We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in your car”
Review of Countryside Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Countryside Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Shelburne
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A dump. Not pretty like the website. Small bathroom. Hard to breathe the air. Dirty under bed and behind furniture. Thin walls. Stove worked fine. Old. Needs update. Reviews must be 200 characters but I'm finished so just don't stay here unless you're really hard up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Countryside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Have been staying at this hotel since 2004. Used to be very clean and owned by an older VT couple While the new owners are very personable, it is clear they have invested the barest minimum its maintainence. The sheets don't fit the beds, if you turn over you see the bare mattress. The lamp beside my bed would not turn on unless I fiddled with the bulb. This time, there were bugs in the carpet and on the walls I came home with over a dozen insect bites.
The remote for the tv does not work The towels are terrible.
On the outside, the paint is peeling on the steps. The carpet is really worn. There are overflowing waste baskets outside some unit doors.
The mix of guests made me wonder if Countryside was turning into a welfare hotel. The state of VT gives families housing vouchers that allow them to stay in low-end motels for uo to 28 days. For example, It was clear that there was cooking for a large family wasbeing allowed. I saw at least two families with several young children. I could be mistaken, but.
The couple next door argued until 3:30 am. Needless to say,this was my last stay at Countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 499vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Room was clean enough and owners nice enough but druggies n creeps abound as guests. People constantly fighting in other rooms and location right next to Vermont teddy bear n near shelburne museum but not good for buses. I'd question safety here if u have kids. Not worth $300 a week

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ilovedebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Honestly, the only reason we stayed in this motel was because it was absolutely the last resort, no other hotels or motels anywhere near Burlington had availability. So we were happy to have a room, and it could have been worse. It was a large room, in a great location practically across the street from Shelburne Museum, for which staying at the motel gets you a nice discount! Also, they had a decent continental breakfast in the morning, which I totally wasn’t expecting. Everything else is on the negative side. The cleanliness was questionable; the sheets are paper thin and don’t fit the bed; the bathrooms are small, cramped and very old. Air conditioner was missing knobs and seemed about to expire at any moment. The towels are the cheapest possible quality and you get precious few of them. There was a pool, but you couldn't pay me to go in it. If at least this place was a bargain, I could recommend it on that score, but it was not. They need to either lower their prices or fix the place up.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2TTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

While it was obvious that whoever owned this motel were trying, the facilities were simply just too old and tired to be saved. There was an odor of old wood and decades of stale cigarette smoke that permeated not only our room but the entire motel. We bought two air fresheners but that didn't even mask the smell! On the positive side, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were clean, and there were hanging flower baskets outside each room. Staff was friendly. The room itself was very worn with dirt in the corners and grease on the air conditioner. There was an in-ground pool out back, but no hint of any chlorine in it. We could have lived with any of these drawbacks except for the smell. They would do just as well to tear the place down and rebuild, especially considering that their nightly rate came close to what we ended up paying at a Holiday Inn Express. We had planned to stay there 4 nights, but ended up changing hotels after the 1st night.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hakeedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This motel is conveniently located, but that's about it. They claim the rooms are all non smoking, but then they open all the windows and put ash trays and folding chairs infront of the rooms. So all the smoke flows right in the rooms!! Even the handle of the blow drier smelled of smoke (or my hand did after using it)
The beds were comfortable, but wobbly, and the sheets didn't cover the body, either you covered your feet or the top of the blanket that the previous hundred lodgers used, but not both. No fitted sheets, when getting into bed, everything pulls out and you make the bed again.
The airconditioner is filled with dust and lint, the bathrooms have mold or mildew, ugh. We ended up with a room with new carpeting after complaining and seeing four different rooms. New carpet smell was better than smoke. There are lots of motels, if you are a non smoker, try a different one.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katheniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Nice room with access to the porch with good views across the Champlain Valley. Convenient out of town location with easy access. The staff couldn't be more helpful, even enquiring whether I was having breakfast on one morning to ensure I didn't miss it (I'd made other arrangements for that day). Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
365 reviews
4.4 mi away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 12 in South Burlington
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
763 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heart of the Village Inn
Heart of the Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryside Motel

Address: 6475 Shelburne Rd, PO Box 277, Shelburne, VT 05482-4400
Region: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Shelburne
Price Range: £46 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing