We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smart Suites Burlington
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This Hotel was clean with spacious rooms. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Everyone was so polite and super accommodating. It was great having a full kitchen and breakfast included. These amenities made it a quite affordable vacation for me and my kids. Centrally located to all the many attractions the Burlington area has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 845Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear 845Mary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor! Your recommendation is very important to us and we are grateful you chose to share it with future travelers here on Trip Advisor.

Clean, comfortable rooms, at a good price are what we seek to offer while delivering superior customer service. It is very rewarding to hear that you found these things to be true about your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future!

James Davison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great staff, great location and very clean rooms. The rooms were quite large. My only minor complaint was that there was no functioning AC in the living room section of our suite. It was not necessary and the bedroom was very well air-conditioned. I'd recommend this place if you're not planning on spending a lot of time in the room.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hollyday B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Hollyday B,

We strive for total perfection for every guest, every stay! Of course we know this is a high expectation which is why we depend so deeply on review such as yours. We hope to remain in a constant state of always improving.

I am sorry about the AC (or lack of) in the living room. In the future, we have additional AC units available by request. We hope to someday have enough to outfit all of our suites with a second AC unit but until we do, just ask the front desk and we will install one immediately.

I look forward to making your next stay exactly perfect! Feel free to connect with me directly to plan your next trip.

James Davison
Assistant General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a very inexpensive place to stay, therefore expectations should be minimal.

That mentioned, the people working there bend over backwards/do everything possible, to make sure your stay is great.
Isn't that criteria critical to the total experience?

We booked at Smart Suites for the price and realizing it would be a place to rest our heads after shopping / dining, and enjoying the beautiful Burlington region.

To our great surprise after the cost was confirmed....and ALWAYS remembering the cost, we were thrilled with our large sized 'suite' along with all the extras that are too numerous to mention.
Toss in a better than average 'breakfast offering' and this is a terrific deal - a GREAT deal !

Downside?
You are not downtown and will need a vehicle, yet the town center is about 15 easy drive minutes away with great shopping and dining stops in between.

Bottom line?
Not many price/value places better....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Ron C,

I think you make an important point concerning cost vs. product when it comes to hotels. We know that our hotel is not the most luxurious accommodations in Burlington. There are certainly other properties that have more expensive furnishings and lavish amenities. You can pay much more (or much less) for a room but first, I advise every traveler to consider the value of what they are purchasing.

As an independent, non-branded hotel, we are able to offer much better rates than our corporate competitors while providing a complete 3 Star suite of amenities. We feel the value of our hotel far exceeds that of our competitors when you weigh what we offer against the price we charge. We are often confused to be a reduced class of hotel because of our price.

Thank you so much for your review and your insightfulness. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest again in the future!

James Davison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Each time I travel to Burlington Vermont, I stay at the Smart Suites in South Burlington. Though a few miles from downtown Burlington, this hotel is the best value --you get a small efficiency kitchen, with a living room and separate bedroom for a very reasonable price. My most recent stay really solidified my opinion. Upon arrival, I noticed that the person in front of me checking in was receiving very polite and thorough information. And the clerk, Eric, was multitasking while providing this excellent service...I thought how efficient this young man is, he is able to answer the customer's questions, and provide directions etc in a very professional manner. When it was my turn to check in, I received the same personal service, but it was not a "boxed" speech that he just gave to the other person in front of me...he tailored his responses to my questions and made me feel very welcome. I will always stay at this hotel, not only because the cost is so reasonable, but because the service is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the upper building, south side...very quiet and nice view of Lake Champlain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear fb,

I can’t wait to share your review with Eric and our entire staff! It is wonderfully refreshing to hear someone say our hotel “Rocks!”. We think so too!

It is also worth mentioning that we do not believe in “boxed” responses or speeches that you may be use to receiving from other hotels. All of our interactions are genuine and come with a genuine concern for your satisfaction.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to our hotel again soon!

James Davison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I followed the excellent recommendations but was very disappointed.
Room and hotel are very out dated and look very bad. The smoking smell in lobby and especially in the elevator was almost unbearable.
The bed was simply awful... So soft we felt like in a water bed... Fridge made noise like a car.. We barely slept.
Breakfast was minimal so we ate out in a great bagel place near by.
The only positive thing was the reception manager asked how was our stay (I dint intend to complaint) and her reaction when she heard all the above. She was surprised and sorry and discounted 10% of the room cost.
The hotel really needs to improve

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Moshe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear MosheA,

I am so sorry to hear your most recent stay at our hotel did not exceed your expectation in every way. We truly appreciate your feedback and work hard to create the best experience we can for all of our guests. It is our mission to improve our hotel before your next stay in Burlington.

We are taking action in regards to all of your concerns. We are not currently aware of any unwanted smells in our lobby or elevator but are always prepared to respond to such things whenever we are made aware. If there is an issue with the mattress in your room, please let us know which room you stayed in so that we may address it. Also, our breakfast is in a constant state of improvement. We are always anxious to hear what items others would be interested in added or changed!

Thank you again for your feedback. It truly makes a difference to us! I want to invite you to contact me directly to discuss these matters further and hopefully have you as our guest again in the future. I look forward to meeting you during your next trip to Burlington!

All the Best,

James Davison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My wife is a travel nurse, and took an assignment in Burlington. The travel company contracted with Smart Suites for lodging for her while she is in Vermont. She has been here since June 2013, and is extremely happy with her accommodations. I have been here twice now...once to move her in, and the second time to come see her on vacation. The staff has always been extremely friendly and willing to do what it takes to make your stay a comfortable one. It DOES have its drawbacks...communal laundry, no pool, standard definition tv's, etc. However, they have made arrangements for guests to use the Holiday Inn pool next door, and the laundry room is clean and has a small workout area in it. The Hotel has always been clean and comfortable when I've been here. Based upon my wife's comments, and my own experience, I would recommend this hotel to people who need an extended stay hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litespd_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear litespd_56,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! A clean room, warm breakfast and a friendly welcome are all small things we can do convey our appreciation to our guests! We loved having you here and are honored to receive your recommendation!

Be safe in your future travels!

James Davison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I'm a travel nurse staying in Smart Suites from May 2013 to Aug 2013. From the staff to the accommodations, I would highly recommend it. It was clean and cozy. The pool, hot tub, ease of doing laundry and the hot breakfast were awesome. The staff made it feel like home. It truly did feel like a home away from home. In my travels as a nurse across the country, I have stayed in some really awful places. This is, by far, the best place I have stayed. I can't think of anything I would change about it. Michelle, the Manager, is very fair and accommodating. Thank you, Smart Suites and Staff.

Room Tip: Room 315 - the room with a view of the trees is very private and quiet. At times there were children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hodsonvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Vicki,

We will miss you a great deal. Thank you so much for writing such a nice review of our hotel! We hope to have you as our guest again in the future. We love our traveling nurses and relationships we build as a result of extended stays. Your recommendation means the world to us!

Be safe in your future travels,

James Davison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
2.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
710 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,468 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Vermont
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
302 reviews
3.3 mi away
Trader Duke's Hotel
Trader Duke's Hotel
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Suites Burlington

Address: 1700 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: £66 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Suites Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Burlington Hotels!Whether it's for just one night or an extended stay, Smart Suites is the perfect match for all your lodging needs. We offer several different comfortable room options ranging from studio efficiencies to more spacious one-bedroom suites. Daily, Weekly, and Extended Stay Rates Available! We would love to host your next meeting or group event. Give us a call and ask for our Sales Office for more details. We are conveniently located on Shelburne Road, just a short drive to the Church Street Marketplace and only 5 miles from the airport. If your travels bring you to the University of Vermont or Fletcher Allen Health Care, Smart Suites is just 4 short miles away.Featured Amenities:- Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast- Free High Speed Wireless internet- 24 hour Desk Service- 24 hour Business Center- 24 hour Fitness Center- Same Day Dry Cleaning- 24 hour Airport Shuttle- 24 hour Coffee and Tea Bar- Restaurant on Premise (Lake View House)- Access to Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, and Hot Tub- Morning Newspapers (local and National)- Free HBO and Local Calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smart Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing