We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food!”
Review of Blue Paddle Bistro

Blue Paddle Bistro
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in South Hero
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in beautiful South Hero, Vermont, The Paddle is a hidden gem nestled in the Champlain Islands. Recently, Co-Owner/Chef Phoebe R. Bright was voted "Runner-Up" for Best Chef in Vermont (Daysie Awards, 2013-16). The restaurant has won numerous awards, including "Best Restaurant" (outside Chittenden County), 2015. Only a 20 minute drive from Burlington, the state's largest city! Reservations accepted. Weekly live music. Hours change with the season. Sunday brunches served on special holidays. Visit The Paddle on facebook, "like" and you may win one of many gift certificates the owners award weekly! "Love many, trust a few, but always paddle your own canoe."
Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Dining here is a real treat! The menu offerings are always interesting and delicious, decor is attractive and the people very friendly. It is well worth going out of your way to come here When we went a couple of weeks ago there was live music, a very enjoyable singer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    44
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Food was great and it was packed. Service was also very good. We had a lobster fettucine dish, a filet mignon special, and squash ravioli, all of which were very good. Salads were good, too. We would eat there again definitely!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“What a Surprise!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was visiting a friend in S. Burlington over the weekend, and we took a little drive up the Isles......she had been to Blue Paddle before, and while we did not have reservations (got there at 5pm when they opened) we could not have had a better experience! The staff was very accommodating!

We sat at the tiny 4 seat bar, and our bartender was darling and very personable. I asked for a special martini that I love - Absolut Citron & Lillet - and she made it perfectly! We shared two apps - the veggie spring rolls were absolutely divine!

Another couple came and sat next to us, so I got to see two entrees.........the scallops looked amazing!!!

It's a tiny place, and I would advise reservations if you're going on a Friday/Saturday evening...
such a delight!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hollybelle210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werleys Corner, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite a variety of fine items.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Liked food. Something different. Athe chef(s) really conjure up some different items. Will try again on our next trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Windsor, NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Imaginative food, excellent service”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The staff were extremely pleasant, and service was friendly and prompt. The dinner menu has some out-of-the-ordinary choices, and the food is excellent and creatively presented. The crab-stuffed ravioli with crabcake and the lobster pasta were superb, as was the Caprese salad. A Ceasar salad was only so-so, though. We sat upstairs; it would have been quieter there, but the air conditioner beside our table was rather noisy. However, we were able to turn it off after a while. The chairs upstairs were not very comfortable. The Blue Paddle is maybe a little pricey, but not unreasonable, given the quality of the food. I would absolutely go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Paddle Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Blue Paddle Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing