We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in South Burlington
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This is a below average hotel. I'm a priority club elite member and travel a lot. This is a property I wouldn't stay at again. The front desk staff is nice but that's about the only thing nice there. It reminded me more of a low budget hotel......not that there's anything wrong with them....but I don't stay at them. The rooms are WAY over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powerpackperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear powerpackperk,

I apologize that your stay with us failed to meet your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff as we take all feedback into consideration as we move forward.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    167
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
128
151
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms were damp and there was mold in the bathroom. Place is worn and unclean. Location was too far from burlington. Not a good hotel. I would not stay again . My first and last hie . There were not many to choose in burlington but you will find better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdr138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear sdr138,

I apologize that our hotel fell below your expectations. I will share your review with our staff. We take all customer comments into consideration as we move forward. I hope you will give us another opportunity as I can assure you that this is not a normal experience at our property.

Regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Burlington hotels

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is an old hotel that has not been renovated or refurnished in a while. The tiles in the showers were mouldy, the shower curtains do not look like they get changed that often... and the place feels like it is only cleaned in surface. On the good side, we did have good service, and the breakfast buffet was nice, lots of choices and was constantly replenished. The location is good, there is lots of parking, and the price is nice, but don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Souze,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express South Burlington. I apologize that your experience did not exceed your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff as we take all guest comments into consideration as we strive for perfection.

Regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We visited in April and I must first say that the front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming. It is challenging to get in and out of the parking lot with a divided road location. The rooms are tastefully decorated. Minor maintenance is needed in a few areas, but nothing that would prevent me from staying at this Holiday Inn when we return to the area. They do have a hearty breakfast which was wonderful, but the food assistant didn't have everything in place at the start of the morning. He was working hard to set it up, but it appears that additional help was needed or an earlier start-up time for their breakfast preparation was needed. We more than appreciate the non-smoking environment, and always search for non-smoking hotels. A big thank-you for all your hard-working staff members. We look forward to staying here again on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellaca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Bellaca P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words. Our staff will be pleased to hear that all of their hard work was acknowledged. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Burlington area.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I spent seven nights at this hotel during a business trip. As with all Burlington hotels during summer, the place was packed to the gills. The room they gave me was situated against a stairwell and I was woken up several times per night as a result. The AC unit in my room was super noisy, clanging to life like a steam locomotive engine. Five of the seven days I stayed there, there were no eggs left at breakfast by 7:30 AM. The staff was able to move me to a quieter room for my last few nights. Also, there was no fridge in my room when I checked in. I had to ask for one.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room on the side of the hotel that faces the woods or you'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zogness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Zogness,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize that the a/c unit and the room location did not meet your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff as we continually strive for perfection.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Burlington for three nights, two at holiday inn express and one night at the Hilton downtown.
We benefitted from Priceline for a deal on both hotels, but believe it or not, this holiday inn express has a better pool area and their breakfast is included, as is their wifi.....so a way better deal at holiday inn express

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear D S,

Thank you for the Trip Advisor review. We appreciate your kind words. Hope to see you on your next trip to the Burlington, VT area.

Warmest Regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We reserved this hotel through my IHG Reward program and the final price was just amazing ($40 + points). The disappointment was that our room was at the far end of the hotel and we had to take 2 separateds elevators each time. Room was old but clean and eveyrthing fonctionnal. The air conditionning was loud and could be more accurate, but it was ok. Breakfeast was correct, we had more choice at other Holiday Inn Express.
At the end it was on OK choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beauga01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Beauga01,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and take all comments into consideration as we continually strive for perfection. Thank you again for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards member.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#6 of 11 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#9 of 11 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Address: 1720 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Burlington hotel offers great location in beautiful Vermont. Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel of South Burlington. Our convenient Vermont hotel is located just minutes from Lake Champlain, bustling downtown Burlington, and the Burlington International Airport. When you're ready to travel, our South Burlington, VT hotel offers a free 24-hour shuttle service to the Burlington International Airport (BVT). In addition to being convenient to the Burlington airport, our hotel is also near many businesses such as GE Healthcare, University of Vermont, St. Michael's College, General Dynamics and Goodrich. Both business and leisure travelers love to stay at our 100% Non-Smoking hotel in South Burlington as it's located less than five miles away from many of Vermont's best attractions including the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Farms, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and Church St. Market Place. Other popular area attractions include the University Mall, Cairns Arena, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, Stowe, and Sugarbush Ski Resorts. During your visit to Vermont, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, hot tub, saunas, and fitness center, and try our complimentary 'Smart Start' breakfast bar featuring the exclusive Holiday Inn Express Cinnamon Rolls, eggs, and sausage or bacon daily. Book your Burlington vacation at this Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn South Burlington
Holiday Inn Express South Burlington
Comfort Inn South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing