We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mehhh. Wouldn't go back.”

Shelburne Camping Area
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shelburne Camping Area
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hey-Don't get me wrong, the place isn't BAD...it just isn't good. There wasn't anything awesome, the staff wasn't overly nice, and the site was quite small. I guess I was expecting more of a campground rather than an RV park as we were in a tent. I found $34 a night to be quite steep for the size of the site and lack of any sort of solace...We were nestled in-between 2 RV's...hardly peaceful. Luckily, we were in VT for the Maritime Festival in Burlington and rode our bikes the 7 miles to town each day to relax by the lake. Also, luckily there weren't a bunch of hooligans being loud when we returned to our site.

I really only researched the place via their website...had I checked Trip Advisor, I wouldn't have stayed there. Unless you're in a "Meet the Parents" type rig, or plan on being a seasonal in a camper from the 80's--this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank kmbmaine51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Sites are so small, we couldn't even open our awning to its maximum position. The roads were rutted and washrooms needs fixing up. We were in front of the pool and the lining of the pool was falling apart at some place, OMG. Some of the seasonals have been there since the 1970s. We had trouble with the wifi. Even centrally located, I would venture to another campground.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank racinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Having stayed here from mid-April 2014 ... April is truly the cruelest month, as T S Eliot noted ... until mid-July, I saw this campground go from the ravages of winter to a lovely place to stay for a day, a week, a month, or longer. Chris Bisonette and Karen, his son Daniel and everyone else who works and helps out here, make this place a great place to call home. Only about seven or eight miles from Burlington, but with all of the offerings on Route 7 on the way in, and fantastic scenery the other way south, it is a jumping off place far enough away from the hurly-burly but close enough to all the major attractions to relish the peace and quiet of the campground evenings. I stayed here in a motorhome with full-service hook-ups and never had a problem. If you're looking for a great place to stay to visit this enchanted area for any amount of time, this is the place to be. I stayed here in a motorhome and would again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First thing is the staff here is totally rude and are very unfriendly there rules are so ridiculous the campground is just somebody's front door yard the sites are unkeeped the bathrooms are not fit for a homeless person the owner is a total jerk along with the manager there a full time residences here that are nosey there are nothing but drunks and druggies the sites are muddy half the time the pool is not worth swimming in.we had visitors and the owner came to my sit and told my company that they had to leave because there young toodler was screaming to much this is far the worst camping area that I ever stayed at And I can't believe that te town of shelburne allows such a dump to continue to operate.please do not camp here it is a crappie place.the rates are to much for what you get.the dumpsters are always full and stink real bad old campers and rvs parked with junk in them.this place should not even be in operation.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bearcat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The only benefit to staying at this campground is that it is close to Shelburne attractions. The campground itself is a total dump. It is unkept, muddy, full of noisy, full-time residents, and there are cabin and apartment buildings that are in complete disrepair. The roads and sites are rutted and full of puddled water and mud. There is an old class c motorhome parked on the property that is in bad shape and filled with storage junk. There are also two poorly placed pools full of scum water, and a restaurant that looks like it might cave in on you. We couldn't wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

What a dump. We were given a site with elec & water. It was unlevel and there was no power. The problem was in the GFI plug. We finally moved to a more level spot with no power or water. The pool was filled with green scum and the restrooms while mostly clean were in major need of a makeover. We were staying here with a group in our motorhome otherwise we would have moved to another park. We would never recommend this park to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SpringtownBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Good place to set up a tent, sleep and go. Stayed here three nights. Sites were clean, restroom clean, had vinyl siding on the inside never saw that before but it appears to work. Showers were hot. Close to everything in shelburne and burlington. But nothing exciting to do in the campground itself. Pool was cold and at one point unfiltered but I think it was clean the second day. No real playground or amything for kids to do on site. Not very private or wooded but ok like I said to use as a place to sleep only.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank zack728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shelburne hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
1 mi away
Heart of the Village Inn
Heart of the Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
North Star Motel
North Star Motel
#3 of 3 in Shelburne
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
T-Bird Motor Inn
T-Bird Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Shelburne
121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn at Shelburne Farms
Inn at Shelburne Farms
#2 of 4 in Shelburne
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Camping Area

Address: 4385 Shelburne Rd, Shelburne, VT 05482-6512
Region: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Shelburne
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping is one of the most economical ways for a family to spend vacation time together. With money for leisure travel at a premium, you may decide that the best way to spend your vacation is to visit the Shelburne Camping Area. We feature spacious campsites with full electrical, sewer, cable, and water hook-ups for RVs and Travel Trailers as well as wooded sites for Tent Campers. A camp store, restrooms, showers and modem hook-up are also available as well as the Dutch Mill Family Restaurant for those of you who don't wish to "rough it" too much, but still would like to be in the beautiful surroundings. Regardless if you are fishing, boating, hiking, or shopping in the Champlain Valley of Vermont, you will find this truly modern campground to be relaxing with family type enjoyment including two swimming pools. Your pets are allowed on a leash, are not to be left alone on your site, and proof of rabies vaccination must be presented upon arrival. If it is relaxation and peacefulness that you crave, Shelburne Camping Area is the place to be. Your family and friends will be pleasantly surprised that such a great vacation spot is near. Don't let the season pass you by, call us to reserve your site today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing