We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Lucky Discovery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rustic Roots

Rustic Roots
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rustic Roots a is chef-owned full service restaurant and features made-from-scratch breakfast and lunch, as well as early weekend dinners by reservation. We are located on the village green in the heart of Shelburne Village. For brunch: we are on a first-come, first served basis for groups smaller than 4. For groups of 4-7, reservations are recommended. We typically can not accommodate groups of 8 or more without making special arrangements in advance. During peak hours a wait should be expected. For dinner: we offer a single-seating early dinner on Friday & Saturday evenings only. Reservations strongly recommended for groups of all sizes- please call in advance! Private dining: please be aware that at times we do book hold private events in the evening. Any dates which conflict with our regular business hours will be posted to our website in advance.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Very Lucky Discovery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We just happened to pass Rustic Roots when we were searching for a place to have lunch in Shelburne. It was everything we could have hoped for and WAY more! The ambience was perfect and we were able to have a relaxed and easy visit while we enjoyed lunch. And WHAT a lunch! It has been a long while since I could both taste and see how very fresh the ingredients were. The salad was just the right balance of greens and a truly delicious sherry vinaigrette. The wraps were so fresh and homemade you wanted them to last all afternoon. The teas were imaginative and refreshing. All almost perfect. I'm looking forward to going back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    25
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Father's Day breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Two people in our party had a version of Eggs Benedict that was very tasty and two people had other specials. The sides of potatoes and caramelized onions that came with the breakfasts were delicious. I really liked the maple sausage. Coffee is served in nice glass coffee mugs. They will make gluten free substitutions for a small up charge. Several families had young children in booster seats there. I also noticed another customer's artistically presented Bloody Mary had a nice skewer of vegetables accompanying it. More comfortable chairs could improve the experience. The vegetable and flower artwork covering the walls was popping with color, and a fun visual to enjoy while waiting for our meals. The nicely presented and delicious food, and the creative decor make this a restaurant we will visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6Vermonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely, small, chef-owned cafe in the heart of Shelburne! Best breakfast/lunch ever...the bacon and sausages made in-house are yummy! And the rest of the menu is unique, varied and beautifully presented. Breakfast and lunch Wed.-Sun. til 3pm. Watch for evening events now and again through the summer/fall...small plates, or special dinners on the weekend!

Beginning this Saturday (May 31) you will also find Rustic Roots offering delicious crepes at Shelburne's outdoor Farmers' Market on the village green.

This place is a great addition to Shelburne's unique village character! A must for locals and those passing by!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolsm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Finally tried this restaurant for weekend brunch. It is small, about 7 tables, with parking in the back and a ramp for those who cannot climb the few steps in the front. We got there around 11 AM and it really filled up by noon so I recommend arrive early on the weekend. Atmosphere relaxed, is a small room with paintings on the walls and a bar area (in an old house) but appeared clean. Family friendly (there was a baby in a high chair near us.) Service was prompt and friendly, and they checked to make sure we had what we needed, and offered a refill on the iced tea. The menu had a good variety, from breakfast dishes to salads, sandwiches, crepes etc. Interesting drink options (infused iced teas) and presented beautifully with fresh lemon slices, strawberries and mint leaves. Cocktails (mimosa, bloody mary) and wines were also available. All the food was great. We had soup, salad, omelet, iced tea and a mimosa. The amount of food was plentiful and tasted fresh. Drinks were equally great. The food according to the menu is made from scratch with each order, with a warning that it may take time but I did not find we waited very long at all for our food. I thought the price was ok - was $38 for two of us - with the mimosa - although some might find that a bit steep. I will definitely come back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This you have to try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Chef owner and with a friendly staff the breakfast and lunch and brunch are all up to snuff, top shelf, all the offerings are not my personal taste, but the food offered is always a hit with my wife and my adult children its the place they want to go when in town to visit us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Podchhdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rustic Roots also viewed

 

Been to Rustic Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing