We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Beauty”
Review of Shelburne Farms

Shelburne Farms
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A nonprofit organization educating for sustainability. Its campus is a 1,400-acre working farm, forest, and National Historic Landmark. Year-round walking trails and programs; seasonal inn, property tours, and children's farmyard (mid-May to mid-October)
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is a bit quirky since it's the former home of one of the Vanderbilt's. But I love how they have turned the land into a working organic farm. Come for the great views overlooking the water, but stay for the food, which is fantastic! I would give it five stars, but the only downside is that the hotel and restaurant were a little too pricey for me.

Thank Bon-Voyage-747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 320 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I'm a food enthusiast, so maybe i was primed to really enjoy this place, but then, maybe this is your chance to become a food enthusiast.
Once the estate of a robber baron, this is now a working agrotourism farm --one of the options for the future of food and agriculture I lay out in my e-book, Food for City Building. We are well beyond having two stock options--live in a crowded city with no access to Nature or growing opportunities versus live in the isolated countryside growing heavy-duty crops with huge machines.
This farm makes one of the options come alive and sing out. The make an artisanal organic cheese here. They provide opportunities for people to eat and enjoy the scenery -- what the department of agriculture types call "value-added" --and I prefer to call values-added. This is the future, not just the distant past of food and agriculture and what's called "peri-urban agriculture."
The lakeside access is exquisite, especially in the early evening.
A trick we learned is that you can book ahead of breakfast at the robber baron castle and get in free to stroll around.

Thank wayne300944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelFarm, Public Relations Manager at Shelburne Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and our farm-to-table food. We might quibble over the characterization of Dr. William Seward Webb as a "robber baron" : ) , but we so appreciate your understanding of how we're trying to build a more sustainable farm and food system. Hope you can make it back for another visit, and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On a Vanderbilt Family estate stretching along Lake Champlain's eastern shore, the grounds were designed by Frederick Law Olmstead of Central Park, NY fame. The original Webb family still owns much of the property with an ecological foundation run by the heirs managing the meadows, woods, pastures, historic and modern farm buildings. An excellent gift shop is your entrance to the farm; you follow a paved road providing vistas at each turn until you reach the shore and the Shelburn Inn, an upscale renovation of the original "cottage" farmhouse which used to have 100 rooms, now downsized only a bit. See Shelburne Inn for its review. From the entrance, winding through woods and beside open fields are extensive walking trails (no bikes.) To take in all the farm has to offer, be sure to go on one of the tours.

Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelFarm, Public Relations Manager at Shelburne Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, and thanks for your kind review. Just wanted to clarify that the property is wholly owned by a nonprofit organization, called Shelburne Farms. Hope you can make it back again and discover more of this place and its educational opportunities. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a great tour guide who could answer all our questions. I highly recommend that visitors take the tour and also do the cheese tasting. This is also a GRELAT place for kids to learn where their food comes from. Lots of interaction with farm animals and great educational experience.

Thank jasperandgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelFarm, Public Relations Manager at Shelburne Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for your kind review. Happy to surprise you! And we hope you make it back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There is something for everyone here. Make sure to take the $3 add on tour of the property. The views alone are worth the price. The barn holds many surprises - from the cheesemaking to the barn animals, to the bakery. You can walk for miles, with your choice of totally in the sun paths to those in the woods. Plan on spending the day.

Thank finicky-gramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelFarm, Public Relations Manager at Shelburne Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, your tour, and strolling our walking trails. Thanks for visiting and hope you'll come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelburne Farms also viewed

 

Been to Shelburne Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing