We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a spa atmosphere!”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Western MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not a spa atmosphere!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We went for a ski weekend. Stayed on 3 rd floor facing back drive-try to get out of this! They empty trash dragging barrels late eve and early am so any thought of a good nights sleep is just that , a thought.
PROS: vaulted ceiling create spacious feeling in the room. Room has a coffee maker, ice bucket with water and wine glasses, TV, and plenty of outlets. Beautiful mountain view from some areas, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Comfy robes and slippers. Great, attentive staff happy to accommodate in any way.
CONS: adult outdoor pool and spa overrun with small children as was the indoor pool and hot tub so nowhere to go to enjoy any peace and quite for the $12/day resort fee. kids in the bar/ lounge area poorly attended and taking up bar chairs making adults wait .(what kind of parent would bring their kids to a bar?!!!) and overall pricing. At $500+ / day, I expected to sleep well, enjoy the amenities, and plan a return trip. No such luck on any count. The "Spa" is accessible for a minimum of $30 for a "treatment" in this case, a polish change that for my convenience includes a 20% gratuity. Frankly, if it's included, it's NOT a gratuity! Not to be rude but when did doing your job begin to require a "gratuity" ? tips are reserved for those who make less than minimum wage, ie: waiters/ waitresses. Not some one who is good at their job. but that's just my opinion.
We travelled with our 2 kids ages 18& 21.

Room Tip: Pick off the back road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lifepart02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    196
    95
    37
    23
See reviews for
262
384
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We rented one of the 3 bed outlook homes on the property.
The property itself was very good but they are semi-detached and the walls are paper thin!

The could hear the next door neighbours dog and young child screaming most of the time. When they eventually decided to care for their various family members the rental was very peaceful.

When you go ski-ing a good breakfast sets you up for the day, sadly the breakfast at the hotel was very disappointing with one member of staff who struggled to use the coffee machine.

The hotel could be a lot better, right now.... average and we would not return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We recently visited this resort for a cozy mountain getaway. Overall, we had a very nice visit and will probably return. So here's the breakdown:

Pros: Aesthetically speaking, the property is beautiful. It strikes just the right balance of modern design and rustic mountain lodge. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the beds have quality linens, and there is a deep soaking tub in the bathroom. The restaurant and après-ski bar boast spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. We took nearly all of our meals there and the food was really extraordinary. We also enjoyed the lovely fireplace area where they serve cookies and tea every afternoon. The spa facilities and fitness center were also very impressive. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Cons: The rooms are expensive. We also found the walls and doors a little thin. Hallway noise was pretty noticeable and we could hear all of our neighbor's conversations and coughing. The pool area was not relaxing at all...as other reviewers noted, it was continuously occupied by screaming kids. We also made several attempts to use the outdoor pool and both the indoor and outdoor hot tubs, but eventually gave up because they were always filled with rowdy, small children. We think they need to designate certain hours as "Adults Only" so that ALL guests can enjoy the facilities, not just families with children.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReineCharlotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The spa at TopNotch was a perfect anecdote to this city dweller's need to get away for R&R. With snow-capped mountains in the background, I had a perfect Swedish massage, relaxed in the hot tub and swam laps in the indoor , heated pool. My main complaint would be the number of children running around in the pool area - kind of killed the mood by mid-afternoon!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Idoniagaede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hard to call this hotel a ski lodge - more like a Manhattan boutique hotel. The staff is attentive and the food outstanding. A top notch spa is just icing on the cake. Hot tub bar service is also a big plus. Warning though, Don't stay in the main hotel in a room that faces the back driveway.
I would never stay in this type of room again due to its proximity to the back driveway. I realize that they have to plow the snow in the morning, but after only one inch of new snow one night the plow driver went by 5 times between 6am and 6:45am, scraping his plow along the non-snow covered driveway. 2 words: EXCESSIVE PLOWING! Make sure you face the courtyard, plus if it's clear you will have a nice mountain view.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sport5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have been frequent guests at Topnotch over the past 20 years. Our first stay was for a corporate outing, and we have been going back ever since that time. Although the resort has changed (for the better!) through the years, the one thing that has not changed is the people who staff the resort. The staff is accommodating, friendly, and they genuinely care about making your stay enjoyable. We have stayed in many different rooms, including the town homes, and especially with the upgrades to the property, our accommodations have always been great. We have a dog, and this is one resort which caters to animals, and handles the added dimension with professionalism and care.
We are members of the spa, and it is very well-managed. The spa staff will go out of their way to be sure your needs are met. I have been meaning to post for a few years now, and decided to post because we had an emergency situation last weekend when we needed to book a last minute room. The reservations team took great care of us, and we ended up in a beautiful town home. I always think to post a positive recommendation, but then get too busy and forget. After this last stay, I decided I owe the team at Topnotch a big thank you. I highly recommend a stay at Topnotch during your next visit to Stowe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We, an extended family of 5 adults and a 14 year old, planned a quick weekend trip to VT to celebrate a birthday. The 3 bedroom home at Top Notch that we rented could not have been better.

The accommodation was excellent, 3 good sized bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, a living/dining area, fully fitted kitchen and a decent sized deck (Which was not used due to the snow). The furniture was nice, beds comfortable, fireplaces wonderful and amenities first class, we will definitely be back. We enjoyed the convenience of a hotel with the room to spread out and come together as a larger group.

This is an ideal place for families or groups of friends. The rooms were big and the common spaces really comfortable. There were enough plates, cups, glasses etc to cover all of our needs and a dishwasher, fridge freezer, oven, hob and microwave.

the first night after travelling for 6 hours was spent at home with a Chinese Takeaway (Sanfo was good and inexpensive) and a few beers in front of the Fireplace. Although we did not use it there was a full entertainment system including DVD, VCR and whole house music.

I cannot comment on the hotel as we did not use it at all. The staff at the check-in desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Property: Topnotch Resort
Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing