We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelburne Museum

Shelburne Museum
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum in Vermont that displays approximately 80,000 items of folk art and similar works.
Southport CT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is one of the most unique museums you will ever find. Lots to see, some totally amazing like the full size steamship and the miniature circus collection. This is a great family outing - kids will love this place, but so will grandma and grandpa - something for everyone here. The grounds are beautiful and there is a centrally located cafe with picnic tables outside - perfect for a crisp, fall day. Admission tickets are good for 2 days - trust me, you will need them to truly get to see everything. If you are in the Burlington area this is a wonderful way to spend the day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CTMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    123
    23
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
284 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A simply great way to spend a few hours.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We turned around to go here on our way to the Teddy Bear Factory, and we're real glad we did.

A ton of cool things to see and learn about the area from. There is everything from a Full Size Steam Ship (hauled here from Lake Champlain) a lighthouse, old period builds and folks dress as such talking about the times. A nice souvenir shop as well.

Nice friendly folks

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank slalemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Edward, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You need more than one day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Very nice, so many things to see you really need an extra day to see it all. My advise if you go after a certain time which i think is like 3 pm you can go again the next day for free, Check their web site to be sure. There is a ship you can go through that is really amazing. several houses , and buildings a jail, circus display, carousel . Too many things to mention , Seriously more than you can see in a day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank katydid8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

have been here several times -- it is too large to view at one visit. outstanding exhibits, easily accessible. lots of rural history, much of it exhibited in beautifully reconstructed settings. very interesting occasional special exhibits (e.g. older motorcycles; vermont made guns) in addition to the wide range of permanent exhibits. one of my favorite museums.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkton, Vermont
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Funky and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

This fun museum has many buildings and displays spread out over acres. It is varied and ecclectic- circus memorabilia, a forge, a real lighthouse, a real steamship, an art gallery, and old buggies and wagons are just some of the items that make up this collection. One day is probably not enough.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GreenGazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelburne Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shelburne Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing