We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stowe Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stowe Stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

One night stay to drop our son off at college. 4 of us in the apartment across the street from the resort. Wonderful! 2 bedrooms, fireplace nice backyard, kitchen and a bath and a half. Very convenient location to Stowe village and the mountain. Perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    384
    135
    38
    29
See reviews for
348
417
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our family has been staying at The Golden Eagle Resort for the past 27 years. We have an antique auto and we meet up with all our friends to attend the Antique Auto Show the second week of August every year. We all stay at the resort. The rooms are cozy and clean, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Our room is 101, which is in the front and on the end and it is very quiet. We would never think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We have stayed in different rooms over the past 27 years and every room has been clean, quiet, roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizbeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We love having our Antique Car owners here every August! It's like a reunion for our long term guests, and our new guests love to see all the old cars and talk with the owners. And, of course, there is no better viewing for the parade!

Thanks for your comments and we'll look forward to seeing you next summer if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We just returned from a five night stay with our three grandsons at Golden Eagle and it was absolutely fabulous. We have traveled all over with them since they were little and as they have grown so have their interests. We stayed in what was called a two unit suite. One room had a kitchenette, separate bedroom, fireplace with a living area with pullout sofa which was a perfect arrangement for our three grandsons while we adjoined them next door in a room with our own separate bath giving them some privacy yet allowing us to be nearby for supervision if needed. They absolutely loved the game room with pool table, ping pong table, as well as other games, two pools (in and outside), tennis courts, shuffle board and horseshoes yet in a quiet location but near all the activities. With a cinema across the street, the recreation trail and a number of restaurants, three within walking distance that we frequented as well as the hotel's cafe, it fit our needs perfectly. With ziplining, disc golf and miniature golf all near by they thought it was one of the best places we have stayed with them and we did too. While some have stated the resort is dated, for us it had that charm of many bed and breakfast places we have frequented and we loved it. There were also many little amenities and extra touches we found most appealing, i.e. a beautiful locker room complete with hairdryers and even a roll of plastic bags for those wet swimsuits. In the bathrooms of the suites were great secured shampoo, conditioner and soap dispensers that were of a most abundant size....not the little tiny ones found in the more "modern" facilities some have commented on. All the staff we encountered from the front desk to room service were wonderful people and very accommodating. As I write this I am awaiting the return of a phone charger that we inadvertently left there. It is being mailed back to us. This is a great place for anyone traveling with teenagers or young children as well as those older folks as the quietness is wonderful. We definitely plan to return in the future.

Room Tip: We found the rooms 122 and 126 definitely quiet and being on the ground floor most welcome to these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyDeerfieldMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Wow! What nice comments. We are so pleased that you found what you were looking for at the Golden Eagle, and that all the activities available both on site and nearby, helped you to have a fabulous time with your family.

I'll be sure to share your comments with our staff. They will be pleased to know that you found everyone to be friendly and accommodating!

We hope to see you all back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

nice place. will stay again next time im in the area. Staff was helpful, friendly, and even alittle flexible when it comes to rules. We were very happy with our stay, albeit we spent most of our weekend on the town, we did enjoy the outdoor pool and some other amenities that were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I went to the Golden Eagle for our anniversary. We had one of their "dog friendly" rooms which was perfect for both us and our pet. Direct access to the the Cady Hill mountain bike trails from the resort property was an unexpected benefit. There are about 11 miles of wonderful single track back there, most of which are extremely well designed and maintained. Breakfast was included in our package. Both the food and the restaurant were great, unfortunately one of the waitresses was not (all of the other staff was excellent and went out of their way to make us feel welcome). The Golden Eagle is just a short walk from "downtown" Stowe. We enjoyed strolling down to shop and visit the restaurants. Bottom Line: Great resort, great location, and a fair value!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Golden Eagle resort has it all! We brought our 4 grandchildren on vacation with us this year and after a recommendation from a family member we decided to try Golden Eagle. There is always some fear when picking a hotel sight unseen. Minutes after arriving, children were very excited and didn't know what to do first. We knew immediately we chose right place to be. The entire week (when not out exploring all the great, wonderful sites of Stowe area) was delightful. Room and breakfast café had all the right amenities for adults and children. Staff couldn't be more friendly and hospitable. Will definitely will return.

Room Tip: Pet friendly. Rooms equipped with dog bed and bowls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield RI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

At check in they told us that they had given us a room upgrade. The room itself was great, with a sitting area, fireplace and jacuzzi. We were on the breakfast plan and the breakfast room was nice and clean with a large menu and delicious breakfast selections.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooms in the units near the office, The exterior of the units in this area are well maint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raisinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We're thrilled you enjoyed your room upgrade and your stay!
We also appreciate your comments about the exterior which we will share with our maintenance team. Looking forward to having you come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing