We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot in Vermont farm country”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shoreham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quiet Valley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Shoreham B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot in Vermont farm country”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Beautiful house in Vermont farm country; Bruce and Jane were warm and welcoming; the breakfast omelet, with Cabot cheese, fresh basil and tomatoes, was scrumptious. Also the croissants, applesauce, jam..outstanding food in peaceful, picturesque country, with friendly smiles.

Room Tip: shared bathrooms was large and spacious; was not our first choice but worked out fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We would not stay again at this B&B. Guests were seated in the kitchen for breakfast and conversation was often interrupted by our hosts. Rooms were large but not overly clean. A large living room was full of more than furniture and not available for guests so there was no place to gather at all. The setting was lovely and the food was very good but generally it was a sub par experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quietvalley, Owner at Quiet Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to share your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing a personalized, relaxing vacation experience in charming accommodations that feel like home away from home. As my wife noted on the phone with you, we are terribly sorry that you didn’t feel that your stay was special, and we would welcome the opportunity to remedy that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I booked the Quiet Valley B and B for one night while attending an event at Middlebury College, a picturesque 10 minute drive through farms and valleys.
Bruce and Jane took sumptuous care of me, and made me feel like a family member in their house. Delicious blueberry pancakes, sausage, home made zuchhini bread and endless dark good coffee....home cooked and better than home (and I am a cook!)
The bedrooms were lovely, light, and a beautiful charming bathroom spilling sunlight everywhere.
Vermont soaps, maple syrup, and friendship....I would go back in a heartbeat!
And when you leave drive around the backcountry dirt roads and you will see the America from yesteryear, lovely farms and woods, just beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeagueLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We made an upcoming reservation to stay at the Quiet Valley B&B while we are visiting VT for our best friends wedding in June. My husband put the deposit in the mail and we were excited about our time away. A few weeks before our trip, we get a call from Jane, the innkeeper, telling us that she has CANCELED our reservation and her family was coming to stay instead. Really??? My husband and I were so upset and concerned. We DO NOT and would NEVER do business that way. If you take a reservation for someone flying half way across the country to visit your area, you DO NOT cancel on them, PERIOD. If you make a commitment to someone, you DO NOT break it. How dare these people?! And now we are left without a reservation and no where to stay. We have called all over the area with no luck of finding anything available. This means we are going to have to stay miles out of our way. This has put a sour taste in our mouth. Such an inconvenience and we are so terribly disappointed in this Bed and Breakfast. I sure do hope they never treat anyone like they did us ever again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KylieC455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quietvalley, Owner at Quiet Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I can understand your frustration and am truly sorry that we were forced to cancel your reservation one month before your planned stay. We'd never had to do that before, nor have we done it since. We are a family-owned business operating our of our home and unfortunately had to deal with a family emergency. I sincerely hope that you were able to make suitable, alternative arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Bruce and Jane were wonderful hosts at their beautiful property! The landscape is gorgeous and the rooms have a great "home-like" feel. Jane's homemade applesauce, blueberry bread and pancakes were absolutely delicious! The location is very close to Middlebury, so it's quite convenient for those visiting the college. And the warm hospitality makes for a great stay! I definitely hope to return on my next visit to Vermont!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A nice B&B in a private home in Shoreham, 10 minutes from Middlebury. You get a tasty full-breakfast, and the hosts are congenial and helpful. There is a nice fireplaced lounging area, and a deck in the summer. We enjoyed the walking trails through a lovely meadow. The rates are reasonable. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. One has private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2011

From the moment I called Jane, there was no turning back. She was so nice, and I can't wait to return. The rooms were so cozy, and we woke up to coffee and homemade blueberry muffins and applesauce by the huge fireplace. Great trails to the river that runs through the ~50 acre property. There are some places that are closer to town, but this place more than made up for it with its charm.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be equally comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockymountainbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoreham
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
217 reviews
2.7 mi away
Shoreham Inn
Shoreham Inn
#1 of 3 in Shoreham
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
266 reviews
9.2 mi away
Super 8 Ticonderoga
Super 8 Ticonderoga
#2 of 6 in Ticonderoga
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quiet Valley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quiet Valley Bed and Breakfast

Property: Quiet Valley Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1467 Quiet Valley Rd, Shoreham, VT 05770-9598
Region: United States > Vermont > Shoreham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shoreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10-Minute drive from Middlebury College. Cozy home surrounded by rolling hills, the Lemon Fair River, and nothing but stars at night. Set on fifty gently rolling acres in the orchard country of Shoreham, VT, near the shores of Lake Champlain. Just ten minutes from the bustling town of Middlebury and Middlebury College, Quiet Valley B&B is perfect for visiting students, College parents or returning alumni. Enjoy a healthy breakfast of homemade muffins, bread, granola and seasonal fruit in our country style kitchen overlooking the Green Mountains. Activities abound in close proximity to our property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quiet Valley Bed And Breakfast Shoreham, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing