We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but bad noise issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but bad noise issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The overall appearance of the hotel was very nice, and the staff seemed very friendly and courteous. The rooms are of a generous size, but keep in mind you have to walk through the bedroom to get to the bathroom. There are 2 TVs, which is a nice touch, but why does hotel TV picture quality always look so bad?? LOL.

Location was just okay. It was only a 7-8 minute drive to downtown Burlington, but the hotel itself is in the middle of a bunch of strip malls. I guess this can be convenient in one sense, but is not picturesque at all, if that's what you're looking for. Also, the hotel is located on a busy road, so be sure to ask for a room on the inside of the property if road noise bothers you.

The breakfast was nice, but was VERY crowded and chaotic with families (see below) and seating was limited. The staff seemed to be doing a good job of keeping up with it, and in their defense it is not the hotel's fault that kids were not being supervised. (We were traveling with a baby and a preschooler and made an extra effort to keep them on a short leash)

During the weekend we were there, there seemed to be some kind of kids soccer tournament happening nearby, so the hotel was PACKED with families and pre-teen kids. These kids were running around the hallways a lot, and making a lot of noise. I understand that kids will be kids, and luckily it ended by 10:00pm or so. However, any noises in the hallway, including conversations, were SO loud in our room. They were louder than they would have been if the people were actually talking in our room! I think it had something to do with the cheap metal doors on the rooms, which seemed to amplify any and all hallway sounds.

Our room was at the end of, and perpendicular to, the hallway, so that may have been a factor, and was also right next to the elevator AND the stairs, but you'd think the hotel would do something extra for such rooms to reduce noise. It was pretty insufferable at times.

The pool was nice, but could be a little dirty. I saw several blobs of hair floating in it during one of our swims. Again, it seemed to be a full house, so it's probably hard to keep up.

It would also have been nice to offer more kids activities, or just give them a coloring book or something upon check in. It seems to be a popular hotel for families, so a playground or game room would be a nice addition.

Overall, it was nice place, but try to avoid it when they're at full capacity, or do some research and plan your trip when there are no events happening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard, or for one not overlooking the road. Also, definitely ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisscott11, General Manager at Green Mountain Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Greetings from your friends at the Green Mountain Suites Hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very proud to be recognized as the #1 Hotel in South Burlington by tripadvisor.com and valued guests like you that take the time to leave us such wonderful reviews. We are sorry to hear of the noise issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. We encourage parents of younger children to be considerate of their fellow guests so as to mitigate noise issues in the hotel. We will continue to work harder on this as we want to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience during their time with us.

We hope the next time your travels bring you to the greater Burlington area, you will once again give us the opportunity to serve you and your family

Thank you for being a valued guest. Take care and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Christopher M. Scott
General Manager
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    179
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
287
176
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We missed our flight at Burlington Airport and called Green Mountain based on the Trip Advisor reviews and am glad we did! Everyone was exceptionally attentive and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. The room was fantastic as was the fireside reception! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Newer hotel suite with craftsman curb appeal. Front desk was very friendly and made check in quick and easy as well as giving a good suggestion for a late lunch. Suite was well laid out with laminate flooring in the kitchen, dinette and living space. Carpet in bedroom and tile in bath. Suite was in great condition, no dents, stains or nicks. Bed was comfy, room was clean, breakfast had many choices. Easy drive to the waterfront and close to the airport. Newer shops close by for anything you need. Negatives: put more Downey in your towels. Also, since the hotel is not set back from Dorset street, loud motorcycles can disturb you...ask for a room on the inside. Would stay here again...reasonable rate as we prepaid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Chose from Tripadvisor reviews. What a delight after our previous nights experience. Very professional, friendly and helpful staff. Very nice spacious suite, laundry room - we have been travelling for a while!!
The evening we were there they had a complimentary BBQ and drinks, seems to be a regular occurrence. Very good breakfast, hot and cold included in the very reasonable rate.

Would happily have stayed longer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Definitely would come back! From the moment I arrived everything was so warm and welcoming. From the towering fireplace in the lobby to the thick, luxurious bedding in my suite, this place is a wonderful retreat! Full Vermont breakfast each morning, eggs, bacon, sausage, you name it. Coffee 24/7 in the lobby. Pet friendly. Great place!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridgette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We got here at 1pm Sunday after driving 29 hours. We walk in with our 3 dogs too and they find us a room. Not just a room but a beautiful room. 2 full beds and 1 pull out sofa bed. The people who work here are excellent. Monday through Friday free dinner from 5 to 7 and free huge breakfast everday. Not continental, but a real hot breakfast. This place is amazing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jrlastres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Green Mountain Suites Hotel is a must see hotel. The room are clean, hotel staff very professional and the hotel is very quiet. Rooms are large with a great look. I will recommended this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sychenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
2.3 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Property: Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Address: 401 Dorset St., South Burlington, VT 05403
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Mountain Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the charm of a Boutique Vermont Country Inn The Green Mountain Suites Hotel has been recognized by savvy travelers from all corners of the globe for award winning service, premium amenities and impeccable accommodations. As the only independent all-suite Hotel in the Burlington area, we are proud to offer our guests a truly genuine Vermont experience that is second to none. Each finely appointed one- and two-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room and separate bedroom(s). Our Fireplace and Jacuzzi suites are popular with guests looking for something a little more special during their stay with us. Each morning, wake up to our Fireside Breakfast, where you'll find delicious omelets, maple sausage, bacon, pancakes, and healthy options including a yogurt bar, fresh fruit, oatmeal, and much more. Each weeknight, wind down after a long day at our popular Fireside Reception, with a selection of domestic and local craft beers and wines, paired with a delicious meal. Other featured amenities include WIFI, Exercise Facility, Fire Pit & Barbeque Courtyard and indoor Swimming Pool & Jacuzzi. All of these premium amenities and services are included for no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Green Mountain Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel South Burlington
Hawthorn Suites South Burlington
Green Mountain South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing