We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality + service + reasonable prices = Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality + service + reasonable prices = Great value!”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

At the Golden Eagle, you are made to feel welcome and valued. The owners want satisfied, happy guests, and it shows in the well-trained, friendly staff, high standards in cleanliness, and well-made food. The GE has to be one of the best values in Stowe and Vermont. Close to town so you can leave your car and walk to many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasebrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    384
    135
    38
    29
See reviews for
350
419
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hoathly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Although a fairly large resort, we found the Golden Eagle very friendly and a nice place to stay. The receptionist was very welcoming and able to give us lots of information. We arrived the evening when there was free wine and cheese on offer in the lounge. We were upgraded to a Terrace suite which was very spacious and comfortable with 2 large beds, and great views from the first floor balcony. We did the walk up Mount Pinnacle, which is quite demanding but the views from the top were worth it, especially with the Fall colours. Stowe is quaint and has lovely little shops and restaurant and can be easily walked to from the resort.

Room Tip: The Terrace rooms are really nice. Did not view the others though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoftheManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My husband and I have stayed at many hotels and inns in Stowe from a very reasonable motel room at the Snowdrift to a very upscale, slightly pretentious, although beautiful The Topnotch. For the last few visits, probably 6 times we have stayed a the Golden Eagle. We love the Terrace Suites which have small kitchen, fireplace and view of Mount Mansfield. The family owned inn offers a great bed and breakfast special. Our favourite breakfast of all time is on their outdoor terrace. Everything is available from pancakes to omelettes, even steak and eggs, but the best part for me is the fresh squeezed orange juice. The owners and staff have always been very helpful and have often made reservations for us for dinner. The location is wonderful, just across the road from the Stowe path which winds around the river and is wonderful for an early morning walk. Next time we are going to splash into the "swimming hole" in the river. This getaway is perfect for us to unwind, relax and enjoy the fresh mountain air.

Room Tip: The Terrace suite is at the back is very quiet and backs on the a wonderful, wooded forest and hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The Golden Eagle Resort is very conveniently located on Mountain Rd. in Stowe, which is one of the main roads through the town. Many restaurants and attractions are very close by, some within walking distance. People at the desk were friendly and eager to help. The resort is a large, single level motel where you park right outside your room. Our room was comfortable and had all of the expected amenities, although the furnishings were ever-so-slightly dated. The shower and sink had liquid soap and shampoo dispensers installed in the wall instead of bar soap and bottled shampoo, which I understand is a good cost-saving measure, but is a bit awkward when taking a shower. The HVAC unit was very noisy and woke me during the night a few times when it came on. Some room positives were availability of free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a good selection of channels on TV, and a back door with a small patio area overlooking the grounds. Overall, the room was expensive when compared to the quality of room you would typically get for that price, however it is probably more in line with what you would get in the higher priced Stowe area during this time of year. If I were to return to Stowe, there may be a couple of other places I would look into staying at, however the Golden Eagle Resort would be on my short list.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embraer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Only stayed here for one night but after a pleasant drive from Lincoln, Found the staff friendly and were given a large room (194) in terrace wing overlooking little lake. It's walking distance of Stowe with a good choice of restaurants. We tried the Red Basil Thai which was very good. A lovely resort with a great pool, sauna and hot tub, very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyLass15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I visited the Golden Eagle Resort with 5 of my co-workers for the first time this fall and it was terrific. The location was perfect and easily accessible by car to and from activities. We were also able to walk to restaurants and shops in downtown Stowe. The front desk staff was very helpful recommending restaurants and attractions in the area. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the grounds were spacious and very nicely landscaped. The Recreation Path was nearby and great for all levels of bikers. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Stowe and my co-workers said they would come back again with their families!!

Room Tip: Suites were nice and spacious, I especially enjoyed the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My grandfather started staying at the Golden Eagle in the 60s. My parents started to take my brother and I there every summer from the time I was 1 years old. I know go every year with my parents, husband, and two children! My brother also joins us for a few days. This is the most relaxing place! The staff is super friendly! They are like one big family. The former owner - still is on the property everyday! He is a pleasure to speak with. The pools are the best! This year my little guy fished in the pond with his dad! Not only can you just relax on the property all day- the location is perfect- you can walk across the street to the bike path (there is also a bike shop right across the street where you can rent bikes/helmets), the movies, to downtown... you are short drive from the Alpine Slide, the Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Ben & Jerry's....even taking a 30 minute ride -you will be in Burlington -you can take a boat ride on Lake Champlain. There is just so much to do or if you don't want to do anything you can sit back and relax and breath in the mountain air. Yeah the motel may be showing its age- but why do people care about the decor of the rooms- you want a clean/comfortable room, friendly staff, and excellent breakfast....and that is what you get at the Golden Eagle (they make you feel like part of their family) all for a great price!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephielynn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing