We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were visiting friends in Stowe and stayed here for a couple nights, enjoyed it so much we opted to stay for another. Staff is friendly and very welcoming. The room was spotless with a nice fireplace and view of the pond and mountains. I went for a very peaceful stroll on one of the trails. Felt amazing to just sit and relax staring at the mountains.

Highly highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thanks so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit last fall and hope we'll see you again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

A group of us stayed at the Golden Eagle back in June. It was my second time there and the experience could not have been better.

We are BMW motorcycle riders that come up to Stowe every year for a long weekend to ride all the fabulous roads and to enjoy our passion together.

The staff goes out of their way to accommodate us - keeping us all together and usually up towards the main road.

The rooms are very clean and the entire property is well maintained.

We will be back in June 2015.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit in June. You were a fun group! Many thanks for writing a review, and for your comments!

We look forward to seeing you again in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our family has stayed with the Golden Eagle annually for nearly three decades. Each visit has been met with the same high level of attentiveness and quality without fail. Over the years we have graduated from rooms in the East Wing, to larger spaces in Fireside Apartments and the White House. While we can't comment on the current state of standard rooms, I can tell you that the Apartment space and the White House remain among the best places we've stayed on vacation. Fireside has the best bed we've ever slept in (still trying to figure out how it can make it's way home with us!). Staff has kept these space very well maintained, clean and comfortable. For those with larger families or groups, this remains a must in your places to consider when staying in the Stowe area. After all this time, the staff continues to make us feel like family who have returned for a reunion rather than just random guests. Great service, great location and just great people to be around!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjwcpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We appreciate your kind review, and are glad to hear that you have found the service and quality to be consistently high over a number of years. Many thanks for being such loyal guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family spent two nights at Golden Eagle and were quite satisfied. The room was spacious, if in need of some updating, at the back of the property, across from the restaurant. It was reasonably clean with a large bathroom. We had a balcony which, due to the rainy weather we were unable to make use of. The big plus was the included breakfast in The Colonial Cafe. We were able to choose any of the regular menu items including a version of Eggs Benedict, omelets, pancakes and waffles. They accommodated our request to have the Eggs Benny version without meat; it came with a Vermont cheddar sauce instead of hollandaise and was decadently good. Other menu items were also winners, with the exception of the omelets which ended up being really rubbery. The wheat toast was exceptional - there's nothing like great bread in the morning. We used the indoor pool and it was by far the warmest one we'd ever experienced. Heaven on a rainy, cool day! There was a sauna and hot tub, as well, with everything clean and well-maintained. It was a great way to spend an inclement evening. We explored the resort's trail system, as well. Unfortunately, the front desk clerk wasn't familiar with them, and couldn't really recommend one with a good view, so we ended up asking one of the many cyclists on the trail system to direct us. (They do coming whipping down, so you have to be careful.) The map was confusing as there were so many trails criss-crossing each other. We finally found what we were looking for: a mountain view from the "Green Chair", which is a ski-lift hanging in the trees, looking onto a vista. It's not far, and a nice little walk. Of course, there are many trails in Stowe - Smuggler's Notch State Park is gorgeous and we really needed more time to explore the area (and less rain!). The Rec Path looked amazing, but renting bikes in the rain wasn't an option. Next time!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MomCanDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Many thanks for your review... and for staying with us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and for detailing what you loved as well as your suggestions to make things even better. We'll be sure to share your comments with our staff.

We hope to see you back again soon. And thanks for the photos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed elsewhere in Vermont but have found Golden Eagle's location, activities, and on-site breakfast to be a great combination. We have always stayed there in the summer.

Location: The Recreation Path is close to the property. Walking to town, either via the Rec Path or the sidewalk, is easy. Bicycle rentals are available across the street.

Activities: We have visited with young children, teenagers, and adults. The game room has always been popular. There's a pool table, ping-pong, air-hockey and some video games. (Note that many of them do require change.) Both indoor and outdoor pools and the fitness center are well-kept. There is a playground for young ones, a tennis court, and trails through the woods. There's plenty to enjoy on-site or nearby.

On-site cafe: Our family has always enjoyed breakfast at Golden Eagle. Local, fresh ingredients, maple syrup, phenomenal pancakes, friendly and good service.

Accommodations: We have not seen all of the accommodations, but all of the places we have stayed have been clean and well-appointed. The staff has always been pleasant and helpful. It's not a fancy, glitzy place, but it has provided us with a comfortable, nice base from which to enjoy Vermont. We hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Many thanks for writing your review. We agree that our location is ideal for so many activities, whether you want to stay on property, or explore the area. We're glad you enjoy our breakfast as well. Yes, we are not fancy, but we do focus on keeping things clean and inviting for our guests. Glad you think so too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Golden Eagle Resort. Our room was not the newest but not outdated either. And, most importantly, it was clean. We had a deck in the back The location is central to the downtown and the bike trail. But there is also a lot to do at the resort. We hiked one of the trails and enjoyed the pools (indoor and outdoor) and game room. There is a large playground. The kids had a lot of fun and stayed busy. We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant- good service and food. I think some of the negative reviews are from people who expected too much. If you are expecting a luxury resort you will be disappointed. But if you are looking for a clean, comfortable family friendly resort check out the Golden Eagle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jodll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

So glad that you found the Golden Eagle to be a good fit for your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked our stay through Travelocity.com which we have done several times before on different vacations.
The pictures on line and the brochure we found featured at the rest stop near Stowe got us pretty excited about our choice.
When we arrived, we had to keep looking at the brochure picture because it looked NOTHING like the place in front of us!! This place looked old and run down.
We got the room key for our "Superior, king, non-smoking" room and proceeded to unlock the door. The smell of cat urine almost knocked us over!! Could not even set foot into the room.
Went to office to get new room. This one was located in a different building, near the cafe.
When we opened this room, there was a MAN LYING ON THE BED!!!!!
Now I am getting really upset.
Go back to office and they give us room #3.... a real "upgrade, it's a romatic room with fireplace and jacuzzi overlooking the gazebo and fishing pond". Sounds decent, so we proceed to room #3.
This room was in the downstairs of what looked to be a run-down, old duplex type house. VERY musty, VERY dirty bathroom, would never set foot in the jacuzzi, there was a large dehumidifier with old water in it and the pond looked more like a wet land area from run off.
TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE!! And this was the "upgrade at no extra cost.
Now in tears, I go into office saying I want my money back ($154) and am told there are no refunds since it was booked thru Travelocity.
On to room #4. This one was o.k.. Clean, neat and did not smell. Must have been remodeled within the last 10 years.
We reluctantly stayed the night.
The outdoor pool area seemed nice, we never went to indoor pool area but that looked newer, also.
I would not go near the restaurant for fear of what we might have found - so I cannot rate that.
This place somehow got a very high rating and even had 3 star rating through AAA.
These ratings must have been given when they first opened many years ago.
I will never stay here again and even went as far as reporting them to the State of Vt tourism and also AAA!!! The Golden Eagle Resort wanted to give us $100 toward our next stay to make up for the trouble. Thanks, but you couldn't pay me to stay here again!!!

Room Tip: If you dare to stay the night, choose to have the manager open the door for you to see if it is safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank sw1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We regret that you were unhappy with your stay. We strive to resolve any complaints while a guest is still on property, and while this you did not like our property, we are glad that we found a room where you were more comfortable. We have addressed the concerns you’ve raised with us with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,409 reviews
6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#15 of 24 in Stowe
454 reviews
2.8 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £96 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing