We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really sweet place to stay!”

Quittner's Stark View Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starksboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quittner's Stark View Lodge
San Jose, California
1 review
“A really sweet place to stay!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Alan Quittner is a real gem. He goes out of his way to make you comfortable. My sister, my friend and I, stayed two nights at this B & B. My daughter was getting married at the Common Ground Center, near by. I needed to have some items delivered for the wedding, and Alan was kind enough to accept them and store them for me. He made us a wonderful breakfast, and was helpful with directions, (although we still got lost on the beautiful country roads!) Hey, California is a long ways away from Vermont! I do highly recommend that if you want a place that makes you feel "like home", Alan's Quittners Starksview Inn is just the place. Thank you Allan for your hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millieanne8413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
Couples
0
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Alan and his wife host a terrific bed and breakfast in the gorgeous mountains of Vermont. Highly recommend. Stayed there in winter and summer and it is perfect. Alan's sweet breakfast is great and they are very knowledgeable about things in the area. A++++

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalCycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were there for one night and the owner is extremely friendly. He wanted near the window until we arrive and help us carry our stuff. The place is clean, has plenty of space in and out. The breakfast is good as well. Highly recommend for family that has kids or someone want a clean and quite place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpwang0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed two nights and had a great stay. Very warm welcome, clean place and amazing breakfasts. A few ski resorts around for the winter and terrific hikes during spring, summer and fall. We recommend the Camel's hump hike, especially during the fall: beautiful foliage colors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my two teenage kids in one of the two apartments. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was clean, warm, and had plenty of room. The breakfasts were excellent - as much good food as you wanted at a very reasonable price. We were treated like we were part of their family. Several of the other guests seemed to be multiple-repeat customers, which says a lot about the place. The lodge is only a few minutes away from Mad River Glen and maybe 20 minutes away from Sugarbush. The only negative about the location was no cell phone coverage (some would consider that a positive!) - but we were able to get a signal by driving to MRG. There is tv (but only with a few channels) and wifi. I would definitely stay here again - it's like staying at the home of some friends or relatives (ones that you like).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teelow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starksboro, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We live in Starksboro and had numerous guest for Christmas that came from out of town. Several of our family members stayed at Quittner's Stark View Lodge. The Quittners were wonderful hosts providing a warm, friendly, pleasant place to stay while in Vermont. Several of my family members raved about the tasty and abundant breakfast that was served. The prices were extremely reasonable and getting to the B&B was so easy. My brother-in-law, who loves to ski was interested in coming back to ski Mad River Glenn and Sugarbush both of which are 20 minutes away. Thank you Alan and Joan for helping to make our holiday season a wonderful time by giving our out of town family members a clean, warm and friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Come to Quittner's Stark View Lodge with your skis or hiking boots and a hardy appitite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Quittner's Stark View Lodge and enjoyed it immensely. We rented one of the 2 apartments which comfortably sleeps 4, but can accommodate 6. The kitchen was adequately equipped and any utensils, pots that are missing you can ask the owner for.
It was spacious, clean and very warm. We also had a generous egg and pancake or french toast breakfast each day in the main house which has 4 rooms for rent as well. The Lodge is run by Alan and Joan Quittner and is set on an open meadow at the edge of part of their 40 acres. The lodge was Alan's parents and as an old Vermonter Alan can share lots of local lore and tips with his guests. At least 50% of the guests he says are repeat visitors ( many for multiple years) and you can see why : the warm hospitality.Alan was the primary host when we were there and he was sure to introduce us all to the other guests who hailed from Norway, Ireland, Austria and New Jersey. Alan is great at putting everyone at ease and responding to whatever you may need. We even had a family-like celebration in the lodge common room as we rang in the New Year with all the other guests young and old.
The lodge is a very reasonable cost for a family of 4 and is located over the Appalachian gap from Mad River Glen Ski area and is about a 20 minute drive in snow conditions.
I would highly recommend Quittner's to anyone looking for a friendly, clean, quiet place to stay at a reasonable price and with warm hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Quittner's Stark View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quittner's Stark View Lodge

Property: Quittner's Stark View Lodge
Address: 323 Gore Rd, Starksboro, VT 05487-7200
Region: United States > Vermont > Starksboro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Starksboro
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing