We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True testament is a repeat guest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Suites Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smart Suites Burlington
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Angelica, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“True testament is a repeat guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have enjoyed staying at smartSuites in the past and I was not disappointed this time. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and the atmosphere conducive to relaxing. This trip I am traveling with my elderly mother. Most importantly, the staff, including the manager were helpful, kind and interested. James thought of things to assist my Mom that I wouldn't have. SmartSuites is the only place to stay in Burlington for quality, value and kindness.

Room Tip: I've stayed in rooms on the second floor and the first. There isn't a bad room. All are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Tammy,

It is always a pleasure having you as our guest! It was great meeting your mother and I wish her good health as she recovers. I can’t wait to share your review with our staff as positive feedback is our greatest reward in customer service.

I know I speak on behalf of everyone here at the Smart Suites when I say we look forward to your next stay! As always, please connect with me directly and I will see to your accommodations personally.

All the Best,

James Davison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    104
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
113
90
24
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed this past weekend to attend the UVM open house. The room exceeded our expectations, it was very clean, great coffee and the full kitchen was very nice. Also the included breakfast was amazing. We were only a short drive from the college and so many good restaurants were nearby, it was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather_may22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear heather_may22,

Thank you so much for taking a moment to review our hotel here on Trip Advisor! I can’t wait to share your kind words with our staff. We all work very hard to ensure the satisfaction of each and every one of our guests and I can’t tell you how much it means to us to hear positive feedback in return.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burlington area soon!

James Davison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night last week. The room was quite large and very clean. The decor though, is a bit dated, and the tv needs updating to a flat screen. The mattress was comfortable, however, the pillows could be improved. The room also lacks a safe. The breakfast buffet was ok, with the standard items one finds at most hotels. The desk staff were very helpful and enthusiastic. Overall, this hotel could get 4 stars with some updating. I still give it a thumbs up for the value and cleanliness.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank c1902c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear c1902c,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear your stay was anything less than “5 Stars” and hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again. In regards to the safe I would like you to know that we have secure lockboxes at the front desk under video surveillance. These lock boxes are free of charge and available 24 hours a day.

I agree that we are due for certain upgrades. Renovations of our lobby area will begin next month! We are in the process of purchasing all new TV as well and currently stand with about 30% of the hotel complete.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to meeting you again in the future.

James Davison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The pre-arrival and check in staff were all excellent but we were disappointed in the dark 'basement' feel to our quite large suite.
The floor in the corridor and in our room appeared to have not been vacuumed for weeks.The breakfast was good and the location fine as Burlington is quite compact.
Washer dryers were good.

Room Tip: Don't take a ground or first floor room, they are very dark at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Durham2020,

I am very disappointed to find that your most recent stay was not satisfactory. We all work very hard to ensure the satisfaction of all of our guests which is why I am reaching out to you today. If you are available, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss these matters with you in more detail so that we may be able to improve our operation for future guests.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I look forward to your call.

James Davison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here with my cousin and requested a room with double queens. That was what I got and more. The beds were very comfortable. The bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchenette were all immaculately clean. I thought I read that the room had 2 flat screen TV's (I could be wrong)...they weren't flat screens and that would be something to consider if it is important to you. It wasn't for us. One thing that I really loved was that I could open the windows. I don't like to be sealed into a room. I liked having the choice of opening the windows for fresh air. There was plenty of coffee and a coffee maker, in our room, available to us. Breakfast (included) is served in the lobby, but we decided to go out for breakfast instead because it is such a nice town to explore. I only have one criticism: The bathroom smelled of cigarette smoke. I reported it the next morning and was told it was probably coming from the vent below because there are some smoking rooms. He said he would look into it and I'm sure he did. We only spent 1 night but it was very comfortable and I would stay there again. The front desk people were very attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RITripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear RITripper,

Thank you so much for your excellent review! I am glad to hear you found our hotel to be comfortable and of good value. It means a lot to us when guests use Trip Advisor to share their positive experiences with future travelers.

In regards to the smell in your room I wanted to personally apologize for any discomfort it may have caused you. I know that you had reported this case to our Front Desk however, I would like the opportunity to discuss the event a little more with so that we may be able to prevent it from happening again. If you have a moment please feel free to connect with me directly.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

James Davison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

There's an old saying that you get what you pay for. In this case, I got more than what I paid for. At check in, the clerk was incredibly friendly and helpful with information about the area. The room was spacious and comfortable. The location was great. And, the breakfast provided was much better than average. And, the cost was more than reasonable. I've paid a lot more, and gotten a lot less for my dollar. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phaidraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Phaidraigh,

Thank you so much! A perfect score never goes unnoticed - I can’t wait to share this review with our entire staff. We all work very hard to create the best value possible for our guests. You can certainly spend more money on a hotel room in Burlington but why? We guarantee our guests a clean, comfortable room accompanied by the best service possible.

We are honored to receive your recommendation and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

James Davison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed for two nights and chose the studio, a surprisingly spacious and comfortable accommodation. The lady checking us in was super friendly and helpful. In fact, she offered us freshly baked chocolate chip cookies after we completed the check-in. Baked goodies are available in the lobby every afternoon, around 4 pm, a lovely touch. The lobby was filled with pots of colourful autumn mums, another pleasant introduction to the hotel.. Our studio had a very comfortable bed, a brightly lit sink area, a sofa (which opens to a bed), and a full kitchen. The only complaint I have is with the general lighting, especially if you want to read at night. We also experienced a loud, beeping smoke detector in the middle of the night. This was fixed almost immediately, but our sleep was ruined. The management resolved this issue to our satisfaction.
The breakfast buffet is reasonably good, the location of Smart Suites is excellent and the value for the dollar is very good. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangermanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssuites, Manager at Smart Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear mangermanger,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! We appreciate you kind words and stellar score. I can’t wait to show Bridget (who checked you in) and Gary (who decorated the lobby) the great thing you had to say about what they do.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future! Please feel free to connect with me directly to help plan your next trip.

All the Best,

James Davison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
2.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 13 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 13 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Suites Burlington

Property: Smart Suites Burlington
Address: 1700 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Suites Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Burlington Hotels!Whether it's for just one night or an extended stay, Smart Suites is the perfect match for all your lodging needs. We offer several different comfortable room options ranging from studio efficiencies to more spacious one-bedroom suites. Daily, Weekly, and Extended Stay Rates Available! We would love to host your next meeting or group event. Give us a call and ask for our Sales Office for more details. We are conveniently located on Shelburne Road, just a short drive to the Church Street Marketplace and only 5 miles from the airport. If your travels bring you to the University of Vermont or Fletcher Allen Health Care, Smart Suites is just 4 short miles away.Featured Amenities:- Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast- Free High Speed Wireless internet- 24 hour Desk Service- 24 hour Business Center- 24 hour Fitness Center- Same Day Dry Cleaning- 24 hour Airport Shuttle- 24 hour Coffee and Tea Bar- Restaurant on Premise (Lake View House)- Access to Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, and Hot Tub- Morning Newspapers (local and National)- Free HBO and Local Calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Smart Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing