We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very OVER rated and misleading”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Hero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Island Resort
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very OVER rated and misleading”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Place is geared for the seasonal and permanent residents. Not a real"camping" or friendly feel. Feel like an outsider! No trees/shade. Price is truly for the amenities do if your not using them for this price look elsewhere...There are plenty of campground close to this one. Pay for pill and hot tub. Golf which was a lousy experience tree boxes like a rock, could be a nice post 3. Anything goes 5 people then 2 people so the play was beyond slow, people getting lessons on the course, no golf etiquette and you did have to pay for golf! Large clubhouse, library, again really for the people here for the summer. Did 1 week and no, we wouldn't return. No view of water with full hook ups, those are on the highway :-). If you have a boat or jet ski, maybe this is your type of camping. Sites not level and roads not paved. Bathrooms n showers clean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank dadadadamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have a very good friend whose parents have a seasonal at this campground and my husband and I, along with several other couples, have been to visit and camp for many years, even though camping at Apple Island is EXORBITANTLY expensive for what you get . Each time we get together it is for a birthday celebration and we have community meals and fires. It is imperative for us to be somewhat near each other and in the past this has never been a problem. I called and reserved a spot for us and asked for a specific site. The person I talked with had no problem with giving me a specific site and I assumed I was all set. Since we all had been coming for years, everyone else in our group got their desired site, all close to our friends with the seasonal site. Upon checking in on a Friday night, I was woefully dismayed to find we had been "moved". Our site was given to a "big rig". Of course. No problem. Except they had moved us far from the rest of the group. Terribly inconvenient. They could have taken a look at their reservations and moved someone else that wasn't with a group. Regardless, we had a lovely weekend, not because of where we were, but who we were with. Prospective campers please know...Apple Island caters to the elite. We have a 34ft tow behind...hardly a little camper, but still not a "big rig". We will camp there again, only because of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As others have pointed out, this "campground" is mostly full timers. Many of the sites have permanently installed trailers. This gives the feeling that you are in a retirement community more than a campground. The amenities and location are nice, but the overall feeling is not what I am used to when I am out in our little camping trailer.

The site we had was very large, but very poorly laid out. This was, by far, the least level site I have ever seen. It was not level in any direction and it was the first time I had to put one side of the trailer up on blocks. The hookups are basically in the middle of the site, so once we parked the trailer, we basically couldn't use over half the site.

They do have a very nice large pool. The showers were some of better ones I have seen in a campground. The bathrooms were OK. Everything was kept clean.

The location is very nice. Right on Lake Champlain and close to Burlington and Waterbury. The only problem we had was that there was construction on Rt 2, which slowed us down a bit when traveling around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brent_LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked this campground several weeks in advance for Memorial Weekend. While the location was wonderful (with a lovely view of Lake Champlain) we weren't delighted with the price or service. We arrived late on a rainy Friday night. Despite calling ahead to let the staff know of our late arrival (and to make sure we could get in) no one answered the call or returned our messages (phone and pager). We found our way to our campsite, but it would have been nice to have some guidance in the dark/rain. Fortunately, a Good Samaritan helped us find our way.

Although the view from our site was nice, we were surrounded by 4-5 RVs who had prearranged a group visit...thus were surrounded by a rowdy crowd all weekend. Our view of the lake was bisected by a major road, which created additional noise. Next to our area was a "moonscape" of excavated land for new campsites directly fronting the lake. Those in the front row will have a great view...the rest will be crammed in and be mainly looking at other campers. Not such a big deal until you consider the price...

The next day, when we asked at the camp store for the nearest fuel station for diesel, they couldn't come up with a suggestion (even though, we found out, there was one just down the road. We wasted a lot of time trying to find fuel. Finally, when we asked to check out 1 hour later than the posted time (noon) we were told there was a $30 charge, which seemed ridiculous for a Monday morning, given the low occupancy rate of the campground. All in all, we were left with the distinct impression that the owners are maximizing their profit, not the satisfaction of their customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landrum, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I arrived last night in my RV, expecting a real campsite. This is comprised of, what appears to be a lot of, full-timers which gives a different vibe since no one is out "camping." I was escorted to a spot that's somewhat near Route 2 and it was fairly busy and loud last night. These two things I can easily overcome, however...

The internet is sketchy at best....when it does work, it's more like dial-up; there is no cable and I cannot get Dish reception; there is virtually no water pressure.

Would I stay here again? Not bloody likely--but it's okay in a pinch. Fortunately, I'm only here one night.

One more very minor detail. Many pictures on their website make it LOOK like you're camping right alongside the shore. You're not. The first set of sites, when you pull in to the campsite, can see the shore from across the very busy Route 2 but the rest are too far back to see it. If I look out the window of my RV and crane my neck, I can see some water. I think it's a little misleading.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a wonderful time this last weekend at Apple Island. Too much to do to mention here. The sites are mostly large, clean and the staff are very friendly. It is a little pricey, but worth it if you like things to do and a clean campground.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank depand22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I just returned from a four-night stay at this campground. I was tenting solo, with other family in an RV. There are no tent sites, all sites have some level of hookups, which makes it a bit pricey for tenting. I opted for a lakeview site, and the view was really wonderful and my site was huge (QR007). What I didn't realize, though, is that that meant that I was right near the main road. The traffic noise was horrible, and I ended up having to buy ear plugs after my first night. After that, it was tolerable - just beware that in exchange for the view, you get lots of traffic noise!

The campground itself was very well tended, the lawns well manicured, and the staff was very nice. The bathrooms and showers were clean (and free). There is a large heated pool and a hot tub, but time your hot tub visits carefully - we tried to go one evening (both the pool and the hot tub close at dusk), but a large group had taken over the hot tub and were settled in with drinks and coolers. The next night we went at suppertime and had no problem.

The place is large and seems primarily seasonal; it was not very full while we were there, which was nice. It was very quiet, especially at night (except for the traffic sounds).

Burlington is only about 25 minutes away, and there are tons of things to do in the area. We hit Ben & Jerry's in Middlebury, a walk on Church Street in Burlington, a day at North Beach (Burlington again). There's also a good bike trail, kayaking on Mallet's Bay, and much more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan12369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Hero
13.0 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
11.1 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Burlington
Hampton Inn Burlington
#1 of 5 in Colchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Island Resort

Property: Apple Island Resort
Address: 71 Route 2, South Hero, VT 05486-4008
Region: United States > Vermont > South Hero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in South Hero
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Apple Island Resort South Hero, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing