We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch Mill Family Restaurant

Dutch Mill Family Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
269 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have been here several times for lunch, dinner, as well as have attended events they have catered, but today we had breakfast for the first time. Never have we been disappointed. The food is cooked by the owner and his son in a typical "home cooking" way, with a vast array of choices. The food is always served piping hot and DELICIOUS. He specializes in smoking and his own meats, as well as baking the bread fresh (amazing toast!) and everything is wonderful. I had a tomato, bacon, and feta omelette, and my husband had the Philly cheesesteak omelette. His pulled pork is absolutely fabulous as well! There are also healthier choices, but this is one place you want to just go to enjoy great food. The service is also wonderful. They have breakfast all day, and his specials rotate. So, lots of variety, great service, hot, fresh food, all owned by a generous family that routinely gives back to their community. All at a very reasonable cost. Great place to go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great local diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We found this little diner through online reviews, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere was pure local diner, down to the faded clippings about the local middle school’s athletic championship in the mid-70s, and that added to the fun. The breakfast was simply wonderful, and the service was friendly and excellent. We left with full tummies and smiles on our faces. Great place for breakfast!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TxTraveler254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A Great Breakfast"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The service was friendly and my eggs were cooked the way I like them. The home fries were throughly cooked and not burned. If your looking for a place to have a good breakfast with atmosphere, this is the spot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food, plain and simple.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not too many places to eat on Shelburne Rd, and we came upon this place by accident. Not much to look at, but good home food inside. Wasn't looking for anything fancy. They serve breakfast all day, so my wife and I ordered omelets, and they were very good. Didn't skimp out on the ingredients, and the potatoes were cooked well. Refilled our drinks without asking, and the waitress was friendly and joking around with us. There was a mistake with our order, and it was mentioned by us and corrected by them. I'd rather do that than complain on this site without mentioning anything to the cook or waitress. Give them a chance to correct their mistakes. Wouldn't you want others to give you the same courtesy?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where is everyone eating their breakfast??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

What the heck is going on? I sometimes think that people doing reviews have REALLY NEVER EATEN A GREAT BREAKFAST!!!! I went here after hearing that it was wonderful. Sorry if you are making a Greek omelette you can al least get the feta cheese melted and not left in small solid chunks!! We both asked for their homemade wheat toast, toasted well and NO BUTTER!! Got one order of white toast, barely toasted and was BUTTERED, and wheat toast that was also just warmed but at least was dry. God if they can't get the toast right...forget it!! I am pushing it giving this place 3 stars. One waitress never smiles and even when I told her she would be much prettier if she smiled... she did not. Pretty sad!! Maybe she doesn't like people.. well work somewhere else!! Sorry..never again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutch Mill Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dutch Mill Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing