We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just kind of too much for too little”
Review of T-Bird Motor Inn

T-Bird Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
T-Bird Motor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just kind of too much for too little”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

True, there was a cute little pool but the expectation that this would be "resort like" was wrong, wrong, wrong. The road it's on is very busy and the pricetag was a little high for a run-of-the-mill commercial strip motel. There was some sort of odd campground next door and the "continental breakfast" restaurant was a fair hike, but we gave it a try the first morning and I refused to return the next two mornings because it was very greasy and the woman was clearly upset that we had actually used the coupons the T-bird had supplied.

The HVAC was a problem. The wall unit AC was either freezing or the room was stuffy because the windows were on the floor and there was no way to open them and maintain privacy. Cleanliness was perfect, though.

All in all not a bad experience but disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_odomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    31
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
48
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here by chance one evening after driving by and being attracted to the shiny clean windows and inviting lighting. Used to Marriots and Hilton's when traveling we were a bit skeptical. The front desk clerk was very engaging, we asked to look at a room, he gave us keys to 2 rooms, one in the front and another around back, which we chose, it was a little newer and beds more comfortable. Of the many places we have stayed all over the world, this was without a doubt, one of the cleanest ever, comfi beds even though not the "dream beds" other hotels market, a true slice of Americana, well worth the stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent 2 nights at the TBird, and expected more. No coffee in the room or in the lobby. You have to walk next door to the restaurant to get a cup of coffee (which is also where the 'Continental Breakfast' is located, consisting of toast. Hardly any amenities in the bathroom, a tiny bottle of shampoo not big enough for 2 people to use, and tiny bars of soap. When the toilet flushed in the room next door (in the middle of the night), a loud screeching noise would follow. Highway noise very loud, since the rooms are only a few feet from the road. Wireless internet was only working sporadically. I wouldn't expect much more from a typical Motor Inn, and it did have some 1950s charm to it, but for the high price they charge, they should offer much more comfort to their guests...at least some coffee in the morning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building, it seemed newer and further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed here on a recent visit to Shelbure. I was visiting the museum and other area attractions. The hotel is located in a very convenient location and staff was nice when we arrived. I was disappointed because I was supposed to get two rooms with two queen size beds. Instead I got one room with two twin beds and one with two queen beds. Luckily we were able to make due with the beds we had. I was also disappointed because I was expecting a free continental breakfast. However this "free" breakfast was a coupon for a free bagel and drink at a restaurant down the street. If you wanted more than just a bagel you had to pay. Other than that the rooms were very clean and we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: Specify what type of room you want with the bed size. I specifically said two rooms with queen size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talex2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. EXTREMELY clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We were in the area for the fall colors and the shelbourne museum. We dinned in Burlington and shopped around for gifts. We would go out of our way to stay here again and will on our way to Canada. If you are ever in Vermont, for business or pleasure, stay at the T Bird for a night and rest comfortably knowing that there are still places out there that care for the traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patexmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This motor Inn is right on the road- loud semi trucks all day and all night. After the first night we bought earplugs! and we had the windows closed tight! Also, It must have been where we were situated but the plumbing was extremely loud- it sounded like everyone was showering in our bathroom- noisy high pitched water pipes. We move to a different room and the plumbing sound was better. Beds were old and too hard. We should have spent the extra money and moved to a room in the newer back unit away from the road!
It was however the cleanest motel we have ever seen!Updated bathroom- very nice.
The voucher for the free continental breakfast at the Windmill was a nice touch--we added an egg to our order for a nominal charge.
They also give discount coupons to the Shelburne Museum.

Room Tip: Either up-grade to a room in the back unit, away from the road,or bring your earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COKAT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
732 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The T-Bird is classic strip motel of the old-fashioned sort, with each rooms opening directly out onto a parking space. Furnishings and amenities are basic rather than luxurious, but I'm giving it a top rating because the owners take such good care of the place and treat their guests so well. The rooms are extraordinarily clean and all of the furnishing are in excellent repair (no torn or frayed blankets or battered bureaus here). The bed was comfortable, and our room looked out onto neatly tended lawn and trees. The owner is extremely helpful and offers discount coupons for all of the local attractions as well as good advice on restaurants. The restaurant next door offers wonderful breakfasts (a coupon for coffee and toast is included in the room price, but we sprang for bigger meals).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building. The rooms there face into some trees rather than the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
5.0 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 12 in South Burlington
331 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T-Bird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T-Bird Motor Inn

Property: T-Bird Motor Inn
Address: 4405 Shelburne Rd, Shelburne, VT 05482-6510
Region: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — T-Bird Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meticulously Clean and Well Maintained. Closest to the Historical Shelburne Museum, and Vermont Teddy Bear Factory. Just minutes to Shelburne Farms, UVM, University Mall, and Downtown Burlington's unique waterfront. Access to Lake Champlain is less then 1 mile. Sitting on six beautiful acres with a large outdoor pool. All room are non-smoking. Amenities include hairdryer, CCTV, and some refrigerators. All one level, park at you door. AAA and Mobile Guide Rated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your T-Bird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bird Hotel Shelburne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing