We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Suites Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smart Suites Burlington
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived here by chance after a long drive and were impressed by the friendly reception. The room (220) was very spacious, had a king-size bed and a fridge and microwave in addiiton to a coffee maker. The breakfast was great - cereal, juice, eggs, ham, baked goods,yogurt and so on - and better than the "continental breakfast" in the guest handbook hinted at. The staff was responsive and helpful and this is a great option for the Burlington area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GregoryTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    104
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
113
90
24
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was my third stay here, and I find it to be one of the best values when booked online. Easy in and out, decent breakfast selections, great staff, very friendly and helpful. Only point to mention, is that the pool is in the hotel across the parking lot. I usually end up here in winter, so that can be a chilly walk. Other than that, good room size, plenty of room to stretch out, ample living room, comfortable for a stay of a week or so with no problems.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non smoking room. All rooms on Lower level are smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewcary11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have been staying at Smart Suites in Burlington for 6 years now and go on average four times a year. I really enjoy the place.Great location, close to all shopping facilities.The rooms are spacious and clean, and most of all, the staff is friendly and always available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in the Smart Suites in South Burlington twice (August 14th and August 20th, 2013) at both ends of a trip to Middlebury to attend a wedding. It is about 10 minutes from the airport on route 7. We found their suites to be very comfortable and convenient. The first night we arrived very late after a very long day and a "smart" phone app that took us right past the hotel and all the way to Shelburne. The young man at the desk advised us about a grocery store that was open all night and we were able to get something to eat and fix it in the room. We very much appreciated the friendliness of the staff and the good breakfasts as well. If we are in Burlington again we will stay there.

Our one problem was the signage. The sign for the hotel is hidden behind trees and is visible only briefly as you are passing. After we finally found it, we used the sign for the Comfort Suites as a marker.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked a smoking suite as no other rooms were available and figured it wouldn't be too bad since we are not especially intolerant of smokers. However, upon arrival we noticed a horrible smell in the suite--not just old smoke but a sort of uriny, stuffy, mouldy smell that was really overbearing. Looking at the state of the rug across the rooms, we figured it was the culprit. We also saw some bugs on the floor in the kitchenette as well as hairs in the bathroom sink and shower, plus most of the walls had gross stains on them. Neither of us was comfortable walking barefoot in this place and it was just a nauseating experience altogether.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for one night before flying home from our long trip and wanted to save a little money. I booked on-line and pre-paid for a room with 2 queens ($119/night + tax). When we arrived, the from desk staff was very friendly and helpful (they offered to print directions to a nearby park, when I asked about places to walk). They offered us a discount upfront to switch to a room with a king and a free roll-away/cot, but we decided to keep the 2 queen beds, as booked. When we got to the room (the last free room of this type in non-smoking that was available), we immediately noticed a bad odor (possibly from pets). I went back to the front desk to ask to switch to the king room instead, and told them about the problem. They apologized profusely and switched us right away. They also processed a $30 discount off of my $119 rate without it being requested. Although this is definitely a discount hotel -- bed was comfortable enough and the furnishings were typical of a less-expensive hotel (bathroom was small, and a bit dark) -- the service was 5-star!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hike_bike_and_like
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Hike_bike_and_like,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Smart Suites! I am happy to hear your stay was a success and that you reciuved5-star service from our team. We all work very hard to ensure the completely satisfaction of all of our guests.

I am sorry to hear about the trouble with your initial room. It is not acceptable to us that any guest be inconvenienced by anything not to our standards. We seek to create the best value in Burlington and do so by offering clean, comfortable accommodations.

Please feel free to connect with me directly to help plan your next trip to the area. I look forward to meeting you!

All the Best,

James Davison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
252 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Funny how the reviews bounce all over the board, for this extended stay, we were in town to work for two weeks and decided to stay here. Now initial phone call was pleasant enough, seemed like a great place, but upon arrival, we knew we made a mistake. We requested no smoking, got stuck in basement and the whole area reeked of smoke. I have asthma, told them at check in and was told we'll see tomorrow. I toughed it out since I arrived late and waited till next morning. I was immediately informed that it was all that I could get and would have to settle for that. Staff was friendly enough in morning, but seemed disinterested in helping us. The smoke smell is so bad, I left clothes in car and was totally disappointed in this facility. We checked out the next day and went to another facility down the road for less money. Good Luck here, would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadDogCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear RoadDogCincinnati,

We appreciate your candid review of our hotel. I apologize for your experience and hope to regain your trust. Also, we recall your stay and there are some statements above that I feel need clarification.

Upon arrival, you did not have a reservation and we had only a single room left to sell. We always indicate whether rooms are smoking or non-smoking and offer potential guests to view rooms before making their decision. These courtesies were extended to you and you were able to decide on the room after having seen it. To be clear, any guest who reserves a non-smoking room will never be expected to stay in a smoking room. Your review seems to imply that you had a reservation for a non-smoking room but were forced to take a smoking room, which is not true.

We understand that smoking rooms are not everyone’s preference which is why we have so few rooms that allow smoking. We did our best to find non-smoking accommodations for your second night but unfortunately our ability to do this depended on other guests voluntarily changing their arrangements. This did not occur in a way that allowed us to move you to a non-smoking room. Please trust it was not for a lack of effort or interest that this request could not be met.

I regret that we did not earn your recommendation and hope to mend our relationship. I’d like to open the lines of communication by asking that you take a moment to connect with me by phone or email when convenient.

All the Best,

James Davison
Assistant General Manager
802-846-1904
jamesd@innvermont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
2.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 13 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 13 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Suites Burlington

Property: Smart Suites Burlington
Address: 1700 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Suites Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Burlington Hotels!Whether it's for just one night or an extended stay, Smart Suites is the perfect match for all your lodging needs. We offer several different comfortable room options ranging from studio efficiencies to more spacious one-bedroom suites. Daily, Weekly, and Extended Stay Rates Available! We would love to host your next meeting or group event. Give us a call and ask for our Sales Office for more details. We are conveniently located on Shelburne Road, just a short drive to the Church Street Marketplace and only 5 miles from the airport. If your travels bring you to the University of Vermont or Fletcher Allen Health Care, Smart Suites is just 4 short miles away.Featured Amenities:- Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast- Free High Speed Wireless internet- 24 hour Desk Service- 24 hour Business Center- 24 hour Fitness Center- Same Day Dry Cleaning- 24 hour Airport Shuttle- 24 hour Coffee and Tea Bar- Restaurant on Premise (Lake View House)- Access to Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, and Hot Tub- Morning Newspapers (local and National)- Free HBO and Local Calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Smart Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing