We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely home and rooms!”
Review of Crisanver House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crisanver House
Ranked #1 of 2 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely home and rooms!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in September. The rooms are simply gorgeous! The staff were outstanding in every regard to include letting me watch the Thursday Night NFL Kickoff game in the comfort of the downstairs TV room. Breakfast was always with local produce and the pumpkin pancakes were a delight. The Maple syrup was to die for. We loved staying here and would book again in a heartbeat. My wife especially loved the porch which provided some lovely sunset views. We ate dinner here one night and it was a delicious four course meal with local ingredients some of which were from their garden. Truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_Hendricks_author
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Hard to find, went up a mountain on a dirt road....and entered Shangrala. This is one of the most beautiful, well kept, elegant B&B's we have ever stayed at. On over100 acres, the propery contains a swing pool, tennis court, bocci, shuffleboard and beautiful, meticulously maintained gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazebo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I know there are a lot of B&Bs in Vermont, and I of course have not stayed in many of them, but Crisanver House is superb and I highly recommend it. We stayed in one the cottages, which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. And the breakfasts! Wow. Carol and her team do a a great job taking care of their guests. Yes, it's on the expensive side, but worth it. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: I recommend one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 389davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at many BnBs across North America, but none took quite the care and attention to detail as The Crisanver House. The beautiful 200+ year home was tastefully and well reconditioned to it's current splendor. Moreover, we were blown away by how kind and wonderful our hosts were and could not ask for a better stay anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artandvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

If we had a place like this we'd keep it to ourselves. Crisanver House is idyllic, the setting is beautiful the only noise you can hear after a very busy day are the leaves falling off the trees. We thought one of it's benefits is it's so far away from "civilisation" we had dinner there on each of our 3 nights. Met some really lovely people, big dining room table seated 10 of us, some Brits, some Dutch, some Americans and of course some Californians !!!!
The food was exceptional and a wide selection of inexpensive wines, Carol and her staff looked after us very well, just wish we could have stayed a little longer

Muriel and Gerry

Room Tip: They are all warm and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daven2010, Owner at Crisanver House, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
our thanks for the very nice "best of the best" comments by our guests about their stay at Crisanver House. While we are gratified, it also set a high bar to maintain which Carol & I are dedicated to always provide a special Vermont experience.

Many Thanks,
Crisanver House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Wonderful setting, beautiful rooms, friendly hosts. Hope to return to take advantage of dining.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyoftheGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I would gladly return to the welcoming Crisanver House nestled in the Green Mountains of Vermont. On the first evening of our anniversary trip in May, my husband and I were weary from our long drive of sightseeing. Carol, one of the owners, warmly greeted us and served us a generous portion of mouth watering cheddar cheese and tasty crackers. We sat on the long deck and watched a spectacular sunset as I sipped a delicious Pinot Noir from their wine selection. The beautifully renovated historic home was so spacious and private. The staff put us at ease serving delicious breakfasts that appealed to the eyes as well as the palette. Don't be hesitant to ask the owner any questions about places to visit and experience. Carol is an endless fund of information!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabethelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shrewsbury
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
16.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
263 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
10.1 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crisanver House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crisanver House

Property: Crisanver House
Address: 1434 Crown Point Rd, Shrewsbury, VT 05738-9675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crisanver House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance at our Vermont inn, nestled in the glorious Green Mountains. Enjoy the comforts of home while we provide exceptional hospitality. Choose from one of our deluxe cottages for your getaway, complete with modern amenities and luxurious linens. Nestled on 120 acres, you can explore the hiking trails, pond, forests, and gardens surrounding our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Crisanver House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crisanver House Shrewsbury, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing