We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Stowe... Stay Golden Eagle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great rates...Clean rooms , spa, entire property. Food was superb at the Colonial Cafe (loved the fact that they stayed open til noon on Sunday). The staff is helpful , friendly and they go the extra mile to make certain your stay is a wonderful memory. They make everyone feel like they are their special guest.

Room Tip: We stayed in the north wing with a fireplace and kitchenette. The back porch is covered and looks o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for being our guest, and for taking the time to write a review of your stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our facilities, and found that our staff was helpful and friendly. Our goal is to make our guests feel special and it sounds like we hit the mark with you! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our stay at this resort was a good one.The rooms were clean and nice and large enough for a family of four. The pool was good,I wouldn't say it was top notch. There is a game room where kids can spend time playing ping-pong,billiards and some arcade games. The colonial cafe was something which was ok,I didn't find it to be very special. The whole place could use an upgrade and if would certainly make it more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momoftwofromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest, and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a good stay, found the rooms spacious and clean, and that the kids enjoyed some of our activities. We are continuing our upgrades throughout the resort and hope you will notice the difference on your next visit to Stowe. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend at Golden Eagle for our first trip to Vermont. We loved our stay and thought the place really captured the atmosphere of Stowe. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We got the breakfast at Colonial Cafe included with our room and that was delicious. Lots of things to do on site - fishing, spa, hiking trails, etc. The room was a little rustic/dated, but that was part of the charm of the place. Highly recommend and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniekato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We are so glad your first visit to Vermont brought you to the Golden Eagle, and that you have left wanting to return again! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and glad to hear that you enjoyed all our amenties. I'll be sure to let the staff know you found them to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Golden Eagle Resort is an outstanding resort! My husband and I chose it for our getaway weekend based on recommendations by AAA. Starting with a genuine and friendly greeting from Julie in the office, we enjoyed every second of our stay there. The room was immaculately clean as were the grounds. There were flowers everywhere. It is a true resort in that they offered so many ammenities....indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, hot tub, shuffleboard, horseshoes, a huge playground for the kids, tennis courts, and they have fishing rods you can borrow to use in the two trout-stocked ponds. They even brought out popsicles for the kids (and adults) at the pool! The room rate came with a breakast we ordered off the menu, and the food was delicious both days. The second day the restaurant was packed and I have to commend our waiter Chris as well as the hostess (I didn't get her name) for running around like nuts to give us fantastic service. Our room faced the back onto the pond area and we spent both mornings sitting on our porch drinking coffee and listening to the birds. The room was extremely private...the only thing we could hear at night was the peepers! Maid service was excellent as well....they had our room made up the first morning by the time we came back from breakfast and it was perfect. All in all, probably the best place we ever stayed and was a fantastic value for the price!

Room Tip: We stayed in the terrace wing and it was very quiet and private. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenandTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review of your visit! We are thrilled that you enjoyed all our amenties, but especially were pleased to hear that you found the staff to be genuinely friendly and helpful. I'll be sure to share your comments with all the staff! We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The golden eagle is a typical rustic vt resort. Nothing overly fancy about the place and could prob use a little bit if an upgrade but the place was very clean. Lots to do on premises - fishing, swimming. The colonial cafe was delicious and affordable. The resort is close to town and resteraunts as well as the bike path. The ac unit was loud, but otherwise I can't complain. It was an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdogiakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the many activities we have to offer. Having the fishing and swimming right here yet being close to town, the bike path and the other amenities that Stowe has to offer is one of the things that makes the Golden Eagle a convenient place to stay in Stowe. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and my in laws stay over the long Canadian weekend. This hotel has lots of things to do. Swimming, hot tub, gym, bord games (that you can bring to your room), pool tables etc. Rooms are cutie and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and nice. The area is a little pricy for restaurants and shopping. Not a budget area. Overall great stay

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mbort79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I recently scheduled a get away weekend and chose the golden eagle because of price and location. This resort far exceeded or expectations as it was very clean, friendly service, great breakfast and amenities. We stayed two nights in a mini suite and enjoyed the in room fireplace, hot tub and the view of the pond off the back of the porch was awesome. As I sit and listen to the birds and drink my morning coffee in front of the fireplace I would have to say this was an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: Mini suites are a great room to rent for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,341 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £96 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing