We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royalton B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Royalton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royalton B&B
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were delayed in our travels and had made no advance reservations for what turned out to be a "dark and stormy night" in July 2013. We received a referral to another B&B in the area, but they weren't answering the phone. We stopped by and asked if they had a room, but they were full. The owner was kind enough to call Evelyn, and she had a room available. She was very kind and accommodating, and shared stories about the history of the home, which has been in her family since it was built, much more than 100 years ago. She was a delight to talk with, and provided a delicious breakfast, including some of her excellent home-made pie. Very early that morning before breakfast, I looked out our bedroom window and was treated to a view one of the most beautiful country scenes I have ever seen. I treasure the iPhone photo I took.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utahbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I was tired from traveling, and I am glad I found this place. The host made me very comfortable and the quiet country environment plus the good night sleep was exactly what I needed. It is really in the country side, witch in Vermont, is worth knowing. Only when you leave the highway can you find places like this one. The traveler from Quebec

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 356Denis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This B&B gets the Blue Ribbon from us!! We run the Open Carriage Show on Sunday at Vermont Morgan Heritage Days in Tunbridge over the Fourth of July weekend. This is our second year staying at Evelyn's wonderful home and we love it!! Quiet, peaceful and eclectic...faces out on a beautiful hay field with wild flowers and a lovely view. It's a real family home without a lot of gewgaws and frills. Our room was spotless, bed was very comfortable and we fell asleep to local fireworks going off over Royalton. We had to leave early on Sunday morning to get to the show so we passed on breakfast but Evelyn made a fresh pot of Delicious coffee that was ready when my husband went down at 5:30AM! Wonderful and thoughtful service in an equally wonderful setting....can't wait for next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morganponydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

My son graduated from Vermont Law School and we wanted to be close to the school and my son's house. This B&B was right in the middle of both! We not only lucked out with proximity and our stay was wonderful. Our host, Evelyn was simply magnificent! Our stay was quite and relaxing. Her home was warm and invitting. Clean and comfortable. The other family staying was a delight as well. Breakfast was awesome. I plan on staying here again on my next trip to South Royalton.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Wonderful old house facing a meadow with the hills in the background. The host Evelyn Saenz was truly a pleasure. Accommodations were excellent and breakfast was amazing. This is a terrific place if you're looking for that authentic Vermont farmhouse experience, complete with black night skies, complete silence, wonderful sunrises, and feelings of being human. A must-stay for people who spend too much time in the city.

Room Tip: Take the room with the bay window! The morning sun pours in and the view is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Evelyn was a wonderful host. Her home is lovely; the setting is charming; and breakfast was delicious. It was a great spot for us (and many others who were attending the same wedding nearby!). We would recommend it enthusiastically!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful, historic home. Evelyn was absolutely wonderful - accomodated my party of four on literally a moment's notice (she replied to my same-day request within 10 minutes!). The house has been in her family for generations, and the rooms were lovely. We especially loved the hammock swings on the front porch, looking out at flowers, a verdant lawn, and green hills. The only thing that kept this from being a totally idyllic retreat was a bit of road noise from a nearby road - but I'm extra-sensitive to these things. Evelyn made knock-out delicious pancakes for us the next day - wow! I don't even like pancakes usually, but these were light and irresistible with Vermont maple syrup. A garrulous and friendly hostess, Evelyn made us feel part of the family at breakfast, made sure that we had all the info we needed about surrounding attractions, and told us about the recent town history. Her daughters were delightful to chat with as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Royalton
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
6.6 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#1 of 4 in Barnard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton B&B

Property: Royalton B&B
Address: 1408 Back River Rd, South Royalton, VT 05068-5333
Region: United States > Vermont > South Royalton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Royalton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 1840's Vermont Farmhouse is surrounded by pastures and hundreds of acres of woods, trails and even a waterfall. Centrally located, Royalton B&B is just off I-89. Our home in Vermont is a big old Vermont farmhouse and the land that it sits on has been in the family since the town was founded. We offer 3 bedrooms with two shared bathrooms. Each bedroom features a queen-sized bed and amazing views of the surrounding fields, forests and hillsides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing