We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, really bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, really bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent last Saturday at the beautiful Topnotch hotel. It was our first time in Stowe and we were hesitating between Stowe Mountain Lodge and Topnotch. We often travel and prefer modern-looking hotel so we picked Topnotch. The hotel itself is beautiful, the grounds are very nice, and the pool and jacuzzi outside are a great bonus, however the service is far from what you would expect from such an hotel. Greeting was cold, and we received a not-so-plaisant call from the reception at night saying that we hadn't given them our credit card number even though it had been requested upon our arrival (it had not been requested, which actually surprised us as it's customary to leave a credit card number; we don't appreciate being blame for something that we didn't do; the person should have just ask for our credit card instead of insinuating that we hadn't comply with his request). Finally, after spending approx. $800 in 1 night, we asked the reception on Sunday morning if we could leave the room as little bit later (1 hour later so noon instead of 11am) as we wanted to order breakfast in bed and use the spa before leaving the hotel. Even though the hotel was far from being full, we were told that it would cost us 10% of our executive room rate (for which we paid more than $500). We spent only 1 night, but it was enough for us as we didn't feel welcome or valued as guest. We were quite disappointed as that night was a special night for us, but your staff certainly didn't help making it special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacynthe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    193
    94
    37
    23
See reviews for
255
377
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Visited Topnotch for a conference. Rooms were lovely and spacious. Huge closet, fridge, comfy beds. Walls are super thin, you can hear everything that goes on in hall, next door and upstairs.
We ate at Flannel for just about every meal and each was amazing! Great presentation, delicious food!
Very nice, pricey but beautiful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Samsonj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Gorgeous setting, a first class renovation of an already "topnotch" resort.
The new eatery, Flannel, is similar to the old, Norma's.
They now have a new bar called "The Roost" which is not as cozy as the old "Buttertub"
but is much more user friendly and always open.

The staff is constantly professional,
especially JESSICA...... in the spa who really went out of her way to coordinate services.

I am a long time spa member and really feel V.I.P. whenever I bring guests.

Room Tip: Moutainside, third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAPLES39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went for girlfriend time and spa services and couldn't be happier. Everything excellent, services, food fabulous (try the flannel fries - had them three times in two days), and got what we came for. Great atmosphere and time w friends.

Room Tip: Not sure where you'd get a 'view' we look rout onto the mountains as well as the pool. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 203JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at TNR midweek for a work conference in Stowe. There were many things to like including the wood burning fireplace in the lobby, the swimming pool, and the delicious chocolate chip pancakes that I had for breakfast. I found the staff helpful if a little inexperienced.

But there is much room for improvement. In particular, the walls are thin and my sleep was disturbed by banging doors a couple of times; the bar scene is really non existent and shuts down at 9:30pm leaving no other options. While I think TNR works nicely for families, given the rates I would opt instead for the Stowe Mtn Lodge which gives the benefit of doorstep skiing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ntsoelengoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

It's like they built a hotel around a spa and forgot to address the basics like a soda and snack machine after the food shuts down around 9:30. The folks working there are not on their A game in terms of being knowledgeable about the area or solving customers' needs. The rooms are gorgeous with vaulted ceilings, but the walls are thin. My room had a connecting door with the next room that had a space under the door that let in their noise and smells.

Not a good value at all for the extreme price they charge, even in the off season.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces Stowe ski resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at Top Notch for five nights and had a great time. Our request for an upgrade to the top floor for the view was given quickly on arrival when the original room did not have a view. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed drinking at the Roost and the small bites and light suppers were excellent. Wait staff very pleasant. Dining experience at the Flannel was mixed. Food not memorable for the price and experience was mixed. The Spa was great, both my husband and I had very good massages and the service was excellent. Wifi was patchy not always on. Not sure if it was because I had an iPad and iPhone. Channel options for HD viewing was limited. More movie channels would be great! overall a great stay! I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have cathedral ceiling and face the mountain. Great view with afternoon sun and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weeksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Property: Topnotch Resort
Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch At Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing