We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Shelburne Farms
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington(Shelburne)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Shelburne(Shelburne)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G.G.T. Tibet Inn(Burlington)
US$87
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites South Burlington(South Burlington)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smart Suites Burlington(South Burlington)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Mountain Suites Hotel(South Burlington)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
30
4
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
30
4
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshelburne farmsgilded agelake champlaincheese makingadirondack chairsworking farmfarm to tablethere is no air conditioningstep back in timethird floorvanderbilt familycheddar cheeseglass housesummer homehiking trailsoriginal furnishingscountry home
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

What makes this hotel so special is that it is in one of the great shingle-style homes in the United States. It manages to preserve the architectural character of the house and respects the history of the Webb family that built it while being a luxurious hotel at the same time.

The rooms manage to strike that same balance. We stayed in the yellow room, with its charming sunken bathroom and the view out to the old elm marsh. The elms are long gone, but the view is still pleasing.

The most fun part of the hotel is downstairs, with all the wonderful rooms, such as the great hall and the library, the porches, and the recently restored balustrade overlooking a breathtaking view of Lake Champlain and the Adirondacks to the West.

The restaurant is first-class, with a reliance on local produce, including that from Shelburne Farms itself. The service is warm and not intrusive. I loved the leisurely pace of dinner, but without a complaint from us, the hotel offered complimentary dessert and wine to apologize for the delay.

The hotel has young and old guests, and you may find it hard to sleep in, as it is easy to hear the early risers.

Still, we loved this place so much that we want to come back next year, and bring a friend.

Room Tip: The Yellow Room is really a suite with three beds, and so is perfect for three friends.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FThys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited the Inn at Shelburne Farms for a truly wonderful dining experience in the midst of foliage season. The food was excellent, the service A+ and the view overlooking Lake Champlain was breathtaking. We have enjoyed the Farm and Museum when our children were young and we always look forward to our return visits at this elegant turn of the century country mansion. We have not lodged there but imagine the accommodations to be impressive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank freeskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Inn is simply glorious. The setting is an old mansion in an estate setting right on Lake Champlain. The inn itself is old, creaky, and beautiful, with tons of personality and mercifully no television. We stayed in the White Room, which offered an amazing view of the lake. It was comfortable and quite large and we would absolutely consider the same room in the future.

As a guest at the inn, you can easily spend your days wandering the trails and the property, visiting the barns, and gazing at the various vistas of mountains and the lake. You can see the gorgeous garden, sink into an Adirondack chair while having tea and pastries, stare at the sunset over the water, and sit in front of a lit fireplace in the gorgeous old library while thumbing through the books. In a word, the setting and "feel" of the place was perfect.

The staff are welcoming and competent.

What takes a star away from my review is the restaurant experience. The staff were extremely friendly, but some were also painfully slow (to bring bread, to bring coffee, to refill water). While the food ranged between very good to excellent, the service concerns definitely colored the experience. And for some baffling reason, the outdoor dining area was closed off during our stay, which happened to be a glorious, warm late September weekend. At dinner our first night, the sunset was stunning and the diners either watched from inside or stepped outside to view it. Why not allow people to enjoy a table there? At breakfast the following morning, we were told that a table for two would be a 30 minute wait. But there was one couple eating outside, and when we inquired about the many empty tables around them we were told that "they are friends of the owner". When we explained to the restaurant manager that we were paying guests of the owner, she relented to setting up a table for us. Unfortunately, we again experienced a painfully slow process that led us to get up and physically request coffee refills, a check, and then a pen to sign the check. I did speak with the innkeeper who responded nicely and professionally.
But this led us to cancel dinner and brunch reservations there and to choose an off-site restaurant for breakfast during our stay.

Would we return? Absolutely! The place is just too wonderful to miss. But we would also choose to have our meals elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We had high expectations and they were exceeded. I have to give the staff a lot of praise. I have never experienced a more friendly, helpful, and knowledgable staff. They were excellent! The grounds were absolutely beautiful and impressive! The Inn was awe inspiring! The tour was great. An excellent place to relax and disconnect from "the real world". We don't usually talk about coming back to the same place to stay, but this one is different. We would definitely do it again!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank goosebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just got back from another stay at Inn at S.B. This property is so beautiful that it stays in my memory all year. I truly love the landscape, the winding drive (over a mile) from the entrance gate to the inn building on the lake, the huge strange barn out of a Nordic fairy tale, the herds of cows, the rolling landscape, the horse-drawn wagons, the cheese-making and the night sky! It's hard to add to what others have said, but I really do not regret any stay here. As others have said, no TV, no air conditioning, and the furniture is old (almost all original to the house). The main public rooms downstairs are very special, especially on a cool fall night when the fireplaces are lit. Flower bouquets are everywhere. Charming small bar just outside the dining room. Drinks on the lawn overlooking Lake Champlain are a must. The gardens keep improving from several years ago, and I know they continue this good work. Cheese and apples come in every room. Are there any flies in the ointment? Little ones, but not worth staying away. We had the Webb room (one of the big ones) and the bed is a little annoying (not comfortable to read in bed, not given enough pillows, mattress does not fill up space within the bedstead so you cannot avoid the chilly side pieces). Restaurant not as good as it used to be, but breakfast is great, the wine list is great, coffee is strong. (Please keep offering coffee at breakfast - we should not have to look for you.) Thanks too for attentive service when guests first arrive. I love the library too and the South Porch. Best of all is the sense of space -- and the quiet. And that incredible sky. And the mountain views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews