We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cleanest and quietest place we ever stayed”
Review of T-Bird Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
T-Bird Motor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The cleanest and quietest place we ever stayed”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We asked for a room on the back side of the motel. It was quiet and very peaceful.
The owners clearly go out of their way to keep the place spotless, inside and out. Plenty of supplies and towels, comfy beds and pillows. Heat and air worked perfectly. It was a pleasure to get a good night's sleep with no disturbances at all. We have never stayed anywhere that was cleaner or better smelling. Little things matter; the owners know this and do business accordingly.Very pleased with our experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, totally quiet with pretty lawn and trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1945pk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    32
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
41
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a clean, tidy motel on the highway 7 between Shelburne and Burlington VT. There is a pool, they charge a reasonable rate and have many discounts and coupons at hand for attractions in the area. Friendly staff.

One thing with this motel is there was a strong smell of cleaner in the room - an orange-y kind of smell. If you are very sensitive to scents this may be an issue, otherwise I got accustomed to it quickly and had a perfect sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We re-visited the T-Bird and were pleased to find it just as nice, friendly and clean as when we had stayed there 14 years ago. The pool was lovely and refreshing. The continental breakfast situation was a bit unusual- you have to go off-site to the Dutch Mill restaurant. But the coffee there was great and worth the walk. Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannLee413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollock Pines, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the T-Bird for just one night. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. The gentleman at the desk was very friendly and helpful, seems everybody in Vermont is friendly and helpful. They don't have morning coffee in the room, or the lobby. The recommendation is to go nearby, to The Dutch Mill for coffee, but they don't open until 7:30. I was very pleased to find Village Wine and Coffee less than a mile away, right along the highway (thanks tripadvisor). Their coffee was excellent. We had breakfast at The Dutch Mill and used the coupons for continental breakfast in exchange for an orange juice. so they are pretty useless.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaelB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

True, there was a cute little pool but the expectation that this would be "resort like" was wrong, wrong, wrong. The road it's on is very busy and the pricetag was a little high for a run-of-the-mill commercial strip motel. There was some sort of odd campground next door and the "continental breakfast" restaurant was a fair hike, but we gave it a try the first morning and I refused to return the next two mornings because it was very greasy and the woman was clearly upset that we had actually used the coupons the T-bird had supplied.

The HVAC was a problem. The wall unit AC was either freezing or the room was stuffy because the windows were on the floor and there was no way to open them and maintain privacy. Cleanliness was perfect, though.

All in all not a bad experience but disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_odomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here by chance one evening after driving by and being attracted to the shiny clean windows and inviting lighting. Used to Marriots and Hilton's when traveling we were a bit skeptical. The front desk clerk was very engaging, we asked to look at a room, he gave us keys to 2 rooms, one in the front and another around back, which we chose, it was a little newer and beds more comfortable. Of the many places we have stayed all over the world, this was without a doubt, one of the cleanest ever, comfi beds even though not the "dream beds" other hotels market, a true slice of Americana, well worth the stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent 2 nights at the TBird, and expected more. No coffee in the room or in the lobby. You have to walk next door to the restaurant to get a cup of coffee (which is also where the 'Continental Breakfast' is located, consisting of toast. Hardly any amenities in the bathroom, a tiny bottle of shampoo not big enough for 2 people to use, and tiny bars of soap. When the toilet flushed in the room next door (in the middle of the night), a loud screeching noise would follow. Highway noise very loud, since the rooms are only a few feet from the road. Wireless internet was only working sporadically. I wouldn't expect much more from a typical Motor Inn, and it did have some 1950s charm to it, but for the high price they charge, they should offer much more comfort to their guests...at least some coffee in the morning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building, it seemed newer and further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
5.0 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 12 in South Burlington
347 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
653 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#8 of 12 in South Burlington
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T-Bird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T-Bird Motor Inn

Property: T-Bird Motor Inn
Address: 4405 Shelburne Rd, Shelburne, VT 05482-6510
Region: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — T-Bird Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meticulously Clean and Well Maintained. Closest to the Historical Shelburne Museum, and Vermont Teddy Bear Factory. Just minutes to Shelburne Farms, UVM, University Mall, and Downtown Burlington's unique waterfront. Access to Lake Champlain is less then 1 mile. Sitting on six beautiful acres with a large outdoor pool. All room are non-smoking. Amenities include hairdryer, CCTV, and some refrigerators. All one level, park at you door. AAA and Mobile Guide Rated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your T-Bird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bird Hotel Shelburne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing