We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful date night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our visit to this hotel was awful. Upon arriving in our room, we noticed the bathroom ceiling was dripping. We were moved to another room....the toilet didn't flush in our new room. The hotel was SO loud...it was as if we were staying in an old farmhouse. There was obviously small children staying above us as the thudding, running, floor creaking woke us up at 6am!! We were here for a date night to get away from our kids!! We will not be staying in this hotel again. This hotel needs some serious upgrades....totally not a 3 star.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mollyd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize for your negative experience at our hotel. From the maintenance issues to the noise that you experience during your night out for a relaxing getaway, we are so disappointed to read about your stay. I am not able to locate your reservation in order to reach you by phone but would love to discuss your stay in more detail. If you could contact me by email: Karen@windjammergroup.com or by phone 802-651-0635, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to make things right. Thank you in advance for your consideration.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

The service is always great. Very clean and comfortable. Restaurant and pub are both excellent. We have dined in both and always have excellent meals, weather it's a prime rib or a hamburger the food is always prepared as ordered. Also great salad bar. Also the location is great, Within walking if the mood strikes.We keep on returning just to get away!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We are so happy that you have had such great experiences at our hotel and that we are your place for a getaway! Thank you so much for your outstanding review and for giving us a perfect score on Trip Advisor!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very good quality for the price. Would stay here again. Was surprised to see so many dogs, happy to see it is pet friendly. We had a special military price room, a bit smaller than the others. The only negative is having to walk outside to go to the restaurant in the pouring rain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank F3145SRrichardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our military discount and glad to see you had a nice stay with us. We really appreciate your great feedback and comments and apologize for the inconvenience of the restaurant being adjacent to our property instead of it being located inside the hotel. The restaurant is free standing and has a great local following -we hope you enjoyed your dining experience despite the walk outside. Thank you again for your wonderful review of our property!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

. A very clean, quiet and hospitable hotel. Super comfortable beds and pillows. Good breakfast, coffee at all hours, warm cookies each night, friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant and pub on the grounds is very convenient. clean pool. I used the indoor, but there is an outdoor pool. I used the treadmill. Can walk to Starbuck's and Moe's if needed. The center of Burlington is down the road 10 minutes, as is UVM. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and perfect score! We really appreicate the great feedback and happy that you had such a great stay at our property. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Place is average, clean as you should expect, quiet and centrally located in Burlington. Could not get the climate control in the room to work well during the night though. But the breakfast is great! Plenty to choose from, something for everybody.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v1960t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at our property. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with regulating the temperature in your room. We do preventative maintenance on those units daily but certainly they can act up, especially during this crazy winter we have had. Usually it's a quick fix to a sensor so please let us know if you should experience this again in the future. Thank you for sharing your comments about our property on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for admitted student day at Univ of VT. excellent location near to school and also downtown Burlington. Nice pool and workout room and rates very reasonable with UV discount. the on property seafood restaurant was very good-great salad bar and very good breakfast plus home baked Choc chip cookies at night.only 2 problems TV remote most confusing one I have ever seen and thin walls -nearby room's alarm clock woke us up very early, and kept buzzing for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mikeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your great comments and feedback. Our clean remotes take a bit of getting used to and we apologize for the confusion. The remotes are a part of our clean initiative, the buttons are flat and the remote can be easily steralized. The alarms in the guest rooms are pretty loud and we are working on replacing all of our clock radios to units that have an automatic re-set. This feature prevents the alarm from going off at the time the last person set it. We aplogize for that inconvenience and we really appreciate your feedback on these items.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your reivew of our property on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This will be a short review my husband had to see a patient at the Hosptial early on Presidents' Day all other hotels were booked. We thought how bad could it be .. Well we found out children running up and down the hall ways .. parents pushing little children on the luggage carts screaming . doors slamming all night and the room was so hot we turned off the heat and in the middle of the night I turned on the ac just so we could breath . I am not one to write a bad review but this time I would like to spare a person from this place. Needless to say we slept for a short while got up and left. We had breakfast at the skinny pancake what a amazing place loved the food the vibe very neat place. Michelle Kazanovicz

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We are so disappointed to read your review and feel terrible that your experience at our hotel was so negative. I am at a loss of where things went wrong with your stay during President's Day and can only think that your room was located in an area that had families with children. I'm sorry to hear that your room was unbearably hot and apologize that your stay was so bad that you felt you had to leave early. I appreciate you leaving your name so that we can contact you directly. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact me at karen@windjammergroup.com. or by phone at 802-651-0635. Again, we are very sorry that your stay with us was unsatisfactory.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burlington & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
444 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Burlington
Hampton Inn Burlington
#1 of 5 in Colchester
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1076 Williston Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-5718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: £73 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windjammer Hotel South Burlington
Best Western Windjammer Inn And Conference Center
Best Western South Burlington
South Burlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing