We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at the Golden Eagle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Golden Eagle”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My family stayed at the resort on Christmas eve and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. The rooms were fairly large (2 queen beds) with a small refrigerator and coffee pot. The grounds were dusted with snow, enough for me to hike on the walking trails with snow shoes while the females went to the spa for a massage. The spa facility has a few pieces of exercise equipment, a pretty large hot tub, and a beautiful indoor pool which was great after my trek. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and offered a selection of free DVDs to watch in your room (the charge to rent a DVD player was $5.50, so use your laptop). The only internet service is free wi-fi in the lobby. The resort is in a great location - near the movie theater, restaurants and a short drive to Stowe mountain. All in all, highly recommended for a few nights in Stow.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    382
    135
    38
    29
See reviews for
346
414
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
285 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

That's not to say that the property doesn't have it's faults, but let's face it, all the major requirements are well covered. The front desk is friendly and helpful. The room is clean and well cared for. Parking is there. Location is good and convenient.

Some nice ecological choices including central distributors for soap, shampoo and creams. And it is nice to see that digital high definition TV channels are available on the high definition TV (something that is often missed by so many properties.)

If you are going to nick pick on such small details as the dusty rose lamps from two decades ago, wallpaper borders and the such then maybe this isn't the place for you. But it's frankly it's minor compared to having the necessary bases covered... and they are covered.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdviceCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed here in the mini suite room 217 which was the "pond view" (tiny pond but no patio privacy as it also faced the driveway which cars used to get to other rooms).

Pros: The room was very large with a gas fire place, king sized bed, and whirlpool bath in the main living quarter. The bathroom though small had a heater feature which would be good on a cold day. It is within walking distance of main town and places to eat/go out which was nice. Decent views of the mountains and lots of hiking walking paths. Breakfast was average. It was of adequate cleanliness (though some dirt was found on our pillows and bedside table - I don't know from where it came as it was there at checkin).
As described in other reviews, it was somewhat dated but that was fine with me as I knew what to expect. There was no lack of warmth in the room and we actually kept the heat off as it otherwise got too hot (the outside temperatures were warm).

Cons: Huge drawback is it is a first floor room with another ?room/house above it. Though the floors above our room were carpeted, the carpet did not help the noise from the people staying in the room overhead. It sounded like a large family/group of friends staying overhead, who had many children who loved to somp,jump, and run - very early in the morning and throughout the evening (though it stopped by 10pm, it would have been nice to take a nap in afternoon/evening after driving for 6 hrs to get to Stowe). The noisiness also killed any romance that the room was obviously designed for. If you're looking for a family friendly resort for going to with children - this is it. Due to this above big complaint the trip was just okay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 217 if you don't want to hear people walking, jumping and stomping overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiketravelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

First time visting the area and our stay at the Golden Eagle Resort. The room was great and the breakfast was amazing. The room was as described and the whirpool and fireplace made for a nice romantic night. Location on Mountain Rd was close to all restaurants, shops and downtown Stowe. I would recommend the mini suite and the Golden Eagle Resort for anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Mini Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhody_brewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Couldn't speak too highly of the resort - great room, warm welcome, good gym and pool, splendid breakfast. Stands out from a pretty good vacation across New England - even has its own nature walks! Found it 'house proud' and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apicius59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I really rely on the trip advisor review for all my trips from hotel to places to visit. I have never been upto an anti-climax other than at this hotel. Rooms look like they are done in 50s and have been cleaned once in a while. The dated rooms and the smelly beds and the bathrooms that were totally outdated was a total disappointment, we cut short our trip from 3 days to an overnight stay and moved out of this place. I can't comment for other hotels in stowe, but as a frequent traveller across the globe, I can tell this place has a sub-par interior. And ofcourse, the exterior lawns and landscaping are beautiful indeed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank krisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

At the Golden Eagle, you are made to feel welcome and valued. The owners want satisfied, happy guests, and it shows in the well-trained, friendly staff, high standards in cleanliness, and well-made food. The GE has to be one of the best values in Stowe and Vermont. Close to town so you can leave your car and walk to many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasebrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Shuttle service to downtown and ski area. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing