We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good. Some eh.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Hope, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Some good. Some eh.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited our son for Father's Day weekend and had a hard time finding a decent price. We got a good hotwire deal and ended up here. We found this hotel to have some good things and some not so good.
Pros: Rooms are very clean and updated, though a tad small. We only slept there so this wasn't an issue for us. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. Breakfast is included and it is fairly decent for a hotel breakfast, though I think Hampton Inn does a better job of it. We did not use the pool or hot tub but it looked very clean and well kept. Lobby staff is friendly.
Cons: The breakfast staff was not attentive during the breakfast time despite a full hotel. Both mornings I had to ask for forks, pancake machine refill, coffee lids, half and half, omelettes because they had run out. Though I always saw two people on duty, they were in their little breakfast room chatting instead of cruising the food and drink tables looking for things that needed refilling. We were in the breakast room at 8 am each morning and the staff really should have been on top of all of this.
Our room key would not work on our second day and our room was the furthest room from the lobby (518). We made the trudge down and we were told our key had only been programmed for one day, even though we were staying two. ??? Bad business.
We usually stay at the Hampton Inn in the area but could not get a good rate that weekend. We'd stay at the HIE again but only if the Hampton was not an option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear seedlady,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize that our breakfast area fell below your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff as we take all guest comments to heart.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    172
    129
    42
    21
See reviews for
130
157
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is just fine for a short stay, whether on vacation or on business. It is very clean (like Swiss-style clean). The staff is helpful; and the breakfast is adequate for the reason that it is complimentary. One of the main attractions for staying at this hotel is the Lake View Restaurant -- just steps away in front of the hotel. One can have a very nice meal there, and if you imbibe spirits or a nice wine at dinner (I tried the Pinot Gris from Oregon which was excellent), then no need to worry about having a designated driver. You just walk back to your spacious room with its HD TV. The only tricky thing about staying at this hotel is that the corridors have many twists and turn to find your room -- I stayed on the 4th floor and had to take two lifts (elevators) to get to my room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Northern1941,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the Lakeview House Restaurant located adjacent to the hotel. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This motel is super clean; has a great staff, and good hot breakfast. The rooms are neat and very comfortable. The location is convenient for anything in the upper Champlain Valley. We chose a room identified as " disablities accessible" in order to meet our needs. I am not sure the room meets ADA standards. It was on the fourth floor and 91 steps from the elevator. To get to the breakfast room was over 150 steps to another elevator that serviced the breakfast area. The bathroom had been retrofitted with wall bars. The toilet was not the 17 to 19 inch high generally placed for handicapped people. The tub had a high side, no bench, and a standerd fixed head shower. The sink would not allow a guest in a wheelchair to access it. Fortunately, we were able to survive due to the nature of our disability.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear David K,

I am happy to hear that the room cleanliness, breakfast, and staff met your expectations. I apologize that the room location and set up failed to meet your expectations. I hope to see you in the future and allow us to not only meet but exceed those shortcomings.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was our 4th stay in Burlington and we found this hotel to be very clean and comfortable. Our room was a few floors up on the side overlooking the hotel parking lot. It was actually a nice view out to green space and even out towards the lake. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful and our king room was clean and well laid out. The hotel has a bright and sunny indoor pool area but it was usually pretty busy with families. They have a nice breakfast room and breakfast was included. This was very busy too but we took advantage of it the last day we were there. We found this hotel quieter than the others where we had stayed before. Even though it is located a little further south of the university it was still just a few minutes drive from shopping areas and Church Street. It was nice to hear birds instead of highway traffic. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: There was a couple of tractor-trailer transport trucks who left their engines running for most of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Margot D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. They will appreciate hearing the acknowledgement of all of their hard work. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Every time I come back to Burlington I will always stay here. Excellent service, clean rooms, and has a nice restaurant as well. Also, very close to Magic Hat Brewery. I would highly suggest staying here if you are coming to Burlington area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Kenny222_13,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The staff will be happy to hear your high praise and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

my son & I had a very pleasant stay. the personal was all right. the room was as described. the hotel is neat. breakfast was o.k. did not use the pool, too many people in it... thank you for asking...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Anny T,

I am happy to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully the pool will be a little less busy on your next visit. It is a very popular amenity here. Thanks for the review and hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here as it is reasonably priced for a family with a young child. We have a infant and we have never been let down with the crib standards. The crib was ready fr us when we entered the room.

We arrived to a clean room, a nice comfy king sized bed (bonus!) in a lovely big room. This was perfect for us with a baby who needed the space to crawl and stretch their legs. The toilet was immaculate and it was the perfect hot shower you needed after a long drive. It is luxurious, but it definitely felt like it! The only thing I would have to say is that we were kept in the 'family' section, as we could hear through the walls and we definitely heard a few kids all around us. It didn't bother us for long as you just forgot about it.

Breakfast is pretty standard to all the Holiday Express chains, a hot and cold buffet style was available. It was always kept well stocked and the breakfast room was kept clean.

I would highly recommend staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keshala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear keshala,

Thank you for the review. I appreciate you kind remarks. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as a reward for all of their hard work and dedication to ensuring our guest have a memorable experience.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,357 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
671 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 12 in South Burlington
347 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Address: 1720 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Burlington hotel offers great location in beautiful Vermont. Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel of South Burlington. Our convenient Vermont hotel is located just minutes from Lake Champlain, bustling downtown Burlington, and the Burlington International Airport. When you're ready to travel, our South Burlington, VT hotel offers a free 24-hour shuttle service to the Burlington International Airport (BVT). In addition to being convenient to the Burlington airport, our hotel is also near many businesses such as GE Healthcare, University of Vermont, St. Michael's College, General Dynamics and Goodrich. Both business and leisure travelers love to stay at our 100% Non-Smoking hotel in South Burlington as it's located less than five miles away from many of Vermont's best attractions including the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Farms, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and Church St. Market Place. Other popular area attractions include the University Mall, Cairns Arena, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, Stowe, and Sugarbush Ski Resorts. During your visit to Vermont, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, hot tub, saunas, and fitness center, and try our complimentary 'Smart Start' breakfast bar featuring the exclusive Holiday Inn Express Cinnamon Rolls, eggs, and sausage or bacon daily. Book your Burlington vacation at this Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn South Burlington
Holiday Inn Express South Burlington
Comfort Inn South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing