We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I kid you, not.”

Black Rock Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I kid you, not.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Being a world traveler and residing mostly in the Washington, DC area, it takes a lot to impress me when it comes to steakhouses and top notch restaurants. This place is both!

Ordered the Filet Mignon and Broiled Scallops served, the flavor sealed in, on a 720 degree cooking stone. Slicing the filet piece by piece and cooking each to my own sense of perfection was an undeniable and unique pleasure, and those with me, who utilized the traditional approach to preparation were equally pleased.

I will be back and anyone skiing in Okemo, trust me, the extra few miles will definitely be worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    87
    28
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really just shy of a Vermont 5 star”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This place provides a fun and delicious meal. You can not leave hungry. They have American fare with awesome steaks cooked traditionally in the kitchen or that you can cook yourself on your personal 800 degree black rock at your table. Every bite of steak is warm this way. They also have great seafood - fresh twice weekly from Boston. They have the best salad bar in the area that includes soup. Beer and wine selections are good. My main criticism is the noise. There are hi ceilings and flagstone floors so acoustics are challenging on a busy nite- which most are. Staff is friendly and efficient. And we have never had dessert there- no need!

Helpful?
Thank Safetydiva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Happy to have stopped”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

When traveling "out east" for business, we arrived into town very late, due to some flight delays. We were pleased to find this gem to still be open past 8pm. The food was amazing and the prices were very reasonable. I would return if ever in the area again!

Helpful?
1 Thank RckStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

It's no wonder the Black Rock is always packed. If your in the area, make a reservation so you don't miss out on a fantastic dinner. We all had our dinners "on a rock." Every morsel was cooked perfectly. The best salad bar I've ever seen. And the service was outstanding. They over heard one of my friend's toasting my birthday, and came out with a birthday cake after the meal was over. Everyone argued about "who told them," and then we figured out no one did. This was all on their own initiative. A great birthday dinner. We're ready to make a trip back to VT just to have dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love cooking on the rock”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Is awesome place to eat great food good prices my wife and I love eatting here ever get your steak still mooing? Just order on the rock and cook too your degree of donenes

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhondasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Rock Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Black Rock Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing