We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smart Suites Burlington
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Malone, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here in July 2011 when my husband was a patient in the Burlington Hospital. Stayed for 4 nights; gave us a discounted rate because my husband was a patient at the hospital. Rooms very clean and spacious. Desk clerks were all very helpful and friendly. When I had to extend my stay for one day because my husband did not get released from hospital as soon as expected, staff was very accommodating. Great continental breakfast. Great location and very easy to get to from the hospital. Very good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlyn12953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    115
    28
    15
    9
See reviews for
128
100
25
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
842 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Booked because of the reviews on Tripadvisor/ A solid hit! A large room with a small, funtional kitchen. The workout area was well equipt. Breakfast was light but had good variety. The staff was friendly and tried to do whatever was needed to make the stay memorable. Location was great, out of the city but close to everything. Already planning to go back for a week next fall.

Room Tip: If staying for a week, ask about the suites on the hill. If you can do without the breakfast and br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We are a family of 5 and we stayed for a period of 4 nights: first 3 nights then one additional night a week later after we were finished skiing. We stayed in a suite that would fit up to 6 people (and we had 5) which had a separate bedroom with two beds, plus a pull out couch in the LR. The room also had a small kitchenette. Both managers we talked with were very attentive and considerate. The area where continental breakfast was served is a lovely area with a fireplace and large windows so one can see outside. The last day that we stayed in this hotel, our flight did not leave until 7pm that night. The manager allowed us to stay until 4pm in our room at no charge so that we did not have to go sit at the airport. This allowed the kids to swim and do their homework until late afternoon. It is refreshing to experience hotel managers and staff that are sincere in wanting to please a patron. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you have more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was convenient to rt 89, clean, with spacious accommodations for 4, a free cot, and a very good breakfast. Plus it was quiet and service was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel is a no frills hotel with somewhat dated decor but it was clean and sufficient. I was happy to find an affordable place that could accommodate our family of 6. The staff member who checked us in was wonderful - helpful and friendly. The breakfast was ok, the person working to serve and maintain the breakfast buffet was very nice as well. Unfortunately I am very sensitive to cigarette smoke (allergic, so probably more sensitive than most), and so instead of staying three nights as planned, we ended up leaving after one night. Our entire floor reeked of cigarette smoke, even though the staff had booked our room on a higher floor (away from the smoking floor). Someone must have been smoking on our floor, or perhaps our floor had formerly been a smoking floor. By morning I was wheezing and couldn't tolerate staying there anymore. When I approached the front desk about the problem, I was told they would look into it, and a little later I was told by a front desk staff person that it was due to a window being left open - the explanation being that the smoke from smokers outside 3 floors below had wafted up into the window and caused the issue. Realistically, that couldn't have caused the smell and air quality that we experienced. I could tell the staff felt bad about the situation. They offered to move us to a different room but I decided to check out and relocate to a completely non-smoking hotel - we had an event to attend and participate in over the weekend and I didn't want to risk messing around with another room there (I needed to just be settled somewhere by that point). My overall assessment of this hotel based on my experience is that it is a very good place to stay on a budget if you are a smoker or if you don't mind cigarette smoke. I would think my experience is not too frequent and really depends on the other guests in the hotel, so maybe it shouldn't be a reflection on the hotel itself but I can only share my experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I was personally involved in investigating the source of the cigarette smoke, as this was very unsettling to us. Our smoking floor is located on the ground level, below the lobby level, which leaves the other 3 floors smoke-free. We did think perhaps some guests were smoking outside and the smoke rose through an open window, but we found the source to be a guest smoking in a non-smoking room on your floor. This matter has been addressed. We want you to know that we do take our guest issues very seriously.
We are truly sorry that your allergy was aggravated by this situation. Even though we did offer to move you, we understand that it was important for you to be settled in order to attend your function. We thank you for your positive comments on our staff's performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Richey, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I've stayed there twice and love the location! Our suite had a kitchen and a grocery store was right down the street, it was perfect! Sometimes we would travel all day and it was nice to come back to the room for a light dinner or snack. We had a beautiful view from our room. I surprised my husband by planning a trip through the Adirondacks to a family cemetery in Lowville, NY, we went to Ethan Allen's estate, Burlington, Bristol, Ben and Jerry's and Green Mountain Coffee Co.
They were all within striking distance of our hotel. And the best part? Within 10 minutes of the airport! So convenient to return our rental car and make our flight.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayougirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is nice - the front desk staff were VERY helpful with directions, etc. The room was spotless and a decent size.

It's important to request a room above the first floor if you are sensitive to cigarette smoke. Our room REEKED of smoke - we found out why when we visited the "fitness center" in the basement - which is where the smoking rooms are. Directly below our room! We're from NY - we are not used to smoking at all - it's not allowed at hotels or bars in NY, thank goodness. At any rate, upper floors are key.

The walls, as mentioned by others, are thin. We were woken up at 3:30am by a TV and loud shouting/banging.

The breakfast was very good - a step above continental for sure. And the serving staff at breakfast VERY kind and helpful.

We would definitely stay there again, but with earplugs and not on that first floor, unless the hotel goes totally non-smoking, which they really should consider.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor unless you like cigarette smoke smells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catsnotkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
2.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
670 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,353 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
357 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Suites Burlington

Property: Smart Suites Burlington
Address: 1700 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Suites Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Burlington Hotels!Whether it's for just one night or an extended stay, Smart Suites is the perfect match for all your lodging needs. We offer several different comfortable room options ranging from studio efficiencies to more spacious one-bedroom suites. Daily, Weekly, and Extended Stay Rates Available! We would love to host your next meeting or group event. Give us a call and ask for our Sales Office for more details. We are conveniently located on Shelburne Road, just a short drive to the Church Street Marketplace and only 5 miles from the airport. If your travels bring you to the University of Vermont or Fletcher Allen Health Care, Smart Suites is just 4 short miles away.Featured Amenities:- Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast- Free High Speed Wireless internet- 24 hour Desk Service- 24 hour Business Center- 24 hour Fitness Center- Same Day Dry Cleaning- 24 hour Airport Shuttle- 24 hour Coffee and Tea Bar- Restaurant on Premise (Lake View House)- Access to Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, and Hot Tub- Morning Newspapers (local and National)- Free HBO and Local Calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Smart Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing