We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro motel, charming and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Serenity

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shaftsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serenity
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shaftsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Retro motel, charming and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Serenity is situated on the historic Route 7A, and consists of a few compact chalets on a well cared for plot of land, plenty of room for kids (and adults) to play in, with a couple of BBQs and seating areas. The wooden chalets are a bit tight for space, but comfortable, even if a little dated, but this is part of the charm, as the layout of chalet/adjacent parking space is the original layout of early motel configuration. Each chalet comes with its' own veranda - perfect to watch the sunset with a cool glass of wine. Our chalet had a double and single bed, with AC, fridge, coffee maker and TV, clean and comfortable, with a decent shower. The nearby road is fairly busy, but does quieten down at night, so peaceful rest is assured, bearing in mind the wooden structure of the chalets. We found this motel delightful, but take it for what it is; if you like 5 star pampering, go elsewhere. However, for an old fashioned and honest place to stay at a very good price, the Serenity will not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
32
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

When we arrived,the propietor was very friendly.The cottage was neat as a pin.The scenery was beautiful.We couldn't have asked for a more romantic stay.Thank you for a memory that we will share for a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Individual cabins that are clean and functional. Well-maintained and quite attractive though could do with an update inside. Suggest choosing number 7 or 8 as these are further from the road. A good option for a one night stay in southern Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casperdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

After entering the cabin, we regretted that we would only stay one night at Serenity Motel. We had Cabin #3. It was small, but had everything one needs for a calm, restful stay. The cabin was immaculate! Freshly painted, no nicks or bumps in the woodwork. Everything plain, but working. No frills, no dust, either! It was like moving in to someone's home. The detailed care the host and hostess take in keeping these cabins up-to-snuff, inside and out, impressed us. On our return trip later in the week we called and were fortunate to find an opening, this time in cabin 5. Just as neat and clean and nicely decorated with fresh paint in soft hues. Upon talking with our host we learned of the couples' impending retirement. We are sorry that we may not be able to have a return visit to Serenity, but we wish the best for the hosts' retirement years.

Room Tip: ask for a cabin away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virgmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My husband, myself and our 13-year-old son spent two nights in one of the Serenity Motel's small cabins/cottages and it was perfect for us. We used both the air conditioning and the heater (it was June in Vermont so that can happen), they worked great and we were quite comfortable. I'm not sure I'd want to spend more than a couple of nights in that cottage however - there really wasn't much room and zero privacy (other than the bathroom). But everything was clean, everything worked, and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Call the very helpful owners with any questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwennieJo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Nestled in the shadow of Stratton and Bromely ski areas, this 'motel' consists of small, clean, cozy cabins . Two can be shared by larger groups or families; all have good-sized front porches with comfortable furniture and barbeques for outdoor enjoyment. Close to Manchester Center (Northshire Bookstore, Outlet shopping, Hildene) and Arlington (Norman Rockwell territory). Some of the most beautiful backroads in New England. Unassuming, delightful, with the best hospitality that I have ever experienced when travelling.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kschutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Peekskill, NY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

I just can't say enough about this wonderful place. Although it's been around for many years, it seems brand new. My cottage was extremely clean, and it felt like it had a new paint job. The owners are terrific, and very accommodating. I only have one complaint: it's only open from May through October.

The location is excellent; centrally located, and rural. Very easy to find, as it's on a main road.

As for the price, quite low for what you get. Dumpy places in the area ask for much more. This place is an incredible bargain.

I can't wait to stay next summer!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachernthehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftsbury
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
6.7 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.9 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#4 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bennington
BEST WESTERN Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
7.8 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Harwood Hill
The Harwood Hill
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity

Property: Serenity
Address: 4379 Rte. 7A, Shaftsbury, VT 05262
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Shaftsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shaftsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Serenity Hotel Shaftsbury
Serenity Shaftsbury, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing