We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Stay !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
A TripAdvisor Member
New Haven, CT
13
Reviewed 11 May 2005

This hotel is absolutely terrible. This hotel has major drug problems, including a BIG heroin bust that took place during our stay. When we arrived the front desk, the clerk barely spoke english and was very unhelpful. There were ants crawling all around the bathroom floor, the balcony was covered with cigarette butts, the hot water was not working on numerous occasions. Another problem was their hot tub, this thing must be from the early 80's. It was never hot, the jets didnt work and no one ever could help us fix it!! I wouldn't reccomend this place to anyone, i'd rather stay at Motel 6

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2004

I cannot believe how dirty this room was and they charged us for it. We stayed in the old building and even though I TOLD management about how dirty it was, they never did anything about it. The fact that the University has it on their list is a shame. There is no reason for the dirt and mold and stains.

2  Thank TravelPrincess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHQA, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We apologize that your stay with us was unsatisfactory and you found our rooms dirty. We can assure you that under new management the cleanliness of our property is not an issue and we thank you for bringing it to our attention so we could make the correct adjustments. We look forward to having you visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2004

The main building may be much better. The older two story building was mediocre. The bathroom was small and the shower doors had dirt in the tracks. There were people partying next door and we didn't get any sleep between 2:45 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. - the walls are paper thin. The sliding glass door didn't lock on one of the rooms, however, they sent someone immediately when I called the front desk. Most of the staff are quite friendly. The main building looked much better. I would rate it 1 1/2 stars, but that choice wasn't available.

Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHQA, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for our property. We apologize that your stay with us wasn’t 100% satisfactory but we assure you that your experience has helped us bring to light the things that we need to work on. We are delighted to hear that you found our front desk accommodating and friendly. We believe that a solid staff is something pertinent to a hotel running smoothly and the crew we have now is wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
11
Reviewed 18 July 2004

The motel has two buildings, the main building and a older building next door with cheaper rooms. I suspect that the people who liked the place stayed in the main building like I did. The motel has reasonable rates and decent rooms. The bagels at breakfast were a step above the frozen bagels some places have.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHQA, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Thank you very much for writing a pleasant review of our hotel. We are delighted that you found our hotel accommodating and satisfactory. We strive to please every guest and we are glad to hear that you found our breakfast appetizing and were pleased with the bagels. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Vermont area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2004

We stayed here last night. Great price on a great room. We stayed in the newer part. The older part does look very old and dirty. Our room was spacious and clean and very quiet. The breakast was good (bagels, cereal, many flavours of coffee and juices). If you want to stay here most definitely request the newer section. A must!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4-2tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 1 June 2004

Stayed in 'older' part of the hotel. Was thankful that the room was so dark so I could not see how really filthy the room was. There was no working dead bolt on the door and there were two plastic buckets at the end of the hall full of stagnant water from a ceiling leak. All the amenities seem to be available only in the newer building.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Carmel, Ny
11
Reviewed 13 January 2004

We first stayed here 9/02 while visiting nearby colleges. We were delighted, as we were the next visit in spring 03. The last 2 times we were dissapointed. The management is great, they are moving rapidly on upgrading. (The review about the dirty rooms must have stayed in the old Ho Jo part of the hotel. The renovated part is really nice, hence the other reviews!) What we could not tolerate is the paper thin walls.
We were next to the laundry room once but it was our fault we didn't ask to move. We just came back yesterday and we had some wierdo that turned on the tv at 4:45am and started cooking(burning) in the microwave. Hard to sleep with infomercials going. We had to call a plumber twice and for backed up toilet that shouldn't have backed up...
The fresh baked cookies at dinner hour are delicious along with free coffee 24/7 and continental breakfast included. The price can't be beat but there is no fan to turn on full time to keep the noise out. If you don't mind that, it is a really nice place for the value. Always ask for the New section of the hotel. IMPORTANT!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#10 of 12 in South Burlington
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
1,014 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bur...
#8 of 12 in South Burlington
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington

Address: 3 Dorset St, South Burlington, VT 05403-6232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#5 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: £80 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel on 9-acre setting, located off I-89 exit 14E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington Hotel South Burlington
Comfort Inn And Suites South Burlington
University Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn South Burlington
University Inn Suites Burlington
South Burlington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing