We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Dog friendly, guest friendly, very comfortable hotel. A little older, but nice service and awesome breakfast. We have stayed several times and keep going back for the value. Great location, just a few ,inured from Mt. Mansfield.

Room Tip: Add the fireplace in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Two years ago I had a bad experience at the Golden Eagle and I ripped them accordingly in my review. But I am happy to say they are back to the usual performance I had come to enjoy for many years with ski trips to Stowe. The room was clean and comfortable and the front desk very friendly. The breakfast was outstanding as I had come to expect.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the same area of the hotel as bus trips with college age people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navybng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Golden Eagle Resort in December. Our room was large and comfortable, with lovely view of the woods and pond. Cleaning crew did a consistently good job. Fitness facilities are nice, especially after a full day of skiing. The resort is within an easy walking distance from downtown Stowe and its many restaurants and shops. The only glitch was the Colonial Cafe breakfast (got the B&B package). Service was somewhat harried and rude, and food was mediocre at best. It may be a good idea not to get the breakfast-inclusive package and instead enjoy the many other terrific food options around Stowe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentravelertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My wife & I spent three fabulous days at the Golden Eagle Resort. The room was very comfortable and especially clean each day. The pool & spa were an added pleasure......also kept very clean. Breakfast at the Colonial Cafe was outstanding, especially the Gluten-Free pancakes. Cookies each afternoon were a treat. Continental breakfast was also outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: East wing parking at the door is a great feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We arrived very early but were shown straight into our room, having been made very welcome. The Hotel was lovely and the room was clean and quiet, with a lovely view of pond. The reception staff gave us some good ideas regarding places to visit. We had a lovely time and would happily go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAEJJAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The Golden Eagle Resort was a great place to stay and I can't wait to stay again. The people were very pleasant and beyond helpful. I loved it. Very clean and very well kept!! It's also very quiet and relaxing. A great place to get away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed there with four other couples. Resort has a breakfast option and the food at the Colonial Cafe (their restaurant) was very good. Staff at the restaurant recognized our group from the first day. Rooms were very comfortable. Several other restaurants, the town, churches, and public walking trails are very close and easy to walk to. Resort has a fitness center with a good variety of equipment and services. Very nice and very relaxing.

Room Tip: rooms have a variety of amenities (fireplace, microwave, refrig, etc.) and on different floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyerInMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,367 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £79 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing