We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Shelburne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Woke up around midnight with "critters" scuttling around in my bed.
Checked out the next morning instead of staying for the duration. Clerk told me that the manager would call or e-mail me with a discount. Got an e-mail that their staff had checked the bed and found no bugs. I wondered if this was the same crack staff that missed the long hair in the sink and the pretzel under the desk!
Never got a discount. They billed me full price and it took me 3 days of e-mails to get them to send me an invoice. Never, Never, again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualityburlingtonvt, Manager at Quality Inn Shelburne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for informing us of your issues. It is policy to give additional review of any reports of customer service or cleanliness issues and correct said issues as necessary. In this case, we had Orkin Pest Control investigate the entire property to be sure there was no “critters” on site, and brought our own staff, including maintenance, housekeeping and management personnel. I assure you we are pest free, and appreciate you bringing any concerns to our attention. We hope you enjoyed the duration of your time in the Champlain Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We arrived here and the young man on the service desk very quickly reallocated our rooms so that both couples could be close together. We didn't even ask. The rooms were spacious and clean but I was taken aback at the difference in price on Friday and Saturday. The hotel was not the standard one would expect for what we paid - almost double that of Thursday. The hotel is well located for Burlington which is a lovely town on the shores of Lake Champlain. There is a bus stop across the road which means you don't have to take the car but be warned buses do stop very early in the evening. In Burlington we ate at a lovely Thai restaurant - Parima, 185 Pearl St., which is just down from Church St. Another great place to eat was The Skinny Pancake on Lake St. . Very good food and very eco friendly.The highlight of our visit was probably the trip to Shelburne Museum. The guides there were friendly and well informed and there was lots to see and do. There is a great circus display which will resonate with anyone who has watched the recent movie Water for Elephants. It is good to know that the ticket to this park is good for two consecutive days as you may try to pack too much in at once.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quidditchfan186624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed on the third floor with a view of Lake Champlain. Because the view was so nice and the room so big, clean and comfortable, we definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janymontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Good value, good location, good room, good service, and clean. Located just a bit outside of Burlington, it is a good location to downtown and jumping on and off the highway to Waterbury or heading south to Middlebury. The hotel is also just down the street from Magic Hat Brewing and the Vermont Teddy Bear Company. Also, if you like bagels and cream cheese with all types of flavors to pick from, Burlington Bagel Bakery & Cafe is just up the street. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jedivader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I reserved this hotel two weeks in advance so that I would definitely have a place, no hassle. I had never been to Vermont and the Quality Inn was boasting its amenities, deluxe breakfast, and convenient location: sounded good. On the way coming from PA, I came across a flyer that had a discount for this hotel for 59.99 a night. Thought-what a great deal-was still valid-would be saving $40 overall (Had originally reserved the room for 79.99 a night@2 nights= around $174 total. Went in to the front desk- coupon was denied because I wasn't a walk-in. Apparently walk-ins are valued more than people who have actively committed to come. My suggestion-find that coupon booklet before you decide to book in advance (look at some of the state rest stops along the way, they are there). Also there was a large stain on one of the mattresses, which was kinda gross. Everything else was alright (nice staff, good service) -was a good location at a decent, but now disappointing price. Above all, check the state rest stops for hotel deals, especially when you are not traveling during the tourist season!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CJD_20072011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualityburlingtonvt, General Manager at Quality Inn Shelburne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

I first want to apologize that you felt as though you were valued less than a walk in customer, which is not the case, normally we try to reward those who pre-plan and pre-book, like yourself. Our inability to honor your coupon stemmed from the way in which you booked the room originally, as online 3rd party reservation services do not give us any of your personal financial information, and thus we have no way of deducting from the room charge they have pre-set. The coupons we have available all do also state that they are subject to restrictions and rate schedule changes, although we do try to honor them whenever rooms are available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We liked our stay. our room was on third floor of the middle building. We had no road noise or construction noise (a large nursing home is being built out back,at least it will be a quiet neighbor when finished) This is an older motel that has been kept up very well. 3 of the 4 buildings have indoor hallways.a good # of rooms looked like they would have a nice view of lake and mountains. Rooms have been redone(sept. 2010). Bedding very good 2 queens or one king. fresh walls/ carpet / furniture/ drapes make for a pleasent stay (we have enjoyed many Quality Inns lately, most have been re done as well, we just find their color choices a bit off so retro that they appear old) The bath room was very nice. large space curved shower rod "marble" counter tops and this quality inn had nice towels. A very nice indoor pool / hot tub area clean and bright. pool had a new liner. both pool /hot tub were a touch to cool but both were do able. Motel had a good exercise room mostly weights and some cardio, and a nice locker room with showers and a good sauna(only issue was that the pool/hot tub was at the other end of another building) . Breakfast was good as well. This seems to be the breakfast for this chain. Good coffee/ Ok juice/ two cold cearls/ two hot items saussage/eggs (most have had scrambeld eggs this one had pre shaped round,( which did not look so good but made nice sandwhiches) fruit / yogurt/ bagels/ danish/ hardboiled eggs.and make your own waffles. the single maker should have been two.And they had no spray for the maker, my wife asked and was told they spray it every morning. clearly this is not enough. as we ate, other people who made waffles had the same sticking issues. many folks asked the same question and were told the same .(waffles did taste good just messy/sticky) The motel is located 4 easy miles from downtown Burlington about two from Sheleburne Musem. a few eats were walkable Paulines Cafe was not much to look at from out side but was very charming and very good food. We looked at 15 other motels while we were in area. ( we will be here a lot over the next 4 years). some were very nice/very expensive. some were so so at best. some were down right scary,and they cost as much or more For us Clean Friendly indoor pool/hot tub good location Good breakfast, our money was well spent. This was a Good Deal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlefield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Good no frills hotel on the edge of South Burlington. Good value .Very good free breakfast buffet. Indoor pool was great. Whirlpool was cold and had tons of foam. Yuck! Didn't go in.
The rooms were decent and had been renovated (on the cheap) fairly recently. Staff were very nice from check-in to breakfast staff and cleaning staff.
We made the mistake of picking a ground floor room near the pool. DO NOT do this. You will hear everyone coming to use the pool. Plus it is an old hotel and you hear noise from rooms above. Pick 2nd or 3rd floor.
Stayed here because we wanted two queen size beds. They have this so we did not have to get two rooms.
BTW they offer FREE parking for those who want to fly out of Burlington and leave their cars. They may even offer free shuttle.
Good 2 (2.5) star hotel. Lots of parking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 12 in South Burlington
354 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Shelburne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Shelburne

Address: 2572 Shelburne Rd, Shelburne, VT 05482-6842 (Formerly Shelburne/Burlington Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shelburne
Price Range: £58 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Shelburne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Shelburne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Shelburne Hotel Shelburne
Super 8 Shelburne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing