We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic HI: good but not excepyional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Burlington
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Classic HI: good but not excepyional”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Holiday Inn is my 'go to' place on travels, so I have seen quite a few of them. I went to this one as a result of a weather emergency and found a quiet,comfortable warm room at a reasonable rate. The Inn itself is very accessible being quite near the I 89 and is a few minutes drive to downtown Burlington. The inn has all the amenities one would hope for including a business center which provides computers for checking email or other needs. Also of note in the room is complimentary K cup coffee, microwave and fridge, plus a sanitary TV remote system which management must be commended for. The restaurant is quite satisfactory for ordinary needs offering simple sandwiches to quite elaborate dinners at competitive prices. As an aside, the bar offers many beers on tap with a good selection of local beers which are very good.
The layout of the inn can lead to quite long walks to get to your room.
I suspect that this is a fairly old property, because it is showing its age in little ways. The elevator door rumbles and wheezes and the amenities are showing signs of minor 'chip and dent' The bathroom was a bit spare, but was clean and fully supplied.
This hotel has a very good staff ... but then again, I am always well received in Vermont
A very satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear tedhanneman,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of your recent visit to our hotel. I am happy you were able to enjoy our amenities while you were stranded in our town. Sorry about the noisy elevator we will have our maintenance folks look into this. I hope your next visit will be in a kinder season.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    164
    112
    50
    21
See reviews for
109
129
31
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
663 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We visit the Burlington area every summer or fall. We stayed at this hotel because it was close to Shelburne and Burlington. Everything was very good at the hotel. It is similar to most Holiday Inn hotels. The room was comfortable and the service was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Radmrjg,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your visit with us. We are happy you enjoy staying with us each year and look forward to your return this summer.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierrefonds, QC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I booked this hotel because of the price, proximity to University Mall and after reading online reviews which were favourable. I was particularly impressed because someone responded to most of the reviews. I was in South Burlington with my family for 3 days for a mid-winter shopping stint. The staff, particularly, the front desk was friendly and very helpful as mentioned in the reviews. I like the fact that most Holiday Inn locations keep this high level of customer service throughout the world. We enjoyed the pool and sauna. The latter may need a revamp as it was showing its age. We did not use the in-house restaurant as there were so many choices around like the Outback, Olive Garden, The Windjammer.... The room was adequate and comfortable on the second floor. We selected a quieter room facing the outdoor pool because one review recommended to avoid rooms facing the highway for the noise. Pros: a Keuring coffee machine and a charging pod between the twin beds with 4 AC and 2 USB ports for all your portables! Cons: Not enough room for hanging closet and drawers, small bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the outdoor pool in winter are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Duncan M,

Thank you for your glowing review. Our staff does a wonderful job of taking care of each guest as if they were family. I am happy you were able to enjoy our amenities and surrounding area and hopefully next time you will have the opportunity to enjoy our restaurant. Safe travels to you and your family.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The staff made my experience! The front desk, houseskeeping, and restaurant staff went way above standard customer service. I wished I could have stayed longer to take advantage of all the cool facilities - pool, gym, restaurant, office centre, coffee and fireplace in the lobby - what more could you need? there's even a starbucks next door. I got room service from the restaurant and the food was excellent. The cleanliness factor was...ok...I had to call to get another iron because some crusty stuff was coming out of mine. The ceiling in the shower was...interesting. But overall great experience and would stay again - especially with the excellent deal I got on Priceline.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear ColaF,

Thank you for your great review. We are happy that you had the opportunity to let us serve you while you were in Burlington and that you had to chance to enjoy our facility. I am sorry about the iron in your room and hope that we got you a new one quickly. I hope your travels will bring back very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Overall, a pleasent stay. We were greeted, checked in, and given a list of possible places to go to throughout the weekend by the hotel clerk. The lobby is updated with a lovely fireplace and the amenities (pool, sauna, etc.) were clean and well kept. Our room, however, could have used a few touch ups but we aren't picky and thought it was just fine. The location was better than expected. We saved about $100 a night staying at the Holiday Inn rather than at a downtown hotel and the drive was only about 4 minutes. Saturday night, we wandered into the restaurant bar before our night out and we were pleasently surprised. The bartender (JoAnne possibly?) was absolutely wonderful; she is truly a great addition to the hotel. Actually, all of the staff we encountered were friendly. Our weekend went quickly and overall we were very satisfied with the hotel. If we were to visit Burlington again, there is no reason we wouldn't choose the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyjom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Rubyjom,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy you were able to enjoy your time with us especially JoAnn, she is wonderful! We look forward to your quick return to our area.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just ok. The hotel is a bit tired. Could do with a good vacuum round the edges! But it was fine for a pit stop and we had booked a secret hotel rate on hotwire so can't complain at $73 for the night. My sister who was traveling with us had asked for a very quiet room but they put her in a room looking onto the highway. Said there were no others even though when we checked in they said they were not busy. Go figure ... It was dine for what we needed but not sparkling ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Colin040,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit with us. I am sorry you and your family were not able to truly relax and that we were unable to honor your sisters request. I would like to discuss this with you if you have a moment. Feel free to reach out to me directly with your contact information, my email address is virginia@innvermont.com. I look forward to speaking with you.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Clean and convenient with an on-site restaurant (there are also other restaurants within an easy drive). My room was spotless, right down to the sanitized TV remote control unit! The room also featured a Keurig coffee maker, and a generous collection of soaps, shampoos and so on. The staff was quite friendly and the chocolate chip cookies at check-in were a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaA794, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Sparky1954,

Thank you very much for your outstanding review! I also enjoy the "Clean Remotes" and wish more hotels used them. We hope your travels bring you back to our location very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
1,003 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Burlington

Property: Holiday Inn Burlington
Address: 1068 Williston Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-5718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel, in Vermont's scenic Champlain Valley, is a centrally-located, full service hotel. Only minutes from Lake Champlain or the Green Mountains, we are located off exit 14E on Interstate 89 at the junction with U.S. Route 2. The Burlington International Airport is a short one mile ride in our 24-hour courtesy shuttle. Just one block from our front door, is Vermont's largest shopping mall, the University Mall. The award-winning, historic, Church Street Marketplace is a five minute drive from the hotel. The Fletch Allen Medical Center, University of Vermont, Saint Michael's and Champlain College are all less than 5 minutes from the hotel. Traveling with children, if so kids 12 and under eat for free. In addition, the Hotel is close to the ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, Lake Champlain Chocolate Factory, the Shelburne Museum, the Flynn Theater, Vermont Teddy Bear Company, Champlain Valley Fair Grounds and other local area attractions. The Ben and Jerry s Ice Cream Factory is a 25 minute drive.Any time of the year, if you are traveling on business or exploring Vermont, make the Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel South Burlington
Burlington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn South Burlington
South Burlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing