We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant resort, lovely location within walking distance to Stowe restaurants and shops”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant resort, lovely location within walking distance to Stowe restaurants and shops”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Golden Eagle Resort in December. Our room was large and comfortable, with lovely view of the woods and pond. Cleaning crew did a consistently good job. Fitness facilities are nice, especially after a full day of skiing. The resort is within an easy walking distance from downtown Stowe and its many restaurants and shops. The only glitch was the Colonial Cafe breakfast (got the B&B package). Service was somewhat harried and rude, and food was mediocre at best. It may be a good idea not to get the breakfast-inclusive package and instead enjoy the many other terrific food options around Stowe.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentravelertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    384
    135
    38
    29
See reviews for
350
420
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My wife & I spent three fabulous days at the Golden Eagle Resort. The room was very comfortable and especially clean each day. The pool & spa were an added pleasure......also kept very clean. Breakfast at the Colonial Cafe was outstanding, especially the Gluten-Free pancakes. Cookies each afternoon were a treat. Continental breakfast was also outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: East wing parking at the door is a great feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We arrived very early but were shown straight into our room, having been made very welcome. The Hotel was lovely and the room was clean and quiet, with a lovely view of pond. The reception staff gave us some good ideas regarding places to visit. We had a lovely time and would happily go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAEJJAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The Golden Eagle Resort was a great place to stay and I can't wait to stay again. The people were very pleasant and beyond helpful. I loved it. Very clean and very well kept!! It's also very quiet and relaxing. A great place to get away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed there with four other couples. Resort has a breakfast option and the food at the Colonial Cafe (their restaurant) was very good. Staff at the restaurant recognized our group from the first day. Rooms were very comfortable. Several other restaurants, the town, churches, and public walking trails are very close and easy to walk to. Resort has a fitness center with a good variety of equipment and services. Very nice and very relaxing.

Room Tip: rooms have a variety of amenities (fireplace, microwave, refrig, etc.) and on different floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyerInMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed 2 nts last week---really off season!! John at check-in was great with all the latest news and goings on with the restaurant scene. great recomendation with O'Grady's. Room was good size with a king bed, round table and 2 chairs. Tough to find an outlet for the laptop---Why? We were unable to shut off the towel rack which was throwing so much heat, we had to open a window in the bathroom---in November. Asked the cleaning lady about it, and she said there is no control for it. Grounds are very nice. The indoor pool and hot tub is another story. Needs to be refurbished now! Overall it was ok for our purposes, but would be so much better with more attention to the constant maintenance that every property needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKV50F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We decided to catch the beautiful foliage this year and what Better place then Stowe . We looked for a while for a good standard place with reasonable pricing in this peak season time. We were very happy with our choice of the golden eagle. The rooms were spacious - plenty of room with the pack n play , a door leading to the beautiful back yard woods and a tasty breakfast included. The location is wonderful and is right on the recreational trail leading to town and other nature attractions . we also enjoyed the pingpong table at the game room.Will look forward to coming back here for ski season.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeitalF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing