We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little old fashioned, but we loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This place has been around for quite awhile, and I'm not sure what some of the people writing reviews here expected. Our room was clean, quiet, large enough for a family of five. The furniture and decor was a little dated, but the bathroom had been recently renovated. The roll away cot was a basic camp bed, not comfortable for the kid who had to use it. An adult could not use it at all. We had breakfast each morning as part of our package deal. It was very filling and quite good. Not gourmet - just your typical breakfast. Lots of choices, including those for the health conscious. The restaurant is called The Colonial, and parts of it earn that name - particularly the room to the right and down the stairs from the entrance. But, if you decide that's just kitsch, it's perfect.

The grounds are lovely and the hiking paths very well kept. I was particularly impressed with this. The view toward the mountains..wow! Our room opened out to a small patio and faced a beautiful little pond. The indoor pool was quite nice, although the hot tub looked a little more scuzzy than I would have liked. (That's a problem with most public hot tubs.) The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed two nights. I wish it would have been more as we didn't get to explore the area as much as we would have liked.

No, The Golden Eagle is not brand new, trendy, gourmet. It's comfortable and family friendly, and I'd much rather stay at a place like this than put up with the people who complain about everything not being just so. I found it very relaxing and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Many thanks for writing your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the hiking trails and found the staff to be friendly. Especially liked your lovely photos! Thanks for posting them.

We also appreciate your feedback about the hot tub. I'll be sure to share it with our Fitness Center Supervisor.

We hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

i had aroom on the first level, tried to sleep at night lots of running on the second floor. when I checked in I was suppose to get two full breakfast one each day. that morning I had breakfast and I had to pay for it.went to the front desk , they lied when I checked in. pet friendly they didn't tell me there was a fee each day . when I checked out on my bill pet room fee25dollars each day. the air cond. make a lot of n0ise they are out of date. the rooms need a complete remodel.

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. e-mail voicing your concerns with your recent stay. We are in the process of updating our rooms, though pet friendly rooms have not yet been updated. We do charge a pet fee per stay, as do most properties that allow pets. Breakfast is included in some rates, not all, generally when the room is booked directly with us, not through Expedia or other online travel agents.


-----Original Message-----
From: info [mailto:info@goldeneagleresort.com]
Sent: Saturday, August 02, 2014 7:11 AM
To: kathik@stoweagle.com; andrewc@goldeneagleresort.com
Subject: Fw: Our stay



-----Original Message-----
From: Linda Bissonnette
Sent: Friday, August 01, 2014 1:41 PM
To: info@goldeneagleresort.com
Subject: Our stay

My friend and I stayed at your golden eagle resort this past week, and we're very pleased except for one thing. We went for breakfast at your facility and on both occasions, we ran into rude waitresses . One was rude and very sharp with us, and on Thursday, we watched as another was rude to a family of 5 who came from Sweden and had trouble with the language. She said to the mother - what do YOU want, as if she was being bothered. This family then had to wait a very long time for their meal with no drinks for the kids, as the waitress was nowhere to be found. I spoke with the hostess and told her an apology was in order, but it never happened.

You boast of having a friendly staff; we can tell you from experience that
it doesn't include your restaurant . We're not sure if we will return to
the Golden Eagle Resort.

LB

Sent from my iPod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice resort. Has a view that can't be beat. We got a room with a fireplace, and even though it was July we did use it once! To be honest we didn't use the amenities that much. We mostly traveled in Stowe and stayed in our room. But we did leave the resort to go to the hiking trail behind our room. That made my husband very happy:) anyways, nice place, and worth the price we paid.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank EdithEtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were 2 couples who recently spent an overnight at this hotel after hiking in the area. One of us had a minor issue with the room we were given but they were very accommodating and we were able to move to a different room. The outdoor heated pool was lovely for a little down time in the afternoon and the location was really very nice. We were able to walk downtown from the hotel, and enjoy the scenery along the way. Breakfast was included with our room stay and that was very good. We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It is a nice clean well equipped place to stay! The spa center is awesome. The indoor and outdoor pool are both heated. The downtown area is within walking distance. Price is fair, very good choice for family visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Yueran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have been going to the Golden Eagle for forty years for one night stays on our way east. Always a pleasure - lots to do for the children and adults. Outdoor and indoor pools, a wonderful breakfast restaurant, and clean rooms always. Some are more luxurious than others, but that is reflected in the price. Good location near the village, and always a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: There are rooms with fireplaces, rooms for handicapped, jacuzzis, as well as the indoor pool with r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Golden Eagle Resort was ready and waiting for us and our 7 month old daughter. They even found us a slightly better room for our needs after they met us a check-in. Service the way it should be! Plus, it's a nice stroll into town, not too far, but not too close. Just right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Floormat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
3.3 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £93 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing