Manchester areas. The Hotel owner Sophia is lovely! Very helpful and kind, we had a patio room with a barbecue outside and every day coffee and condiments were left in the room after being cleaned! (Microwave, fridge and coffee pot not to mention WIFI connection for laptop users!) Will stay again when in the area!

Deb & Mike

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mrzdeb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

The location is fabulous -- a few miles away from the noise of Bennington and Manchester, yet close enough for shopping and recreational attractions. The motel and grounds are really beautiful. We usually have a patio room, and can grill and dine outside if the weather is good. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfy. We have stayed there a few times per year for the last four years, and always had a great experience. The owner, Sophia, is very friendly and helpful and always has a big smile for you. Her continental breakfast is great -- love that homemade banana bread we had on our olast visit!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ginaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftsbury
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
727 reviews
6.7 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
186 reviews
16.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#4 of 8 in Bennington
306 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Harwood Hill
The Harwood Hill
#3 of 8 in Bennington
76 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Bennington
Best Western Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Rock Motel

Address: 4325 Historic Rte 7A, Shaftsbury, VT 05262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Shaftsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shaftsbury
Price Range: £63 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Rock Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Governor's Rock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor's Rock Motel Shaftsbury, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing